We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Summit Residency
Nearby Hotels
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Thamel(Kathmandu)
$34
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nepalaya(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
$16
$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shambala(Kathmandu)
$77
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
15
41
28
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
41
28
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan airport hotelwalking distance from the airportstayed heretribhuvan international airportroom keypashupatinath templerooms are basicrecommend this hoteltelevisionindiapowertourist
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 100 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We only stayed in this hotel because we had an 8 hour overnight layover in KTM before a flight to Bhutan. This place is highly overpriced due to its location, walking distance from the international airport terminal. We spent $80+ per night for a standard of room which I would normally expect to pay $30 for in most places in Asia (i.e. 2 to 3* european standard). I might be happy to tolerate this for convenience sake if everything else was fine with the place, but unfortunately that did not turn out to be the case.

We left a bag in storage at the hotel while we were in Bhutan, and on our return an item worth around 200 GBP was missing. Whilst the hotel manager was as helpful as he could be (and needed to be, as we made 3 visits to the tourist police), there was nothing he could do to rectify the situation and resolve the fact that he has at least one employee who will steal from customers. So I recommend never to leave belongings with them if you are forced to stay here!

Furthermore, we encountered some other annoyances such as no hot water for a while (resolved after reporting the issue) and sheets not fitting the bed properly - not usually big issues for us as we are usually spending $20-$30 per night on places around asia - but not something we would expect when spending $80+ per night on a hotel that claims to be 4 star. Don't even think about paying their $110 rack rate as per their website, it's not worth it.

If you are forced to stay near the airport at KTM try the "Hotel Tibet International" - Druk Air put us there when we were delayed overnight - it's only a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport and the rooms and food were great - true european 4 star+ standard - and you can pick up rooms there for a similar price to the Airport Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john2756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The staff is excellent, helpful, and professional. The location is very conveniently located a few minutes' walk from the airport, and the building is beautiful--modern and clean, as was the room, which was surprisingly spacious. After a three-week journey through most corners of the country, this hotel offered a welcome respite and chance to rest before getting on a long series of international flights back home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at Airport Hotel, Kathmandu with my wife, son and parents in two rooms from 24-28 April 2012 on account of a marriage of a friend. Since the arrangements were made by him, we did not wish to offend him by moving out of the hotel after experiencing its quality on day one of our stay.

The hotel lacks in all departments and is neither centrally located, nor an outstanding property to be recommended to anyone. On a scale of 1 to 5 stars I would probably give it a single star rating.

The staff at the front desk, especially the duty manager is very helpfull, the hotel overall needs some serious management overhaul. There are differential standards for white skinned visitors and the local & south asian residents of the hotel with the hotel having different level of room service, attention, hygeine standards for them.

The rooms are just about average with bare essentials like Coffee Maker, Mini Bar etc missing and very poor layouts in terms of arrangement of beds, TV console etc. The bathrooms are pathetic with very poor finishing, lack of hygeine & housekeeping and again missing essentials like bodywash, hairwash and other toileteries.

The most elegant and well maintained part of the hotel is its lobby and so called coffee shop but dont get illusioned by that. The quality of spaces goes down as one moves from the lobby to the corridors to the rooms and eventually checks out the toilets.

We didnt try the food at the hotel, except the breakfast buffet which was horrible by all standards with a bare minimum spread with cold/ stale breads, poorely cooked and presented continental and indian items. One had to actually push the staff to provide us basic cutlery and beverages like tea/ coffee to be served alongwith the breakfast.

On the room serive and housekeeping front, there is almost everything to be desired. We asked for mineral water in the middle of the night for our small toddler travelling with us and we were told that the hotel has run out of mineral water and can be made available only in the morning. We had to literally shake the housekeeping staff and management out of their sleep to get us bottled water. A simple demand like a scissors or a clothes iron during the day stressed out the housekeeping making them run pillar to post before attending to it after numerous calls. Someone smoked in the non-smoking rooms on our floor and thanks to the poorely designed HVAC systems, there was smell all over the floor. Again the front desk and housekeeping staff showed their helplessness when we put a complaint saying that the hotel is totally booked and they cant stop people from smoking, nor can they check room to room and offered a stupid solution of room freshner being sprayed in our rooms.

There are frequent power-cuts in the hotel with electricity and air-conditioning going off only to be restored post numerous calls to the front desk. Apparantely the hotel waits for the guests/ residents to create a scene only then they restore/ engage the power-backup systems.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel if you want to experience luxury and comfort in Kathmandu
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashishc_arch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed just 1 night between international arrival and domestic departure. It is true it is walkable from both terminals or 2 min by cab.
It's very pricey considering the in town hotels but yes it is convenient, and seeing the website it think it wasn't not the same hotel!!!
Breakfast is good and service a bit slow.

Don't expect much more....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NFLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The staff at the hotel are very helpful. The hotel manager went out of his way to find the perfect room for me and my gf. The hotel food is good and you can nearly eat what you want for breakfast with the coupon. The hotel tarrif is a little pricey, but you can walk to the airport for your domestic or international flight. The are many travel agents nearby and some good restaurants. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews