We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY AND SOUND SLEEP ”
Review of Hotel Family Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Family Home
Ranked #5 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY AND SOUND SLEEP ”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Hey I just booked it on phone was so happy they came to airport to pick us up and when reached the hotel everyone greeted us... Nice staff and clean rooms... Roof top restaurant is good... It's garden roof top restaurant wifi. Available and helpful staff... Had good time.. Thanks Family Home wil visit next for sure.. Farooque Abdullah

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Farooque A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    85
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
66
97
107
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Hotel Family Home is located in the heart of Thamel, set amongst shops, resturants, and a close walk to historical landmarks, it is right where you want to be. The rooms are huge and clean, perfect for a good nights rest before your big hike or a great place to chill after an epic adventure. The rooftop is stunning, a great place to watch the sun come up over Kathmandu or to sip a beer and watch the sunset over the city.

However, what makes Hotel Family Home so special is the staff... they are beyond exceptional. Everytime I've stayed they have done anything and everything to accomadate my every need, from transportation to organizing treks they can do everything. Hotel Family Home treat you as if you were family... you can't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I and group, total 21 pax stayed here 4 nights, they offered good and warm service, big and cleaned room with comfortable bed and private bathroom. Breakfast was great and ordered more. Manager and staffs were helpful that made us all impressed very much if we travel in Nepal again we will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rieng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a very cosy hotel, we really like the nice and comfy clean bed, 24hrs hot shower with good wifi coverage in the room is definitely a huge plus here in Kathmandu. Also all their rooms are very spacious and with attached bathroom, there is also a cuboard in the room if you like to leave your bags/personal beloggings hidden.

Family home is located in a quiet alley in the centre of Thamel, this mean you get some peace from the ever busy traffic and dust in Thamel main street but of course you can't expect total silent since this is Thamel.

I also find the hotel open air roof top garden restaurant is great, it makes a perfect spot to sit and catch some nice breeze in an outdoor space.

My friend also discover a nice clean and cheap spa right next to the hotel reception, go and have a look if you are a spa person, or if you needed a recovery massage from trekking.

Thank you Family home for upkeeping the hotel so well that make our stay here enjoyable, we will defintely choose to stay here again when we return to Kathmandu next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angietgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My stay in hotel family home was great, i got a very warm welcome,recieved all the info i requested and always nicely greeted by the staff who were always there for me. The ensuite room was nice and the bed comfortable. Wifi worked great in room too.the location is perfect.they have storage for your luggage if you want to leave when you go trekking.enjoyed my stay will back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeawJit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are a family of 5, have stayed here two weeks ago for 4 days and we had a great time. The staff is very helpful with all our needs. It is located in an excelent place in Tamel. The rooms are very big and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kortrijk - Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have been is a lot of different hotels in Kathmandu but really this one is the most nicest I had ; friendly people, own taxi service , very clean, hot water, super breakfast, simply the best; wanna go back sure !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriam099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#9 of 198 in Kathmandu
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#8 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Family Home

Property: Hotel Family Home
Address: Ashok Galli Jytha, Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Family Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Family Home, located in heart of Thamel, is not just a hotel but home to many travelers who come to Nepal to spend their holiday and explore its rich diversity. We treat everyone who comes as a part of our family. We always aim to make anyone (you might be the one) feel like 'at home away from home’. We therefore would like to invite you into a family. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Family Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing