We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family friendly feel”
Review of Thamel Eco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thamel Eco Resort
Ranked #60 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel is very well located in Kathmandu and the staff are just lovely. Nothing is too much trouble, smiles are premanently fixed on their faces and a big interest in the guests movements and needs make hotel a sort of home away from home.
It's clean, beds are very comfortable and meals are lovely. If you score a room on level 5 , regard that as training for your upcoming trek! Please remember that this is a boutique hotel in the sense that it is small enough to sometimes be overbooked if people change their plans or dates so best to book in advance.
Like elsewhere in Nepal, there are power shortages but the hotel uses a power generator if it happens in the evenings. Solar Hot water is primarily used to heat water however, during my stay, I believe they installed an electric heating back up system as more hot water was available . At any rate, I suggest that travellers change their morning shower habit to an evening one since it works with the solar heating system AND it is difficult to stay clean enough all day in Kathmandu to get to bed without another wash!
the 2 points that they need to work on, is to organise room allocation well in advance of trekkers returning to hotel and to reply to emails for extra night private bookings. There were some nights also when a couple of dogs barked incessantly making it an unrestful night ....someone please attend to that!
Staff are happy to refer you to a massage place nearby and yoga is offered on the top floor on demand .... however they will not bring a yoga teacher in just for 1 person.
I would be happy to stay there again especially after I had to try another type of hotel for 1-2 nights down the road.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the new section ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlOnTrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 368 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

Pros: comfortable beds/rooms, helpful staff, clean, lovely courtyard, buffet food is fine, location in the midst of Thamel. Excellent Tibetan Cafe 2 doors down. Concierge will arrange for massage etc. Flushing western toilets, and filtered water available throughout the day. This was a very comfortable hotel to stay at after a trek, and is as western as I experienced in my 2 weeks through the Annapurna.

Cons: yes the hot water is intermittent, but I believe its solar? We were moved to another hotel when we arrived in KTM as the Thamel Eco had overbooked and not emailed us beforehand.

If you want a Nepalese hotel to be all that you have at home...stay at home, Nepal just isn't like that. Or stay at an expensive Hyatt/Hilton.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OZfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in April 2012. We were on a trekking tour and had booked 2 additional nights prior to the start of our trip. The night we arrived, we were delayed several hours in Hong Kong. At about 2 am, we arrived and were picked up in a mini van arranged by the trekking company and headed for Thamel. After passing what appeared to be the Thamel Eco, we stopped in front of a deserted alley and were told that we (and another man in the van) would have to get out as we were staying at another hotel. After considerable discussion, it became clear that the Thamel was overbooked. We stayed in the other hotel (clearly cheaper than the Thamel) and the next morning, the Thamel staff came to escort us to their hotel.

We then stayed 2 nights on the the 4th floor of the old side of the building. The room was Ok - clean enough and relatively spacious. The buffet breakfast and lunches were good - reasonable amount of choice and generally fresh. One night, we opted for the dinner buffet ($7 US net) - it was tasty.

During our stay, there were power outages on a regular basis (it appears that they put the generator on only at night) and a lack of hot water for showers (this was hit or miss) but I expect that this is common for many hotels in Kathmandu.

Although fairly quiet, we were awakened in the middle of the night, as were several others on our trek, by two very loud barking dogs. They are known to staff as they live near the hotel.

Upon our return from trekking, we were on the 2nd floor of the new side of the building for 1 night. The room was MUCH nicer - larger, newer, nicer flooring - and quieter due to the location tucked away in the corner.

I found the staff quite friendly and always willing to help with baggage. However I didn't have much success asking for help in making travel arrangements. We wanted to book a "mountain" flight to see Everest, etc. The front desk was totally unable to help. After we booked the flight with a travel agent on the street, we tried to arrange a taxi to pick us up. We had to talk to three different groups of staff including the "night man" and were assured a taxi would be waiting at 5 am. When we went down to reception at 0455, it was clear that no taxi had been arranged for 0500...after waking up reception staff, a staff member ran out to the street and found a taxi. In the end, no harm was caused but it was still frustrating.

The night before we were leaving, I asked at the front desk at about 10 pm whether we could keep our room for an extra 1/2 day as we were departing late the following night. I was told that I would have to check the following day. When I asked the price if a room was available, I was told that would depend and I should check the following day...I decided not to bother.

One other thing to note - the price of rooms appears flexible. We paid $120 US for 2 extra nights ($60 per night). Others appeared to be quoted $30-$60. per night.

But for the first night overbooking and the taxi debacle, I would have rated this hotel as 4 star...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueyF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Thamel Eco Resort is located in the heart of Kathmandu. I indicated the Hotel to few people already but apparently it was fully booked so if you are planning to go for this Hotel is better check the availability as soon as possible.
The room was quite big and clean. I was not expecting such a good room for the price I paid. I had air conditioning in my room also.The bathroom was ok.
I spent two nights in Kathmandu and left my extra luggage at the Hotel for two weeks and it was there when I came for one more night.
There is some like a strip club close to the Hotel. The first impression is that the place will be noise because of the loud music however you can hear it only at the reception as the rooms as far in the back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crsbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Things I liked about this hotel were the central garden, kind staff, walking distance to restaurants and posted power outage schedule. It made our stay in Kathmandu more manageable than it otherwise would have been. Kathmandu is an adventure!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Thamel Ecoresort was a very nice place to stay during my time in Kathmandu... especially with all the side trips I made, it was comforting to always come back to a place that felt familiar. The hotel is clean, pretty, and fairly quiet compared to the chaotic frenzied pace of the rest of the city. I felt safe enough to walk around the shopping neighborhoods too. Most of all, I liked this hotel for the warm, friendly, helpful people who work there--- they were so sweet and supportive, and they made me feel totally at home!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Daivati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I are around 30 and stayed in this hotel for a few nights. While Kathmandu wasn't our cup of tea, we found this hotel to be a nice escape for the city. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, there was tv, and pretty good wifi. The courtyard, staff, and breakfast (included) are all great! Located in Thamel, but far enough away from the bars, that the partying isn't annoying. We paid $50 a night, which is high, but they were totally booked, so stayed firm on their pricing. We weren't disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ejones77rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#68 of 210 in Kathmandu
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#85 of 210 in Kathmandu
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#38 of 210 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thamel Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thamel Eco Resort

Address: Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $32 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thamel Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 42 room eco friendly boutique hotel with a garden has 19 brand new rooms in brand new building and 23 rooms in Old Building. Out of 42 rooms 18 are Deluxe with A/C, 1 suite room and 6 common bathrooms.While the pillars of the hotel at its entrance and the carvings over its windows replicate the artful heritage of Nepalese architecture, you feel like being in a traditional Nepali home in some of its rooms that display typical Nepalese pottery.A miniature Buddhist stupa in the middle of its front courtyard brings an ambience of peace, conveying the chief concern of the hotel to offer you a full repose of body and mind.Thamel Eco resort (TER) offers affordable prices, as well as a convenient location. Situated in the heart of the tourist district of Thamel, you are never far from restaurants or shops. Visit the King's Palace Musium, Swayambhu nath - the most revered Buddhist stupa in Nepal, and because you are in Thamel you can't miss the Thamel Chowk, with its countless restaurants and shops. At the hotel, guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, fruits and tea / coffee. Thamel Eco Resort makes for an excellent choice to stay in the tourist district of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thamel Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Eco Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing