We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lord Bishnu.”
Review of Budhanilkantha

Budhanilkantha
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Visit Budhanilkantha Temple - The House of the Sleeping Lord Vishnu
Ranked #21 of 176 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lord Bishnu.”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It is the natural statue from the earth which come out and people find out it was lord Bishnu himself,who came out from Earth with four hand at the bed of Snake! so they started worshiping it to kill their all sins! I love this place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bibek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    85
    30
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Popped in here for a look-see”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I live just down the road from here. In 4 years I never made it. One day, I just decided to go. While it is a lovely statue, remember that if you are not Hindu, you cannot get this close as in the photo, and it is a small temple area so it is a long way to go for just seeing this. And the story that it 'came out of the ground in a single piece' is a bit of a stretch but is the main point of the temple.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank caught_in_the_Du
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The view of lord vishnu resting was quite a surprise as i have never seen such beautifully done Idol. The place in itself was so much old done for peace, culture and obviously religion was so much clean and great site.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank tyagirajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagreb
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sleeping Vishnu”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I lived in Budhanilkantha for 2 months!! its just under the Shiva Puri national park ,so u can easily walk in the park. In the entrance of park is Vipassana meditation centre which i would highly recomend for a 10 days meditation course, Its amazing!! and its on donation basis. In Budhanilkantha is also the sleeping Vishnu temple witch i still feel in my heart and can hear the people chant and sing prayers. The people around is very friendly and simple. There is also very nice hotel "Park Village"

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank tanja b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crowded”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Although published to be of very cultural and religiously value, it has not been maintained so well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rishi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budhanilkantha also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Budhanilkantha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing