We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Room, Friendly Staff”
Review of Thamel Eco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thamel Eco Resort
Ranked #52 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable Room, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here three nights before our trek. Our room was comfortable and we were able to have warm showers. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was in the back and our windows faced a residential area so it was relatively quiet at night apart from the barking dogs. We had ear plugs so it wasn’t too disruptive. We learned later in the trip that purified water was available on the premises which was helpful in refilling the room supplied thermos and water bottles. The location is great for exploring the Thamel and stocking up on trekking gear before heading out and souvenirs and gifts before going home. We felt comfortable and safe at the Eco Resort and would recommend it for trekkers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knowmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    121
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
85
88
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Thamel Eco Resort during our trip to Nepal in March, both before and after the trek. Both times, we were given a nice corner room. There was plentiful hot water for the shower, the bed was comfortable and there was an air conditioning unit in the room. There is free wifi throughout the hotel and in the rooms although on one day the connection was down. The hotel is located in the main Thamel tourist area and local/western restaurants, and souvenir shopping, are a just a short walk away. On our last day in Nepal, we were shown some of the other larger rooms that are suitable for families, so that we can stay there next time with our kids!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Huey_Yap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here before and after my trek as it was included. The staff was very helpful and even let me store my luggage during a short excursion to Bhutan even though I was not staying at the hotel when I returned. The hotel is in the heart of Thamel so you can expect noise at night. I didn't have any problems with the power cuts while staying at Thamel Eco and their wifi was pretty good most of the time. They have a lovely garden in the center of the hotel and you can head to the roof for a view if you are lucky enough to be there on a clear day. The showers leave a bit to be desired but any hot water was good water after the trek. Rooms were clean, sheets could be a touch cleaner, but overall clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihavethewanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here prior to our recent trek and again after our trek. I prefer to stay in accommodation that reflects the local culture and the Thamel Eco does, with its beautiful garden courtyard and simple decor. It was very good value for money with an excellent buffet breakfast included and free wi fi. The rooms were clean ( although we did have a problem with the toilet in our first stay), the beds were comfortable and the position is great, being set back in a laneway, right off the main shopping street, close to cafes and bars, which was reassuring when going out at night. The staff were lovely and friendly, always happy and willing to assist. One of our friends was staying at another hotel and got lost trying to get back there late one afternoon. She returned to our hotel and one of the staff kindly walked her back to her hotel. I had a foot massge at the beauty spa and it was excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLO361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A nice clean hotel to stay, friendly and warm welcoming staffs, making my holiday in Nepal unforgettable and a memorable one!
When i returned from my expedition, the hotel was fully booked but the helpful staffs (Mr Madhav and Mr Atit) manage to find me a room to stay for the next 2 nights.
The room is clean with comfortable bed and everyday it is well cleaned.
It's worth every penny spent at Thamel Eco Resort!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisakoswara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We checked into the Thamel Eco Resort leading up to our trekking experience. It is located in the heart of Kathmandu so be prepared for the action. It is not a quiet suburb-you can do that at home. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the electricity works (except when Kathmandu has none, of course). The food is great and so reasonable priced. A buffet breakfast is included so you can't go hungry. I found out on my last day that they even conducted a cooking course and the feedback from my colleague was that it was great. The garden setting is worth having a beer in and talking about your plans with your fellow trekkers. People from all over the world are there. I give it 5 stars, but one must realize that these are Nepalese stars. So one must adjust to the standards and wealth of the places one visits.

Room Tip: Try for a deluxe room or one with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I will definitely be staying at Eco Resort when I return to Nepal. The staff are amazing, they get to know you and are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are really nice, clean, comfortable and have plenty of space. The location is great, right in the heart of Thamel but is set back off the street so it's quiet. The food at the restaurant is also really good, as are the breakfasts. I had a massage at the spa and it was amazing. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyway travelling to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BreeC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#36 of 202 in Kathmandu
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#28 of 202 in Kathmandu
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#31 of 202 in Kathmandu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#61 of 202 in Kathmandu
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 202 in Kathmandu
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jay Suites
Hotel Jay Suites
#16 of 202 in Kathmandu
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thamel Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thamel Eco Resort

Property: Thamel Eco Resort
Address: Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thamel Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 42 room eco friendly boutique hotel with a garden has 19 brand new rooms in brand new building and 23 rooms in Old Building. Out of 42 rooms 18 are Deluxe with A/C, 1 suite room and 6 common bathrooms.While the pillars of the hotel at its entrance and the carvings over its windows replicate the artful heritage of Nepalese architecture, you feel like being in a traditional Nepali home in some of its rooms that display typical Nepalese pottery.A miniature Buddhist stupa in the middle of its front courtyard brings an ambience of peace, conveying the chief concern of the hotel to offer you a full repose of body and mind.Thamel Eco resort (TER) offers affordable prices, as well as a convenient location. Situated in the heart of the tourist district of Thamel, you are never far from restaurants or shops. Visit the King's Palace Musium, Swayambhu nath - the most revered Buddhist stupa in Nepal, and because you are in Thamel you can't miss the Thamel Chowk, with its countless restaurants and shops. At the hotel, guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, fruits and tea / coffee. Thamel Eco Resort makes for an excellent choice to stay in the tourist district of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thamel Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Eco Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing