We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
74
31
8
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
31
8
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice pillowslovely rooftopmin walkthe security guardnice staywifi worksquiet streetguest houselocation is greathot showernepalmattresses
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 120 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Super friendly staff, happy to organise everything and anything you might need. Close to Thamel, restaurants, ATMs etc. It was quite noisy in the mornings but I think that's just Kathmandu in general. The rooftop is a great place for breakfast or a beer in the evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A very good value option in Thamel. Just outside central Thamel on a quiet street so convenient and relaxed. Our standard room was bright and airy (rare for Thamel!) and the complementary breakfast is a treat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

A very decent hostel on the northern wdge of thamel (5 min walk). I would stay again without hesitation. Staff friendly and helpful. Bookings for flights and buses was easy abd efficient. Nice rooftop to have a beer with a good view of the city.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Avalon was my first destination when I arrived in Nepal and is a good choice for travellers. Although not the cheapest place by far, it still is a good budget choice.
Quiet, clean and well located, the hostel is run by a wonderful gentleman and his sons.
Good breakfast also, which comes with booking.
My only issue was that I was charged $6 for pickup from the airport, but that's really a non-issue because it was late and dark outside.
The owner is focused on selling treks and such, but that's pretty normal for Nepal. The owner was able to get me bus tickets and such. Although not super cheap the transport was top quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Avalon house is located just outside the busy Thamel area, just across the street. We had a room at the top floor, on the terrace. It was clean and comfortable, with tv although some channels are in black and white. The owner was very helpful in arranging a day of sightseeing and even got us tickets to Pokhara at a big discount. Breakfast is possible, which is nice. Wifi was good. Prices are very reasonable, so we recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews