We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would come back”
Review of Thamel Eco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thamel Eco Resort
Ranked #55 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would come back”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

made a last-minute booking here when plans to stay at another hotel fell through. found this through good reviews on trip advisor, which were pretty accurate. paid USD40 for a standard room, and it was clean and reasonably sized. there was no power in the day due to loadshedding and the room was a bit dark since it was in a corner, but there are large windows and i kept my door open to let light in.

It was pretty cold at night, and my room had no air-conditioning so they sent a heater to my room which was amazing (although they did take a really long time and had to be reminded). food was also decent although more expensive than eating outside.

as a female, solo traveller, I really like this hotel because the rooms face the courtyard (rather than having to walk through narrow, dim corridors) and there was a security guard right outside my window, so I felt pretty safe from ghosts and criminals. didn't hurt that the wifi connection was good, the bed was comfy, and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyshoppaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    120
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
85
88
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great place to stay, not expensive, and sweet, sincerely friendly staff. The food was good, the place had a good feel to it, quaint, very relaxed. It has a character all of it's own. We had cold water only once and the rest of the time it was fine. HEY! Cold water? It's Kathmandu, it's part of the experience. You can be a visitor or a voyeur but to those who want total, sterile convenience - try the Miami Hilton, or stay home! We loved it, and we'd go back.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room if you can - we had both a hall and a corner room, both good but corner room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My sister and I stayed here before and after a trek with Earthbound Expeditions in September 2012. The first time we stayed in a nice room on the fourth floor.. clean and a good size. The second time we were in a room on the second or third floor and it wasn't quite as nice.. but still perfectly adequate. It has a lovely courtyard in the middle and a good breakfast (although we went to the roadhouse cafe for proper coffee) Would not hesitate to recommend and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Last november we went for the fourth time to Kathmandu and stayed for 5 nights in The Thamel Eco Resort. It was by far the best hotel we've ever had there. The hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere. It is new and clean, the staff is very professional and always friendly. We especially recommend the breakfast which offers great variety of fruits and local products!


Cor en Marianne van den Berg (Holland)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family stayed in this hotel in early December 2012. When we booked, we were warned not to expect luxury as in the more developed countries, however the hotel was beyond what we expected. The hotel was lovely and looked peaceful with its courtyard and flowers out even in early winter season despite being right in the middle of the hustling and busy Thamel shopping district. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful and obliging and friendly. The breakfast provided was very good as they had a selection to choose from which suited my kids very well. Of the 4 hotels we stayed in in Nepal, this was one of the best for comfort and service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hasseena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our first time in Nepal and the Thamel Eco Resort is right in the middle of Thamel but quiet and calm inside. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the rooms was very nice.
The staff were very happy to keep our extra luggage while we travelled to other parts of Nepal. After that we headed out of Thamel to stay in quieter parts of Kathmandu but glad that we started off here as it was close to our trekking company for final arrangements.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bean5199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Thamel Eco Resort offers a clean and peaceful escape in central Thamel where each rooom enjoys a balcony overlooking a small garden. The entire staff delivers exemplary service and knowledgeable answers to questions and requests. Breakfasts are varied and bountiful. As an added plus they offer secure storage for guests planning treks. We always enjoyed hot water although sometimes after running water for a bit. Wifi was not always available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevBurnsville_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#28 of 198 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kathmandu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#45 of 198 in Kathmandu
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#57 of 198 in Kathmandu
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thamel Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thamel Eco Resort

Property: Thamel Eco Resort
Address: Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thamel Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 42 room eco friendly boutique hotel with a garden has 19 brand new rooms in brand new building and 23 rooms in Old Building. Out of 42 rooms 18 are Deluxe with A/C, 1 suite room and 6 common bathrooms.While the pillars of the hotel at its entrance and the carvings over its windows replicate the artful heritage of Nepalese architecture, you feel like being in a traditional Nepali home in some of its rooms that display typical Nepalese pottery.A miniature Buddhist stupa in the middle of its front courtyard brings an ambience of peace, conveying the chief concern of the hotel to offer you a full repose of body and mind.Thamel Eco resort (TER) offers affordable prices, as well as a convenient location. Situated in the heart of the tourist district of Thamel, you are never far from restaurants or shops. Visit the King's Palace Musium, Swayambhu nath - the most revered Buddhist stupa in Nepal, and because you are in Thamel you can't miss the Thamel Chowk, with its countless restaurants and shops. At the hotel, guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, fruits and tea / coffee. Thamel Eco Resort makes for an excellent choice to stay in the tourist district of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thamel Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Eco Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing