We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Social Tours Cooking Course a Must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Socialtours

Socialtours
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Walking Tour of Kathmandu to Ason Markets
Ranked #1 of 42 Shopping in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A small part of Nepal has had a big earthquake in April 2015. We participated in relief and are now working in recovery. socialtours is open for business, and we are even more determined to be professional, and build back better. You can help us in the process. Tourism is more important than ever. A free day in Kathmandu or Pokhara can still be a day of discovery. Discovery of Local Food and Cuisine, of local handicrafts producers, or organic food, or a discovery of livelihoods, or the insides of Buddhism. At socialtours, we believe that these unplanned days will be the moments you will remember the most in Nepal, whether you learn how to cook, go to a coffee farm, or just cycle around the small picturesque communities around these cities, or hike on our 8000'ers of Kathmandu (yeah, 8000 ft. not meters). Yes, we also conduct off beat treks and adventure activities around these magnificent day inspirations. Talk to us, we will HIGHLIGHT your trip to Nepal.
Krabi
2 reviews
“Social Tours Cooking Course a Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Taking the cooking course with Social Tours was most definitely a highlight of our time in Nepal. We chose Social Tours for two reasons: firstly because supporting local and socially conscious organizations is important to us, and secondly because we wanted to learn how to make momos. We could not have picked a better organization, and our expectations for a hands-on, fun, and informative cooking class were met above and beyond what we had hoped for. The staff were incredibly kind, patient, and knowledgeable. Everyone we met at Social Tours took the time to connect with us and share in conversation about Nepali culture and conscious tourism. The momos we made were so delicious and a wonderful skill to take back to friends and family. If we had had more time before leaving Nepal we would have gone back to learn how to make dal bhat! We strongly recommend connecting with Social Tours and all the amazing programs they offer!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj G, Owner at Socialtours, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thanks for such a wonderful review Sophie, and it makes us happy to know that this is what you wanted to do, and the course met your expectations. Hope we will see you again soon at our office! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    34
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Himalaya Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are looking for a trek to the Everest Foothills are Base Camp then you will be lucky to find another company who do this better. Great guides, porters and overall professional ability. Highly recommended, you won't be disappointed

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilKay213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oddyeti, Owner at Socialtours, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Glad you liked you trip to the Everest Region, and also glad you appreciate the professionalism that we always try to improve on. Hope we will see you in Nepal again, and give you a chance to enjoy some of the other experiences we offer here in Nepal. Thanks for taking the time to make this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Momo-tastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you are feeling a little jaded with Thamel, check yourself in for a Nepali cookery lesson! We booked on as we had some time to kill in Kathmandu and we were very glad we did.

You can choose the dish you want to learn how to make, we opted for Momos. You are taken out to shop for the ingredients, have all the spices explained to you. Then return to Socialtours well equipped kitchen to begin cooking. Every step is explained, you are given a recipe sheet to take home and best of all you get to eat your handiwork!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank adtp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oddyeti, Owner at Socialtours, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Handiwork it was and it was tasty too... we enjoyed it as much as you did. Thanks for cooking with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious cooking course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My friend and I signed up for the cooking course the day before and from the very start they were helpful and very informative, we ended up staying for over an hour having a chat about Nepal, trekking and things to do in Kathmandu.
The next day was the cooking course, it was fantastic, very hands on and explanatory. Great value for money I believe and best of all you get a home cooked meal at the end.

We didn't do any of their other tours or treks but it seems as though these guys are switched on and can offer you great experiences whilst you're in Nepal, give them a go, you won;t be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jetstorm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oddyeti, Owner at Socialtours, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Cheers and thanks for coming by. We enjoy talking so much about the amazing things one can do in this country, and it was such great fun talking to you. Glad you like the cooking course the next day too. Thanks for taking the time to write this review and recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value authentic experience away from the hustle and bustle of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I did two different cooking classes with social tours. All of the staff I communicated with were extremely helpful and friendly. The class was well organised. It was a great place to meet some other travelers while learning to make some of the traditional dishes I had spent the last few months eating!
I would highly recommend this experience to anyone. A few hours of cooking and a tasty meal afterwards all for US$10 was a bargain. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trravelsafe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oddyeti, Owner at Socialtours, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your review. It makes us happy that you liked it so much you came back for another course. Perhaps when you come back to Nepal, we will see you again! Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socialtours also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Socialtours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing