We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Family Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Family Home
Ranked #1 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night mid October. Me and my friends arrived 2 days earlier than our reserved date. We had to make an on the spot decision the day before to fly to Kathmandu directly from Lhasa as the China-Nepal highway was impassable due to the snowstorm. They were still able to accommodate us even in this situation. Very friendly, very efficient. They offered us some tour options to fill in our time which were also good but we decided to just add to our already reserved itinerary with socialtours.

We took 2 budget rooms, one triple and one double and they were all very spacious. Having no air-conditioning was ok since the weather was starting to get colder. Our stay also included a wonderful breakfast set at the rooftop.

In terms of location, Family Home is easily accessible, being adjacent to Thamel and smack dab in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city. If you wanted time to shop or eat something, just go out of the hotel and everything is available. Very convenient and a highly recommended budget stay in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wt1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    85
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
63
93
106
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yomitan-son Nakagami-gun, Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel Family Home was more than an excellent hotel, they bent over backwards to accomadate us. After breaking my ankle in Shanghai running away from the chinese mafia, I thought my Nepal trip was shot.(Never get the massages in Shanghai) After all who goes to Nepal and doesn't hike?!? I was determined however to visit Nepal and experience this beautiful country. Hotel Family Home met me and my friends at Kathmandu airport, let me use their hiking stick as a crutch the entire two weeks we were there. Set us up with a guide, a private jeep, and set up our outings. The manager even went rafting with us! Granted he almost drowned but he was a good sport about it. (Phil says sorry for cutting your hands from the lifeline...) They even went so far as to set us up with a home stay with thier family in the mountains. This turned out to be a misadventure due to the muddy mountain roads in Aug. but they made their best attempt and now we have some amazing memories getting the jeep stuck in the mud looking down into the valley. If I ever return to Nepal Hotel Family Home is my Family in the foothills of the Himalayas.

Room Tip: showers are heated by solar power so if you want a hot shower wait until later in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawaguchi-shi, Saitama, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Its received very warm environment and wonderful service during the stay period when i was at Kathmandu. Service, staff, location everything perfect.
Has good bar and wonderful rooftop from when you can enjoy the mini bird-view of near thamel reasons with the lovely Everest.(its beer brand not mountain...)
thank you family home,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HiroSato2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhaktapur, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Have been here many times. Lovely and friendly atmosphere. You will get best service in this hotel. Thanks for the staff! We went trekking to Annapurna and they arranged every trip nicely and in good price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eriika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Eriika and Team,
Thank you very much for your kind comment on trip advisor ,we really appreciate your valuable time to write this review,
we are very glad to hear that you have been enjoying your every stay @ Family Home,
we can not wait to see you for your another visit with new groups of finish people
Best regards
Mukti Pandey And Family Home Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night at an affordable price on our last day here in nepal. Breakfast is standard but you can always ask for more and its included in the room rate. Wifi is good 24hours. Service is good, staffs are attentive and friendly.

The main issue I have is the water frkm the faucet have an odd smell. We inform the reception and they said they'd look into it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GwenCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stay in this hotel about 3 days, location is nice only few minutes walk from thamel main area and city, staff is friendly, breakfast in roof top was cheap and good, we had to pay 3300 Rupees per night when average price is 2500 Rupees, anyway room was clean and had 24 hours free Internet wifi, so no complain, they have elevator also, that is a plus! Only problem we had is frequently electric cut down, which had nothing to do with hotel I guess, overall good hotel and service, thank you Crishna for managing our Pokhara trip, will definitely come back again.

Ps: Something wrong with water in toilet, color is yellow, please solve this ASAP.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaihanAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is clean and the location is good.
The room rate include free breakfast on the roof top, simple but taste great.
The free airport pick up service is also convenient for budget travellers. There is also wifi availble, but it's not stable. The power cut-off is an issue for us because it's too hot for us to sleep.
We also booked the 3 days 2 nights package to Chitwan national park and had a wonderful time there. Over all, it's a great vale for budget travellers. Will recommend this hotel to my friends.

Linda

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindafun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Linda ,
Namaste, I hope you had a great journey back home after your holiday in Nepal for 2 weeks,I am sorry to response your review bit late since i was busy with my personal problem
Anyway me and my team at Hotel Family home both kathmandu and pokhara have a great feeling with your comment which you drop on trip advisor and other booking engine ,it was our great pleasure to have you and your friends at our place ,
we have a great smile on our face when you say the hotel is clean/location is good and you liked the breakfast which we serve @ our rooftop terrace and airport pick up service gave you an extra impression about our service, we will continue this kind of service for our future clients
and about the WIFI service we had some problem with the server while you were here but it has been solved already and we have fast internet service at all rooms and hotel area now which is free of cost for all of our guest,but sorry for the problem you faced when you were with us
about the power cut off issue we are very much sorry to share all of you its the problem of whole country ,which is not in our management hand but we have make sure that while there is no power we have enough back up with solar pawer for necessary things
and it was my great pleasure to arrange your package trip to Chitwan and pokhara ,i am glad to hear that you had great time there
we are looking forward to seeing you again at our home
have wonderful life a head with you and your friends
Mukti and family home team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 193 in Kathmandu
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#8 of 193 in Kathmandu
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#5 of 193 in Kathmandu
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Family Home

Property: Hotel Family Home
Address: Ashok Galli Jytha, Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Family Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Family Home, located in heart of Thamel, is not just a hotel but home to many travelers who come to Nepal to spend their holiday and explore its rich diversity. We treat everyone who comes as a part of our family. We always aim to make anyone (you might be the one) feel like 'at home away from home’. We therefore would like to invite you into a family. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Family Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing