We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Nepal”
Review of Hotel Family Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Family Home
Ranked #6 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time in Nepal”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have just arrived from Nepal. I spent there a week with tourist group (seventeen persons).
When we were in Pokhara we stayed at the Hotel Family Home which is very nice, a very friendly and helpful staff. When we arrived in Kathmandu we stayed at the Hotel Family Home in Thamel where we were greeted by Mr. Mukti Pandey. The staff are also helpful and very kind. The hotel is conveniently located in the busy streets of Thamel which is walking distance to restaurants and shopping areas. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds are very firm but otherwise the rooms are a nice size. There is a lovely roof terrace which doubles as the restaurant for breakfast which is cooked to order every morning.
The hotel arranged a car and driver for 4 persons when we wanted to go see sunset and the beautiful Nagarkot in the mountains.

I want to mention Ram Kumar Giri, our guide, who took care about us from the border of India to Chitwan National Park, then raftting on Trishuli river, then Pokhara and finally Katmandu. We travelled by bus and all the time he was with us. He is knowledgeable and an excellent guide.

The location of both hotels is central to everything. I highly recommend this hotel. Thank you again to the staff for making our stay in Nepal so enjoyable !!!

I stayed there in November 2012

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorota M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Dorota and All member in the group,
Namaste and regards from Kathmandu,First of all thank you so much for your kind words on TripAdvisor ,as usual when I arrive at my work in the morning my first duty is checking the reviews’ on different social side weather all of my guest had comfortable stay with us or not?? And this mooring the I saw your wonderful review here on top page of family home at TripAdvisor which encourage me and my team to take care of our guest more carefully, I am sure I will have a energetic working day today because of your words on TripAdvisor
As you know all of the guest we have in family home is from tripadvior or some other social side and some guest from the recommendation by the guest who have stayed with us before /mouth to mouth ,your comments on tripadvisor always support our business so that thank you so much for your valuable time to write the reviews on tripadvisor
And we are so happy to hear that you had great time with us ,and thank you very much for your nice comment about our sister hotel in pokhara ,also glad to hear that your tour guide ram was great and all the comments about the service/staff/location/and breakfast
Once again thank you so much for your time for writing this all and please say hello for everyone in your group, we are really looking forward to see you again in our hotel
With best regards Mukti Pandey and family home team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    85
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
66
97
107
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in Nov. Centrally located in Thamel - taxis are an easy walk away. There are two buildings - about 3 minutes' walk from each other. The newer building is in a secluded alley and the rooms in this building are large and quiet. The older building is on JP Road and is a little noisy, but the rooms are still good. I found the hot water to be hit or miss - better take a shower early if you absolutely need hot water. Room rent includes breakfast and it is pretty good (but I'm easy to please). WiFi works quite well - better in the old building than in the newer one. They do charge Rs.500 for airport pickup, but this price is lower than the Rs.650 "prepaid" taxi service at the airport.

Babu and the other staff are pretty helpful. I only wish some of the staff spoke English a little better, but that's a minor complaint. Overall, decent place to crash in Kathmandu while you get ready for your trek or to rest up before your flight out of KTM.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the newer building if you want someplace quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherokawa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear cherokawa,Namaste and regards from Kathmandu .we are very glad to read you on TripAdvisor and we are thankful to you for the nice comment ,we are glad to know that you found our hotel car is more cheaper then the pre paid taxi which is true we just charge minimum cost for our own guest and sorry for the poor English from my staff because English is not their mother language and I train them myself
Once again thank you so much for the comment on TripAdvisor and your stay with us,we are looking forward to seeing again
Mukti and family home team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, price was right for the rooms. It was great to have good working hot showers in Nepal. Was centrally located in Thamel, so easy walk to everywhere. Hotel staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tess_p123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Location is excellent as it is so near to Thamel. Good, clean rooms w hot showers. TV is visible but never works . Service is bad, 3 days here and no one bothers to clean up the rooms. Brekkie is good though. The worst? Extremely noisy due to 2 or more night clubs and dance clubs blaring competing Bollywood techno music till 1 or 2 am. Good if you aspire to be next Bollywood star. Narrow lanes leading to hotel can be dodgy as night falls as youths hang around the dance clubs, not such a good idea if u are a single female traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest Keiren,
Thank you very much for your review which you drop on the tripadvisor,Firstly I would like you clear that I think you have stayed at our new building Hotel Family Home annex building and you drop the review on the Hotel Family Home but that’s fine both of this hotel is under my management
And I am extremely sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us dew to some problem like the noise/cleanness/and more
About the dance bar it is not open after 11.30 or 12 they must close before 12 but I don’t understand why did they open just for you until 2 am ,I have been leaving in this location for 10 years and I have never seen them open until 2 so please do not give 2 hours bonus….anyway I am sorry for the trouble you had /I think if your room were facing the dance bar side I am sure you had some trouble until 11.30 pm and few of our room which are facing the dance bar side are noisy, all in all if you want to stay around the thamel area most hotel have bit of noise until 11.30 pm
About the Tv things it could have the problem with the channels sometime but you could always ask at the front desk to fix it, sometime the technical problem happened which could be solved in minute if you tell us /and about the house keeping I am sorry to hear that they didn’t clean your room during your stay I don’t know why they dint do it. normally they do it every day or in every room we have the tag to hang in the door with the sign of clean my room/do not disturb me ,I don ‘t understand you noticed them or not or you could ask in the reception straight to clean the room because it’s not star hotel it’s a simple budget hotel I think you had really high expectation from us which we were not able to fulfill
Anyway I am so sorry to hear it from you all /I will try my best for my further guest not to make such a uncomfortable stay in our home /I premise to make wonderful stay for everyone who will be coming to my hotel in future
Mukti Pandey,Manager Hotel Family Home Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Pro:
Friendly staff, breakfast included and it's taste alright, central located in Thamel, small rooftop restaurant, it's clean
Contra:
Did not get a kingsize bed as booked, no balcony or coffee maker as promised on website

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank berlinda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Large, clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. They picked us up at the airport, which is very convenient. Breakfast is included and served outside on the rooftop. The food was good and the service prompt. The hotel has wi-fi, but it can be sketchy if you are not on the same floor as the router. The location is a little off the main streets, which we found very nice, but very close to all the attractions in the Thamel area.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 7th floor if you need a good wi-fi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Massive room, with sitting area and king sized bed. Like everywhere is Nepal, we experienced power outages, but an added bonus was that some of the room lights were on a generator and stayed on. Good location, as far as being in the heart of Thamel, so expect usual noisy street etc, which is just part of the location. The roof top dining area gives a different viewpoint of Thamel- we spent some time overlooking the high school watching naughty kids misbehaving in the school courtyard!
Had hot shower ,with good water pressure, which was nice
Pleasantly surprised, as at that price, we expected less.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess8888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#9 of 198 in Kathmandu
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 198 in Kathmandu
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Family Home

Property: Hotel Family Home
Address: Ashok Galli Jytha, Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Family Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Family Home, located in heart of Thamel, is not just a hotel but home to many travelers who come to Nepal to spend their holiday and explore its rich diversity. We treat everyone who comes as a part of our family. We always aim to make anyone (you might be the one) feel like 'at home away from home’. We therefore would like to invite you into a family. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Family Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing