We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Nepalaya
Nearby Hotels
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
$300
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$101
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$282
$273
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Thamel(Kathmandu)
$38
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$27
$22
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shree Tibet Family Guest House(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
$11
$9
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$73
$64
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveler rating
406
159
51
21
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
159
51
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantfree airport pick up servicehot waterfree wifimountain viewnice rooftoprooms are cleankathmandu valleyvery nice hoteltrekking tripbooked this hotelcentral thamelsecond homenice roombudget hotelhotel stafftourist area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 655 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Besides not having hot water you should make sure you watch out for the crooked old man in the Nepali national hat selling you tours, flights, travel services, etc. Terrible experience with this man and he hangs out at this hotel since he has a travel office in the lobby. Promised us he was all about "Service" but once he had the money he was all about "NO!"

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC-AJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were in a group of 9 person and we stayed here 2 nights upon our arrival in Kathmandu and the night before our departure. The hotel is located in the heart of Thamel and it is a strategic location for stopover before heading for the trekking trip out to Kathmandu region. It is so convenient where one can simply grab anything they need either for trekking gears or souvenir just from the doorstep of the hotel.

In terms of the outlook of the hotel, one may not be able to see it clearly from the road, but everything fundamental is provided during our stay in the hotel. WIFI and common use computer is available though sometimes it could be slow probably due to heavy usage. The rooms are generally satisfying where it is considerable spacious and clean. Hot shower and air conditioner are provided though some may need for a maintenance to improve their efficiency. As some rooms are located near to the generator set and therefore the stay near to this area could be a little bit suffering from the noise and emission when the generator set are in used. It is therefore would be great if the hotel could provide a enclosure room for the generator set to reduce the noise annoyance and a funnel to divert the emission higher up, away from the rooms.

Food served at the rooftop restaurant of the hotel is generally good and in variety from Western style, Nepali, Indian as well as some oriental dishes are served. Personally i will recommend at least to try once the Nepali Thali Set during the stay here. And sunset/sunrise view as well as panorama view of the Thamel town at this rooftop restaurant is something you can't missed.

In overall we are satisfied with the services provided, the friendliness staff and it is valued to the charges for our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuiYong-Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at hotel Nepalaya three nights. The service wasn't great, and our room was a bit depressing. The included breakfast was terrible (scrambled eggs which we suspected were made from powder). Not once did housekeeping clean our room. On our last evening, I was woken up by a loud drunken argument which was taking place in the rooftop restaurant. It seemed that no staff tried to intervene, and the yelling continued for about half an hour. Very unprofessional.
Our flight out of Kathmandu ended up being cancelled, and we had to stay in the city for an extra four nights. I then discovered that much nicer hotels can be found in the same price range as Nepalaya.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed 5 nights in this new hotel. I didn't expect an airport pickup, but there was a van waiting for me! Must have been in my room rate. I used agoda to book this room and was very happy with my room rate. It even came with breakfast on the roof! What a great view from the roof! I would say the power was out 12 hours out of every day I was there, but that's not the hotels fault. I would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Nepalaya for several nights. It was a lovely place to stay ...much better than the '4 star hotel' where our tour group was booked a few days later. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and everything worked! All staff were most attentive and friendly and the owner Mr Milan was always about ensuring his guests were happy. Overall the Nepalaya is very good value and we will definitely stay here next time I am in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MignonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews