We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess it was OK for our last night ...”
Review of Thamel Eco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thamel Eco Resort
Ranked #52 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I guess it was OK for our last night ...”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

While this place clearly is relatively recently built/refurbished, we didn't understand the "eco" title. What was eco about this hotel, we do not know, but we were not staying for ecological reasons, so didn't bother. We had a superior room. Clean, big, comfortable room and very good bed. Bathroom was a bit cramped, but clean and we had plenty of hot water. Our room was on the entry side of the hotel, which gets some noise until around midnight. We didn't eat here so don't know about the kitchen. All in all expensive to Nepalese standards, but a descent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyLuke_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    121
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
85
88
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here in oct 2011. Hotel is located right in the centre of thamel. Our suite was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom needs a bit of attention with a leaky toilet and no shower. Staff were extremely helpful, helping us locate our lost luggage and even providing transport to and from the airport free of charge once it was found

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereToNextTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed for two nights, really enjoyable and right beside the huddle bustle. Owner was extremely helpful in getting our bags back as they didnt arrive with us. Hotel was clean, prompt service with excellent staff, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgoontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

What you can expect from 3 star hotel in the US it is not exactly what you can expect from a 3 star hotel in Nepal. However, this hotel turned out to be what I expected of a 3 star property.
It was clean by US standards. Smelled fresh. Hardwood floors. Nice covers, crisp sheets and fluffy pillows to sleep on. Very comfortable beds (over my stay I came back few times getting different room each time). I felt as the place was safe and the environment set in a court yard was providing not only safety but a nice cozy feel to the place.
Literally Just few steps away from the hustle and bustle of the streets – close enough and far enough.
Just FYI from my experience in Nepal – same hotel can have completely different room standards. So, if at some point you will find yourself with a room that is not to your liking – the best thing to do - is to ask for a different room. You will be surprised. Same hotel can have 1 star and 4 star rooms. Not that I had that problem at Eco Resort. But I did have my favorite room. I think it was 301. Overlooking the court yard, nice bathroom and big bed.
The place is really busy but if you get lucky you may ask for the room you want.
People who run the hotel are very quick to help with anything. Storing your extra luggage while you are trekking, arranging taxis, doing your laundry.
There is WiFi on property and it works well. Electricity goes out often (in all of Nepal) so bring a flashlight.
That is Nepal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kauai4Ewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We were one block from the shopping streets but it was very quiet and peaceful in our rooms. It's nice not having to take a taxi or get a ride to get into the heart of Kathmandu.

It was also great the staff spoke good english, very helpful. The rooms were fine, nothing fancy but who needs fancy in Kathmandu? They were very clean and comfortable and provided us with exactly what we needed.

The Nepalese food was excellent and the service was great. I can't really think of any reason to NOT stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimkirmmsetoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

If you want a sunny, flower-bedecked courtyard outside your pristine, quiet clean room in the heart of Kathmandu with staff ready to help you at a moment's notice, the Thamel Eco Resort is the hotel for you. Inexpensive, yet lovely, this small hotel boasts market shopping practically outside your door, minus the noise. It is a few seconds from transportation, and its central location extremely appealing. Food was great and tea divine and served at a moment's notice. Staff service was excellent and always with a smile. My friends and I wished we had stayed there at the beginning of our trip rather than the large expensive chain on the other side of the city requiring long taxi rides to get into the shopping and tourist areas. Treat yourself to this lovely, charming, cost saving smaller hotel. You will be delighted.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyKrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We spent four nights in total at the Thamel Eco Resort, three at the start of our holiday and one at the end. Both rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, the second much larger and brighter than the first. Hot water available at all times. By being situated just off a main street and being based around a courtyard, the hotel shuts off much of the noise and bustle of Kathmandu - though don't expect it to be completely quiet. Breakfast choice fairly extensive, though still basic. Would definitely recommend as a place to stay for visitors wanting to stay in Kathmandu and was a delight to return to it after our trek.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#36 of 202 in Kathmandu
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#28 of 202 in Kathmandu
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#31 of 202 in Kathmandu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#61 of 202 in Kathmandu
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 202 in Kathmandu
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jay Suites
Hotel Jay Suites
#16 of 202 in Kathmandu
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thamel Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thamel Eco Resort

Property: Thamel Eco Resort
Address: Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thamel Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 42 room eco friendly boutique hotel with a garden has 19 brand new rooms in brand new building and 23 rooms in Old Building. Out of 42 rooms 18 are Deluxe with A/C, 1 suite room and 6 common bathrooms.While the pillars of the hotel at its entrance and the carvings over its windows replicate the artful heritage of Nepalese architecture, you feel like being in a traditional Nepali home in some of its rooms that display typical Nepalese pottery.A miniature Buddhist stupa in the middle of its front courtyard brings an ambience of peace, conveying the chief concern of the hotel to offer you a full repose of body and mind.Thamel Eco resort (TER) offers affordable prices, as well as a convenient location. Situated in the heart of the tourist district of Thamel, you are never far from restaurants or shops. Visit the King's Palace Musium, Swayambhu nath - the most revered Buddhist stupa in Nepal, and because you are in Thamel you can't miss the Thamel Chowk, with its countless restaurants and shops. At the hotel, guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, fruits and tea / coffee. Thamel Eco Resort makes for an excellent choice to stay in the tourist district of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thamel Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Eco Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing