We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A congenial experience”
Review of Hotel Family Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Family Home
Ranked #4 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A congenial experience”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was a pleasant stay in Family Home. The beds and room was good. But what made the stay pleasant is their service. They picked us from the airport. We booked ticket for going to Pokhara from their travel agency(Baba Adventure). They picked us to the bus station from the hotel and also returned us to the bus station from Pokhara to Kathmandu.

The manager, Babu was helpful. They gave us a good exchange rate. The breakfast was yummy. Overall, I would recommend the hotel and would love to stay their again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuadomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    87
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
98
108
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We ended up staying at both the Katmandu and Pokhara branch of this hotel.

They were really helpful in booking our Nepal 5 day excursion which included paragliding and white water rafting. Also they provided airport transfers which was handy.

Areas they could look to improve going forward are:
- ensuring rooms available before confirming (we had to stay in Hotel Panorama for a night as they were over booked in Pokhara)
- room cleaning, towel and bed linen replacements
- checking ac works (we ended up relying on fans)
- hot water (last day we showered in cold)

Other than above we had a pleasant experience. Also they have good locations for both hotels - only a short walk away from key tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka, Bangladesh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice large comfortable rooms, big pillows and great breakfast. Service was very good, would recommend to everyone! Location is good if you want to be in the action of Thamel. Internet was good. I hope to stay there again.The staffs are so well behaved and helpful that your stay will be super easy and you can not expect more than that

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TareqOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had booked this place after going through the reviews on Trip Advisor. We booked it for 3 nights with a break of one night in between. For our first 2 nights stay, they were over booked and sent us to another property without telling us that they had made the mistake of over booking. the property that we were sent to was lovely though.(wish we would have stayed there itself for our last night, but we had already paid for our stay)
For our next stay of the remaining 1 night, also our last night in the city we were again over booked and then shifted to their supposedly new property. not a good option! cramped and claustrophobic!!! there was a night club right next to it, which played loud music all through the night. since we just wanted to crash and get over with the night, we went through with it! but i would suggest please confirm that you have not been over booked!!!better still, find another place!
The breakfast was not great either!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travel1007_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

One of the best hotel I stayed in. The staffs are so well behaved and helpful that your stay will be super easy and you can not expect more than that. Rooms were good. Breakfast quality was superb. I specially thank Mr. Babu who managed our trip to Pokhara and Chitwan and all went accordingly and we (me and my wife) really had a great time in Nepal. And I feel it is great value of my money and without any hesitation you can choose this hotel and I am sure you will be treated like you are home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasnim_Alam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very nice large comfortable rooms, big pillows and great breakfast. Service was very good, would recommend to everyone! Location is good if you want to be in the action of Thamel. The staff could not be more helpful, internet was good. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Del,
Namaste !!! thank you very much your valuable time to write about us on tripadvisor
It is really great to hear that you had comfortable stay with us ,and also happy to know that you like our rooms and services with friendly staffs
Thank you sor much for the recommendation of our home for more travellers
We look forward to see you soon again for your another visit
Regards
Mukti pandey & Hotel Family Home Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We like many people booked this hotel after reading it's reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. From our pick up at the airport to our drop off back at the airport we had the most magnificent stay at the "HFH". We have travelled to Nepal, Kathmandu and stayed in many places, this by far would have to be the money for value, location and safest places we have stayed in. The Manager "Mukti" runs a well oiled machine and always pleased to fix any problems also along with his kind and friendly staff. The staff at "HFH" says it all, they were all just like family and made you feel more than welcome from day one. Breakfast is a plenty and fresh served up on the roof top, where you can just relax drinking some Masala Tea. We would have to recommend this place highly as a place to stay in Kathmandu as it is close to everything and above all safe and secure. Thanks Mukti for all your organizing you did for us and to all of your friendly and kind staff. See you all again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front side as the disco in the opposite building can keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMarilyn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Peter and Marilyn,
Namaste !!! Once again we are really proud to read the comment of our guest who have been to the hotel family home ,our mission is keeping our guest smile in our place while they are with us which you had this time
We really thank you for the excellent review you drop off here on tripadvisor which encourage us to provide better service for the coming guest in future ,
We really glad to hear that you had great stay with us and you like our team of friendly staffs /rooms /breakfast on the roof/and fell safe
And at the end as I am the manager of this team ,I really appreciate your comment of my management ,it was my pleasure to arrange your tours around Nepal ,I am glad to know that you had great trip in Nepal with my arrangement
We look forward to seeing you again here in our home
Regards
Mukti Pandey & Family home team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 203 in Kathmandu
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,213 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 203 in Kathmandu
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Family Home

Property: Hotel Family Home
Address: Ashok Galli Jytha, Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Family Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Family Home, located in heart of Thamel, is not just a hotel but home to many travelers who come to Nepal to spend their holiday and explore its rich diversity. We treat everyone who comes as a part of our family. We always aim to make anyone (you might be the one) feel like 'at home away from home’. We therefore would like to invite you into a family. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Family Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing