We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Summit Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summit Residency
Ranked #163 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Excellent western standard hotel that is an easy walk from the airport, both domestic and international terminals. If you look at photos of the hotel you will be able to spot it from the footpath at the Airport and walk straight there. It is the only modern building in sight.

As the airport is virtually in town, and Kathmandu is not that big, you are not far away from anywhere.

It is comparitively expensive but has one advantage over any other hotel in this most confusing of cities. Any cab driver in town will be able to find it easily, just ask "How much to the airport?" Once you've settled on a price they will be able to take you straight there.

Although I also stayed elsewhere this is the place I would recommend to others. The staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrayforMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 96 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the closest you can stay to the only international airport in Nepal. The staffs are helpful and accommodating. The standard rooms are on the smaller side as one would expect from a transit hotel but are comfortable and provided with essentials. The air conditioning system is very good. Buffet breakfast is included and the selection offered is ok.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the area or the airport, ask for the rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

i think this hotel is the nearest one to airport, nice hotel, good and big rooms, clean washroom and linen, with basic ameneties, prompt service, i stayed for a day. good food with hygine. good hotel in totality. Value for money hotel with nice staff.

Room Tip: second and third floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lalbahadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Airport Hotel for 2 nights - one coming into Nepal and the other on the final day.

The first stay was very good - clean room, working and adequate facilties. Good value for money
The second stay was the other extreme - corner room, very noisy, air-con not working, mosquitoes galore!

Restaurant was fine, better food than most places in Nepal.
Staff were very helpful and friendly

Recommend hotel for female travellers, short stays. If you get a corner room, ask for it to be changed immediately!

Location is not convenient if you want to explore the typical tourist places on your own as traffic is a nightmare

Room Tip: Check room for working Air Con and noise levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pro-tester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A friend had stayed over for one night a week earlier and contacted the manager to enquire about us taking a room for a few hours as we were arriving in the morning and not leaving until late evening. The manager gave us an excellent deal and was so helpful upon our arrival, giving us advice on sightseeing and helping us with taxis. In fact, all the staff were more than helpful and very friendly. We ate lunch and later a snack in the restaurant and the quality of food was very good. Room amenities were basic but clean, good value for money. Recommended if you are passing through Kathmandu and need somewhere to rest, clean up and spend a few hours.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was arranged to this hotel for a night in Kathmandu. There's free wifi in the lobby, and you got to pay if you want to have it in your room. Though I paid for it, my corner level 4 room seemed to have very weak wifi reception, it was lagging and disconnected a few times.

My room has a superb view of Kathmandu (colorful buildings) and a mountain! It's only level 4, so I wasn't expecting that. Room is clean, brightly lit, there's adequate furniture and space in the room.

The dinner served in the restaurant was good. My company arranged for it. It was like some indian buffet, but instead of walking to the line to get the food, the staff took the dish to you and if you want it, he will scoop for you onto your plate. Breakfast, however was a little disappointed. I wish they will have more western choices.

Also would like to highlight to one of the staff who took time to accompany the Silkair cabin crews in the night to the town. Didnt manage to take down his name, but thanks for the efforts because your presence was greatly appreciated. We felt safe in your presence despite in a foreign land.

Tips: There's a money-changer right outside the hotel on the left, but be careful and make sure you count your money properly before you leave. However, there's no decent convenience store or provision shop outside. Also, you cant expect clean water from the tap in Kathmandu (anywhere!).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonleesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

i have visited hotel airport on 24th june 2012.hotel location is near kathmandu airport.it is quite convinient for tourist.there is nereby pasupatinath temple

Room Tip: i think every rooms of hotel are good maintained and everybody like to stay over here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atul1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bagmati
Hotel Bagmati
#169 of 210 in Kathmandu
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Temple Inn
Hotel Temple Inn
#72 of 210 in Kathmandu
55 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Palace
Hotel Maharaja Palace
#121 of 210 in Kathmandu
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shivam Plaza
Hotel Shivam Plaza
#177 of 210 in Kathmandu
3 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#68 of 210 in Kathmandu
54 reviews
2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Residency

Address: Opposite Airport Golden Gate, Sinamangal, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Airport Hotel Kathmandu)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $36 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summit Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location, directly across the Ring Road from the main entrance to Tribhuvan International Airport in Kathmandu, offers the ease of transition from travel to rest. Instantly recognizable due to the ultra-modern dome and overall design, the hotel is in close proximity to several spiritual and recreational sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summit Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing