We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and helpful”
Review of Hotel Red Planet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Red Planet
Ranked #130 of 469 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we came to Thamel, Kathmandu without any booking and no idea where we gonna stay. This was after 3 weeks of traveling in India and Nepal. Red Planet guest house was a first choice since the receptionist was very nice, friendly and helpful. Price was OK too. Rooms are clean and although we did not get the room with the window to the garden we did not mind. It is bit off the main road so it is relatively quite. One of the best place we stayed in our travels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 56 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Red Planet during two separate visits to Kathmandu. The rooms are clean, the internet works, the food prices at the rooftop cafe are a bargain, and the open aired ambiance of the lobby and facility keep the place cool and fresh. The staff go out of their way to assist their guests and are extremely friendly. Paid 800 rupee for a great double bed with attached bathroom. Great location in the heart of Thamel.

Room Tip: The family room is a great bargain if you're traveling in a group. It includes a corner balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vegabond82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently had another long stay at the Red Planet Hotel in Thamel, and have stayed at the hotel many times. The family run hotel is very comfortable and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable and always ready to answer any questions you may have or make suggestions on reasonably priced restaurants in the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to feel at home. The rooms are comfortable and the baths clean. Nice rooftop area for breakfast & snacks or relaxing with a book.

Room Tip: request room on second floor along the hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Hotel Red Planet became my home during my weeks spent in Kathmandu. Tucked away in a short side street yet not even a minute's walk from the heart of Thamel, this hotel has it all: lovely people, clean, spacious rooms, decent wifi, hot water, and an inexpensive breakfast/snack menu. Their rooftop sitting area and multiple lobby areas are all smoking-friendly and great spots to meet other travelers. My boyfriend and I were treated with the utmost friendliness and hospitality during our stay; there's no doubt that I'll be returning here in the future.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have wifi service, so test it out before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrysteFerrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great location, good service, welcoming staff, clean sheets, hot water, all is there.
They have free WIFI, but the reception varies between rooms, so either use it from the lobby (and meet new people while doing it) or check the signal inside the room before you take it.
The price they charged me was a little high (800 Rupees standard room), but it's high season now, so it's understandable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IDDO8782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Actually this is the only place I really liked in Kathmandu. Professional and kind service, nice rooms, clean and quiet place. But best words are actually going for the Lady managing this place, who keeps looking after every single guest. Great attitude, did not meet that before in Nepal. Thanks. M.

Room Tip: Room 209 - favourite one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Arriving in Kathmandu, traveling solo, I was initially overwhelmed by the city, unhappy at another hotel that kept pressuring me to join their tours and treks. By chance I came across Hotel Red Planet (not to be confused with Red Planet Guest House) and immediately felt at ease and relieved. This no pressure, affordable, simple and clean hotel is exactly what this solo female traveler needed to gain her feet in Kathmandu.
Located in central Thamel, tucked down close to Tom & Jerrys, above (also highly recommended) trekking company, Himalayan Trailfinder.
I came back to stay multiple times over my month and a half of traveling through Nepal, it felt like coming home each time.
They will generously allow you to keep bags safely in the store room while you trek.
Niti and Mahesj thankyou for your hospitality and friendship.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,235 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#29 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,271 reviews
2 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Red Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Red Planet

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 1844, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $11 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Red Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing