We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to stay in Kathmandu”
Review of Thamel Eco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thamel Eco Resort
Ranked #58 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Last november we went for the fourth time to Kathmandu and stayed for 5 nights in The Thamel Eco Resort. It was by far the best hotel we've ever had there. The hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere. It is new and clean, the staff is very professional and always friendly. We especially recommend the breakfast which offers great variety of fruits and local products!


Cor en Marianne van den Berg (Holland)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Thamel Eco Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 348 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family stayed in this hotel in early December 2012. When we booked, we were warned not to expect luxury as in the more developed countries, however the hotel was beyond what we expected. The hotel was lovely and looked peaceful with its courtyard and flowers out even in early winter season despite being right in the middle of the hustling and busy Thamel shopping district. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful and obliging and friendly. The breakfast provided was very good as they had a selection to choose from which suited my kids very well. Of the 4 hotels we stayed in in Nepal, this was one of the best for comfort and service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hasseena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our first time in Nepal and the Thamel Eco Resort is right in the middle of Thamel but quiet and calm inside. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the rooms was very nice.
The staff were very happy to keep our extra luggage while we travelled to other parts of Nepal. After that we headed out of Thamel to stay in quieter parts of Kathmandu but glad that we started off here as it was close to our trekking company for final arrangements.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bean5199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Thamel Eco Resort offers a clean and peaceful escape in central Thamel where each rooom enjoys a balcony overlooking a small garden. The entire staff delivers exemplary service and knowledgeable answers to questions and requests. Breakfasts are varied and bountiful. As an added plus they offer secure storage for guests planning treks. We always enjoyed hot water although sometimes after running water for a bit. Wifi was not always available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevBurnsville_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is nice located in a side street in Thamel area.
It has a nice and small courtyard area.
The room size was ok and very clean. The windows are not well sealed, so we could hear the noise coming from the street.
The staff is very helpful, and there is free wifi, although many times it does not work properly.
Breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarCisIgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel in late Nov. The room size is ok for 2. From late Nov onward, temperature at night could drop to a chilly 1-2 degree C so it would be quite a necessity to have some kind of air conditioning. Moreover the windows are not too well sealed so the room will be very cold w/o the A/C. So do ask for a room with A/C unless you're preparing for Mount Everest expedition! :-)

Breakfast in Eco Resort is one of the best we had among the 3 hotels/villa/resort during our stay in Nepal. The others are in Nagarkot and Porkhara.

Bathroom facility is just ok and average. Hot water only came after turning on the tab for 3-5 mins.

The only problem we had was the dog barking noise in the middle of the night. It happened every day and more than once so sleep was severely interrupted. This is not something the hotel can control. Just a point to note if you'd ever consider staying in the Thamel area in Kathmandu...

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with air conditioning! We'd not regret to pay that little premium...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edmund_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for two nights prior to my EBC trek and two nights following the trek. Staff is very friendly and do their best to assist you. I try to recognize that this is a hotel in a lesser developed area than I am accustomed to. Hot water is sporadic as I had it on 2 of the 4 days I stayed. Power is an issue in the area...not the hotels fault but they do appear to have a backup generator for the night. Noise from barking dogs and roosters made it hard to sleep without earplugs.

The breakfast buffet and other meals in the restaurant were very good.

Location is good. It's in the heart of the Thamel District and walkable to any major sites you are interested in including Garden of Dreams, the Monkey Temple and Durbar Square.

Cleaning staff always seemed to be around cleaning the stairwells or rooms and the hotel common areas were pretty well kept. Security was helpful and would offer assistance and a friendly Namaste whenever you passed by them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrscherry2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#31 of 207 in Kathmandu
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#35 of 207 in Kathmandu
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#38 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 207 in Kathmandu
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thamel Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thamel Eco Resort

Address: Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $56 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thamel Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 42 room eco friendly boutique hotel with a garden has 19 brand new rooms in brand new building and 23 rooms in Old Building. Out of 42 rooms 18 are Deluxe with A/C, 1 suite room and 6 common bathrooms.While the pillars of the hotel at its entrance and the carvings over its windows replicate the artful heritage of Nepalese architecture, you feel like being in a traditional Nepali home in some of its rooms that display typical Nepalese pottery.A miniature Buddhist stupa in the middle of its front courtyard brings an ambience of peace, conveying the chief concern of the hotel to offer you a full repose of body and mind.Thamel Eco resort (TER) offers affordable prices, as well as a convenient location. Situated in the heart of the tourist district of Thamel, you are never far from restaurants or shops. Visit the King's Palace Musium, Swayambhu nath - the most revered Buddhist stupa in Nepal, and because you are in Thamel you can't miss the Thamel Chowk, with its countless restaurants and shops. At the hotel, guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, fruits and tea / coffee. Thamel Eco Resort makes for an excellent choice to stay in the tourist district of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thamel Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Eco Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing