We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thamel Eco Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tradition(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Mt. Fuji(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Hotel Kumari(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
180
133
49
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
133
49
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearthbound expeditionshot waterquiet oasislovely courtyardextra luggagepopular touriststaff at receptionthamel streetsthe hustle and bustleshopping and restaurantsrooms are spacioustop floora wonderful staybusy thamelbuffet breakfastpeaceful placethe location is perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 383 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Pro:
+ very friendly and helfpul staff & manager, assisting with all our queries (phone travel agent, print airline tickets, get taxi, carry luggage, get a map, organize laundry)
+ we could check in in the morning before normal check-in time
+ excellent location, in the heart of the thamel backpacker district, however tucked away in a quiet side-alley
+ nice courtyard with miniature stupa and garden. some tables in garden to have breakfast.
+ breakfast buffet good/ok (for nepali standards :)
+ hot/warm shower works sometimes (normal for nepali standards)
+ back-up generator for power outages in evening
+ after our trek we stayed in a large room, however the room before our trek was a bit cramped, so maybe ask them for a bigger room or inspect the room beforehand
+ minimalistic, but nice furniture; very clean; no carpet; one of the walls was a little bit wet
+ free wifi
+ reliable reservation, payed with paypal
+ they picked us up from airport (best to ring hotel upon arrival so they don't have to wait for hours)
+ they can store your luggage, though probably better to do this in Pokhara (if going towards Annapurna)

Con:
- a bit pricey at 50 or 60 USD per night, but overall I'd say worthwhile
- don't forget good earplugs (as everywhere in Nepal!) The courtyard doubles as a bar, so can be noisy with guests having drinks till late; also rooms have thin walls and it could easily happen you hear your neighbours departing at 5a.m. for their trek :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerstinRusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I possibly stayed in the best room at the hotel (405 from memory). Seemed much more roomy than some of the other rooms I peeked in at. The main bedroom was immensely spacious with a large bathroom. It was nicely furnished, fresh and contemporary. I generally had hot water whenever it was needed and room service was prompt and efficient. A good range of breakfast choices. If I was running late the staff would phone to make sure I didn't miss out on breakfast. A great oasis from the hectic mayhem of Thamel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Very much geared to the tour group market. Set around a quiet courtyard garden in the heart of Thamel, but with nowhere to sit and read either indoors or out. The rooms, all with bath attached, are clean but tiny and minimally furnished. For the three days of our stay there there was no hot water; the management tried to pretend this problem affected only our room, but in fact it seemed to be general. At $60 rack rate, you can get much better value for money than this in Thamel.

Room Tip: Check that the hot water works before accepting a room
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coho03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This hotel is very presentable from the outside. Cute courtyard and very good service by staff overall. Beds and blankets were the most comfortable of all the hotels we stayed at during our 13 day trip to Nepal. Our room was on the small side but extremely clean and comfortable. However, because it was located directly above the kitchen, we often got smoke coming into our room in the mornings. I was scared to take a shower because of the electrical outlets and plugs that were really close by. Water was leaking through our walls in the bathroom. Very low water pressure and no hot water most of the time. Stairways were very wet slippery when raining, which is unusual unless water is leaking through the walls there too. Food at the hotel is not good. I would suggest going out to eat as there are many restaurants that are reasonably priced and very tasty in the tourist area of Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Hotel went beyond our expectations.Quite clean and neat with new furniture . Comparatively hotel can be compared to more than a 2 star facility. Hotel staff quite smiling and helping. A buffet breakfast worth the price. Filtered water available and safe to drink. Garden nicely made up. We enjoyed our stay and would be back to this hotel for our future stay at Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nileprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews