We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing more nothing less ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thorong Peak Guest House
Ranked #91 of 452 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Neat and tidy rooms, great shower and free wireless Internet. If you don't want anything more than that, this is the place for you, right in the heart of the touristy Thamel. Only downside it has is its not-so luxurious roof terrace.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Henk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at the Thorong Peak. Thank you for taking your time time to review us and we will do more to improve our terrace garden.
We hope to see you again the next time you are around in Nepal. Thanking you and we wish you a very good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Thorong Peak Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

So, I wouldn't say the pictures are exactly what you get, but it is a good location and fair price. It's clean and tidy. It is super loud with paper thin walls and if one is desiring sleep, this may not be the best route, but if you want location within walking distance of restaurants, then why not? Great hot water shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jendo317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We have three different categories of rooms namely the Suite, Superior Deluxe and the Deluxe room. All three rooms have different deco, the room size and bathroom style are also different. We have put up the pictures in our website to avoid confusion. Any suggestion to improve our photo gallery will be highly appreciated.
Thank you for taking your time to review us and we wish you a very good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I spent two weeks in July 2013 there and am very happy with my expierence. No problems with running water; and when the electricity would shut down (everyday problem in Kathmandu), they would always restore it very quickly so I never had problems with it too. Overall impression: a quiet, cozy and clean place with extremely friendly and nice stuff, that felt like home :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olga m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are very happy to know that you liked our service and felt at home during your stay with us. We wish you a very good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Really helpful and friendly staff, good food, and the rooms are clean, safe and confortable.
They piked me up in the airport, it was nice.
In between trips, they let me keep my big bag there, with no extra cost.
And they also called for taxis for me.
It made my trip to Nepal even better!
Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inesgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and liked our service. We understand the travelers need especially those coming to Nepal for trekking and as such provide free luggage storage while they are enjoying their treks and travels.
Thank you for taking your time to review us and we wish you a very good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This guesthouse is AMAZING! Attention has been given to what really matters to anyone away from home: super comfy mattress, quality linen, 5 star hot water power shower, and thorough cleaning!! Moreover the rooms have been decorated and designed by someone who has beautiful aesthetics and understands that quality fittings matter!
We arrived for a few days and ended up staying here over a month in rainy season as part of our honeymoon, and the super deluxe suite made us feel like we were in a boutique hotel.
Staff are wonderful, exact balance between warm courteous efficiency and typical Nepali modesty..... means they also let you be.
The breakfast is always fresh and delicious, the rooftop a quiet haven, and the location is a tranquil backwater bang in the center of Thamel.
Everyone expects power cuts,crazy traffic and challenging infrastructure in Nepal, its part of the local daily reality and all travelers should adapt and expand their spoiled demands. This hotel is equipped with generator and makes every effort despite the countrys hardships.
We love you Thorong peak! And one day we would like to climb that Thorong mountain :0
regards
Nicky and Narendra

Room Tip: All are good, ours looked out into the mango tree and had a small balcony, but ask for a sun facing...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShantiBabaGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaste. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We had given much detail to all our rooms which were renovated over the last summer especially the decor, ambiance and comfort .
Its been our pleasure having you both at the Thorong Peak for your honey moon and we hope to see you both soon in Kathmandu. We wish you a very good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. The price is decent and the rooms are clean. The bathrooms are wonderful! I stayed in two different rooms at this hotel and both had newly renovated bathrooms which were made of stone. There is always hot water and the shower head is amazing!
The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you liked our stone tiled newly renovated rooms. Its been our pleasure having you stay with us and to know that you had a wonderful time.
Thank you for taking your time to review us and we wish you a very good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

thorung peak is a clean hotel and the staff are prompt and friendly. the bathrooms are made of nice slate stone and the water is fine. there is toilet paper. there are tv's with multiple channels in multiple languages. it is good for a stopover in kathmandu. the staff, as i mentioned, are in particular, helpful. some of their names are, anil, samir, karma, ashish and santa; essentially everyone who is there.

Room Tip: ask at the desk, towards the entrance has less sun and is therefore less hot in the summer and obvio...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joahjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us, liked our decor - the stone tiled bathroom and especially our staff that took care of you.
Thank you for taking your time to review us and we wish you a very good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 207 in Kathmandu
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 207 in Kathmandu
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#12 of 207 in Kathmandu
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorong Peak Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorong Peak Guest House

Address: 29 Thamel | Narsingh Chowk, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 452 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $26 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorong Peak Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorong Peak Guest House was established in 1988 when tourism was just beginning to flourish in Thamel. A small personalized property with twenty well appointed rooms and three Suites. Renovated in 2010 and re renovated in 2012 in a traditional setting offers incredible valuefor the room rates. A multi-cuisine restaurant serves excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner to delight your palate in our zen garden. We are conveniently located in the heart of Thamel in a cul de sac, the tourism hub of Kathmandu. We have generator back up during power outage in the evenings and inverter back up during day time.Our inviting ambiance, fluttering prayer flags, peaceful garden, well appointed rooms and smiling staff welcomes you the moment you step inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Thorong Peak Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing