We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Nepalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nepalaya
Ranked #54 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Time in Kathmandu”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have spent 2 nights here before going out to our trek and then another 3 nights at the end of our holiday.
The staff are friendly, attentive and very helpful. Our room on both occasions was 403 and clean and tidy with air conditioning. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and there has been hot water each day, enough for both of us.
We have sampled both the breakfast buffet and set menu and were satisfied with the selections available. Again the waiting staff were attentive and always happy to help. The roof top restaurant is a little oasis with amazing views.
On each day of our stay we have witnessed each floor being thoroughly cleaned by hand and have had the opportunity to have our room cleaned each day too.
Having stayed at Thamel Eco Resort for one night we can say it is quieter, the rooms are far superior (working air con, hot water & WiFi) at Hotel Nepalaya and we would certainly stay here again. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmymac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    145
    48
    20
    17
See reviews for
59
125
159
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croatia, Zg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed there for two nights, on the beginning and end of my Everest Basecamp trek as a part of deal with agency, so I don't know the price and can't compare it with other hotel.
Location of this one is very good, rooms are clean and no problem with bathroom. Senior staff was very good but lot of younger guys they employed are far from good staff. For example, I left some of my stuff in hotel so I don't have to take it on trek. When I got back, I found out that they toss my stuff in some big room. That was not surprise, but what was is that they mixed it with other stuff and they can not find it anymore so this kids picked me up from my room so I can go and find it. I used revolutionary method back then; picked one by one bag and checked if it is my number on it. Oh yeah, and windows are toward hall.
All in all, fairly comfortable hotel. If you find it for good price and you are not spoiled, you'll be fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Fairly comfortable stay - but earplugs absolutely necessary. The corridors echo quite a lot and you will hear sounds of dogs barking and pigeons cooing. The location is fairly central and located down a narrow side street. They offer free pick up from the airport but then try to claw it back again by charging double for the return journey - you need to watch them on that. As for many things in Nepal you'll get quoted a price and ten seconds later they will change it - so remember to stick to your guns.

Room Tip: Avoid low floors which are in permanent darkness due to a high retaining wall creating a shadow on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very ince rooftop garden reasturan clean rom free wıfı Internet very frındely staff ramesh ıs very good guy breakfast wsa very good free airport pıck up servıce kanal wsa very good he organın my tour I'n kathmandu he ıs very helpful thank you very much all hotel nepalaya staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Nepalaya in a deluxe double at a very reasonable rate. For the price there isn't really anything to complain about. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and always cleaned to a high standard. The roof top restaurant is great, very relaxed and a good way to start or end your day. The lobby has also been freshly renovated and the rooms I saw were decorated and maintained in good order.

The hotel is also located in the heart of Thamel, so close to everything. It has the added bonus of being off the main street so is definitely quieter and more secluded than many other accommodation options.

Having stayed in many hotels around the world the thing that makes Hotel Nepalaya particularly stand out is the staff. Both reception, restaurant staff and the owners were always friendly and helpful. They were always keen to address any issues or problems I might have - nothing was too much trouble and I've even learned some Nepalese!

I stayed in a deluxe double near the lift. The great thing about these rooms is that they are very spacious and comfortable. It can sometimes be a little noisy in the morning if people are leaving early but Kathmandu isn't the quietest place in the world so not a huge issue!

There is free WIFI in the hotel but at times it can be a little slow, like most places in Nepal. I found buying cheap data package for my phone and tethering solved this problem if you need to be online.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the lift (208, 308, 408 etc.) are spacious and comfortable but a little noisy sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I booked Hotel Nepalaya based only on others' reviews on tripadvisor, and I was relieved when I arrived. I spend more words on the bad things despite giving a "Very Good" rating because a single bad point can ruin an otherwise good experience.

Good:

The hotel is designed to accommodate western travelers, with western toilets (toilet paper!), available A/C, and a clean environment. The staff are friendly, and you can make almost any request and they will see what they can do.

Hot water for showers is available, but may run out quickly depending on other guests.

My stay included a complementary breakfast each morning which was rather good (included an omelet, side of potatoes, 2 slices of bread, a banana, and tea or coffee).

As soon as I checked in, I asked the front desk where I could get a SIM card to access Nepal's cell network. Instead of telling me, they took my money and brought me a defective SIM card. I tried repeatedly to get it work and only realized it was defective when I went to a shop in the city and tried a different SIM card. Furthermore, I found out that the hotel staff overcharged me by 60%! I never got that money back.

The hotel advertises free pickup from the airport, which was fine when I first arrived, though not later. I stayed briefly in Hotel Nepalaya before spending a few nights in Pokhara, then then returned to Hotel Nepalaya before leaving Nepal. When checking in the second time, I met resistance with the free pickup (according to them because I had already been picked up during my first stay --- which makes no sense as this was a new reservation). Eventually they caved.

The provided WiFi access was acceptable, but speeds were slow, and sometimes painstakingly so (although I'm not sure if this is a fault of the hotel or the country's infrastructure).

Room Tip: You can ask the front desk for a tour of the available rooms to scope the locations within the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rohit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at Nepalaya in July 2013 for 15 nights whilst working at the local hospital. The hotel is large, over 7 floors, offering a range of rooms for different budgets. As we stayed so long, we negotiated a good deal on a 'deluxe' room with aircon and a bathtub. The hotel has hot water throughout the day, and the Wifi works in the rooms, which was really useful.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and the hotel also boasts a rooftop bar and restaurant which is high up and offers great views over the city. Food is OK, but there are better places to eat in Kathmandu - e.g. Rosemary Cafe 2 doors down.

Throw in a free airport pick up and overall it is a good package. We visited again yesterday (27th August) and they have now finished a complete refurbishment of the lobby area... It is dead smart, with marble floor, sofas, bookshelves and lockers for bags and computers for wifi.

Room Tip: Negotiate in off season for a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NABRANCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#21 of 202 in Kathmandu
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#70 of 202 in Kathmandu
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 202 in Kathmandu
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 202 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 202 in Kathmandu
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 202 in Kathmandu
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nepalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nepalaya

Property: Hotel Nepalaya
Address: Thamel Marg 17 | Kwabahal, Kathmandu 21292, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nepalaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincerely warm welcome from Hotel Nepalaya…where hospitality comes from the heart…It’s a special Peace down here & your Environment Friendly Stay will be just like it is at home…We are known to be the best rated hotel in Kathmandu…& you’ve got to live here to know it…Hotel Nepalaya is known for its warm hospitality, & we are right in the heart of the Thamel city. The hotel offers fantastic valley views from its ‘temple of heaven’ rooftop restaurant. The Langtang, Ganesh Himal and Dorjelakpa mountain views from our rooftop is just amazing. You will find Rickshaws and taxi stands just a stone’s throw from our hotel, which is a 4 min walking distance to the major shopping areas, restaurants & bars of sizzling Thamel, & hardly 7 kilometers to get to get to the airports and only 3 kilometers to the bus stands. You will enjoy a wonderful peace of mind once you get in into the hotel as thamel is always a crowded, noisy and hustling place for tourists.Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal, a tiny Himalayan landlocked Country in Asia which offers possibilities of vibrant cultures and its smiling people. Kathmandu is the only city connected by air to the major international towns scattered all over Nepal. Whether you are looking for rich culture and people, history, a Himalayan adventure getaway for walking, trekking, climbing, white water rafting, elephant safari to the One Horn Rhino & Bengal Tiger in natural parks and outdoor holidays in the broadest sense of the word... Nepal has it all! You don’t need to go anywhere else.The Hotel Nepalaya on the other hand is a hotel of Nepal’s cultural landscapes. Here you will find smiling welcoming staff that enjoys their work & a sunny garden for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, 24 hour power backup, FREE WIFI and computers, 24 hours security, & rooms well furnished with modern amenities, and our staff is happy to provide you with all the information you need to enjoy your stay in Kathmandu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Nepalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing