We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine Cockroaches in your plate!”
Review of Food Bazaar

Food Bazaar
Ranked #540 of 747 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Chinese, Italian, Nepali
Restaurant details
France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Imagine Cockroaches in your plate!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had the worst experience in my life in this restaurant. I ordered some kind of typical set of Nepali meal which was the worst selection. I started eating the meal but later I saw there were two cockroaches in my plate. I called the waiter and he changed it to another dish and again I got two more cockroaches. I vomited in the bathroom and the whole day I felt quite different with the body. Poor management, poor meals and poor experience. I won't recommend anyone to go there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhythm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't let the menu prices fool you”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

One look at their extensive menu and reasonable prices, you might think you chose a good place in Thamel, the terrace setting is not so bad if you don't mind the busy street below. But when your bill finally arrives, you don't really want to come back here again, what with a whopping 25 percent tax on the food bill. Elsewhere in Thamel, a 13 percent tax is pretty much the norm.
Food was just average, certain dishes had a more than a generous amount of salt in them. Service was pretty quick and they did have some good skills in the presentation department.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsyangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaoxing, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Maybe I chose the wrong dishes”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was hoping to like this place as I was staying in Kathmandu for some time and the menu was extensive and cheap... I ordered the massaman which was incredibly salty... my partner had the korma which was tasteless... her food cam 30 minutes after mine....

Maybe the other dishes are good...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dis-cypher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good Place to eat, read, use wifi, have a meal or a drink.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

There are many types of food and drink choices plus good seating in Food Bazaar. The service was good for us and the servers were very friendly. They even charged my mobile phone for me.
Good menu selections from the many cooks preparing or cooking each ethnic selection in it's own kitchen. I ordered a Nepali salad with Yak cheese which was freshly prepared and had a delicious dressing with fresh herbs. Most of the dishes I saw being served looked great.
I will be going back for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Northern Indian food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Right in the middle of Thamel, just south of the main junction. Entrance at the side of the supermarket. Therefore a bit noisy especially when the club opposite sounds off. Some little balconies over the street for those who want to watch the world go by.
Five cuisines and a pub but we ate Indian here - several times. The Indian cooking is Northern/Afghani - richly but delicately flavoured with little chilli, the way we like it. The Nepali snacks were much hotter though. Excellent service perhaps partly because the restaurant was practically deserted while we were there - unjustly so we feel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidvictorwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Bazaar also viewed

 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Food Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing