We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, nice and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thorong Peak Guest House
Ranked #57 of 470 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Since first contact while making reservations, staff made it simple for us. The pickup service was on-time and get us quickly to the hotel. Check-in was a bit slow, but the warm massala tea helped to wait. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is ok, but Thorong Peak should put forward something more local for the first meal of the day. The staff was very supportive and friendly, helping us to design our stay from scratch.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Manager at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us, liked our Masala Tea and the trekking arrangement went well.
Thank you for suggesting more local food in the menu, perhaps dal bhat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 136 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent service- staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are excellent with bathrooms that are newly renovated. Central location in Thamel yet in a cul-de-sac off the main street therefore less noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Manager at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and liked our newly renovated rooms. We hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room on the top floor had no ceiling fans and we managed to get a pedestal fan only after insisting the staff several times, which they said would mean higher room rates. However, it was not charged. But that was the worst part of the stay and right after we had checked in, so it sort of stuck. From there on though it was pretty good. Although well meaning, the service was a little slow getting to the fifth floor and sometimes, when I ordered in English, they got it wrong, so better explain it well.
There were large windows on two walls of the room which made it very sunny, but I have a feeling the room becomes rather hot in the height of summer. We were there in end May and it was not too bad despite the power outage. The nights were cooler and you are generally out and about during the day.
Service was good and yes the bathroom was very clean. Staff were helpful and friendly as in many other places in Nepal, but if English is your only medium, it is likely to be a problem. Better ask for the manager.
The restaurant food was good and very reasonably priced. The hotel is right at the heart of Thamel but you don't hear the bustle. There is, however, a night club playing loud music from the next alley but then we were there to vacation and it was not all that bad actually sitting back at the terrace.
And by the way, the wifi wont work from the fifth floor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Sir,
Our apologies for the misunderstanding during check In. Our Deluxe rooms had ceiling fans and the Standard rooms didn't and hence the confusion. But we are pleased to know that a pedestal fan was provided.
We have now renovated all our rooms and there are ceiling fans in all rooms except two rooms for which we provide pedestal fans at no extra cost. We also have a few air conditioned rooms now. We have also added a generator back up during power outage in night time.
We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Thorong Peak Guesthouse has a lot of potential and I would recommend staying here..in 2013. The rooms are a reasonable size, clean and well equipped with a ceiling fan and television (showing a selection of English language channels). Unfortunately, during my stay in September the Guesthouse was undergoing extensive renovation works (which are expected to take 3 months). Construction using power tools begins at 8am and goes beyond 9pm. I would not recommend staying here right now for this reason. The hotel did apologise for the disruption but I would have preferred to know prior to my arrival. I would definitely want to come back here once renovation is complete however. If rates remain the same, at US$14 a night Thorong Peak Guesthouse is amazing value for money.

Room Tip: Check if the renovations are complete. If so, I would ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trravelsafe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We are pleassed to announce that all renovation work has been completed and we are in operation without the disturbance.
We thank you for your kind review and that you see much potential with our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Lovely hotel in center of Thamel. Very quiet and peaceful although situated right in center. Nice clean rooms with plenty of light and very clean bathrooms. Unlike other gueathouses you get really good value for money as there is wifi and electricity back up. Other guesthouses will leave you wirh candles half the day. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest, Firstly, thank you for your review. We are all very happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and liked our service. We hope to see you back in Thorong Peak again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This guesthouse is such a great choice aming the many other,( yes cheaper) dirty and smelly options in Kathmandu.
When I stayed there a few weeks back the hotel is under renovation ( but should be finished now) and everything is just so much cleaner than other choices in Thamel and Kathmandu. There is a quiet courtyard with lots of flowers and green and hardly no noise from the otherwise very busy Thamel.
Really really good value for your money

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms - they looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happiestraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Manager at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you liked our Nepali deco. We would also like to inform you that most of our materials from the rooms to our clean bathrooms are locally made and bought from the cottage industries and co operatives.
It gives us much satisfaction that you appreciated our newly renovated rooms and bathrooms.
We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Namaste!

I had to stay in KTM for a month on business, and chose Thorong Peak over some fancier hotels & guest houses based on a recommendation. The service was some of the best I've ever had -- everyone was thoughtful, kind, and went out of their way to answer all my questions.

That said, this is not a place for families, and it is a good idea to book in advance, since the place does, sometimes, get overtaken by large tour groups. But the location is great, and the people who work there are wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeQueEee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and liked our service.
We have renovated our rooms this summer and we now have an en suite rooms for families too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorong Peak Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorong Peak Guest House

Address: 29 Thamel | Narsingh Chowk, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $24 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorong Peak Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorong Peak Guest House was established in 1988 when tourism was just beginning to flourish in Thamel. A small personalized property with twenty well appointed rooms and three Suites. Renovated in 2010 and re renovated in 2012 in a traditional setting offers incredible valuefor the room rates. A multi-cuisine restaurant serves excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner to delight your palate in our zen garden. We are conveniently located in the heart of Thamel in a cul de sac, the tourism hub of Kathmandu. We have generator back up during power outage in the evenings and inverter back up during day time.Our inviting ambiance, fluttering prayer flags, peaceful garden, well appointed rooms and smiling staff welcomes you the moment you step inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thorong Peak Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing