We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and clean”
Review of Hotel Family Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Family Home
Ranked #4 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
næstved
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly and clean”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Family Hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff, that makes everything possible. The rooms are large and very clean. Good breakfast at the roof top. A good place to stay in Thamel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30lotteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Guest ,Namatse and thank you very much for your valuable time to drop few words about your stay at family home ,We are very much happy to hear that you have had great stay with us and you found the staff were friendly ,thank you so much for the good moment about the roof and breakfast
We can’t wait to see you for your another visit
Mukti Pandey
Family Home Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    87
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
98
108
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We enjoyed the clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and great location. BUT . . . after we paid the owner in 1000 rupee notes, and he left the hotel, the woman from the desk came up with a handful of 500 rupee notes, saying we had made a mistake and had given her 500 rupee notes instead of 1000 rupee notes. Fortunately for us, we KNEW we had only 1000 rupee notes because that's what the ATM machine dispensed and we hadn't spent any money yet. So we declined to pay the woman any more. When we talked with the owner, he was aware of the interaction; a week later he had not fired her.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SeattleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear SeattleC
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving the hotel and our services.

I am deeply concerned after hearing your comment. The problems that you mentioned was very true I was even there and I had the call from the reception after a while and I had told her that it should not be like that,and I am sorry to hear that she mention it to you which was not needed and you were not happy with that because you were not wrong,
I am sorry I didn’t fire her in this case because she told me that the cash you gave in the reception was misplace and she found that latter so I gave her a chance to improve once ,if I notice her any other mistake in future I will surly take the action
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and great location
Thank you once again for your comments.
Mukti Pandey Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our best stay in Nepal;) very helpful staff and clean and nice rooms.. We will be back soon;;))

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Irma,
Namaste and regards from Hotel Family home,
Thank you very much for leaving a sweet sentence on the trip advisor about your recent stay at our home, We cannot wait to see you for your another Visit at Hotel Family Home Mukti & Family Home team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalang District, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

excellent location at the center of thamel. good cleaned and well painting decorated rooms with hot water, wifi and air conditioning anytime.perfect views of kathmandu valley from the rooftop garden that in the morning with breakfast is more than in the heaven, views of surrounding mountains is wonerful.very reliable and helpful staffs . mr Mukti ,the manager of this hotel who knows verious travel options that i enjoyed it a lot . my vacation on september 2011 was great that very satisfied with the selection of the hotel to stay.i recomand everybody to check it out once...................

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khang h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Khang ,Namaste
I was absolutely delighted to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay our home. We are proud to read that it was the best place for you during your trips in Nepal ,I am sure you enjoyed your stay with us such as staff perfermence ,views from the room and more

Anyway I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel and I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

Kind regards and with renewed thanks

Mukti Pandey
Home Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammu City, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Nice rooms but washrooms are small. Provides value for money with free wifi through out day and night. Staff is friendly and helping. One of the best places to be in Kathmandu. Wonderful roof top restaurant but serve only breakfast

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are nice with better wifi conectivity
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manjeet_1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Manjet, Namaste and regards
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent visit to the our home. I am highly concerned to read of your feelings at the hotel Family Home .
As a regular past user of our Hotel and restaurant I am very keen to learn how you feel we might improve our service on the restaurants as well but I don’t know you tried the food at our Italian kitchen on the ground flower or not ,yes we only serve breakfast from the roof top but you can always order the food from the restaurant ground flower for the lunch and dinner,
About the bathroom yes we have the normal bathroom it is not really big ,most hotels in Kathmandu have the same size like what we have but may be next time if you ever travel back to Nepal try our annex 1 which is more nice and comfortable then the one you had stayed this time,
We are genuinely committed to providing the very highest standard customer cares and would very much value your comments or suggestions. Kind regards Mukti Pandey, Owner/Manager, Hotel Family Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Excellent hotel, Good rooms, hot water and wifi. Food is delicious and clean restaurant inside hotel. Owner is very kindness. Staff is friendly. If you have any problems,the owner (Mr Mukti) can slove everything. you can enjoy mountain view and sunrise &sunset from on the rooftop of hotel. This is my second home.

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yumi_rena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Yumi & Reena,
Namaste and regards from Family home
Thank you so much for leaving the feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed staying at Hotel Family Home, We are very pleased to hear that you had enjoyed our hospitality,rooms,the breakfast and all.and we can not wait to see you again for your another visit in kathmandu
Warm Regards,
Mukti Pandey,Hotel Family Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

this is one of the best place for travellers in nepal that it is located in very center of thamel.and service from this hotel for us was excellent.me and 2 friends of mine were here at this hotel this past year in october for 6 days that we felt like our another home in nepal. good painted rooms and comfortable beds,no problems of hot water anytime, good air conditioning, the most thing is so clean.staffs are co operative that they are ready to help anytime.good view of kathmandu valley including the suraunding mountains in the morning. food is also not bad , many good restaurants around.the manager Mukti is very helpful that he suggested us for the verious tour options.we made the trip to the annapurna bace camp , that was wonderful.the kathmandu valley sight seeing was mindblowing . we people from Hong Kong liked this hotel a lot hope everyone will like it too.....check it out once

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwang g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Hwang,
Namaste and regards from Kathmandu , Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Family Home. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Mukti & Family home team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 203 in Kathmandu
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,213 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 203 in Kathmandu
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Family Home

Property: Hotel Family Home
Address: Ashok Galli Jytha, Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Family Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Family Home, located in heart of Thamel, is not just a hotel but home to many travelers who come to Nepal to spend their holiday and explore its rich diversity. We treat everyone who comes as a part of our family. We always aim to make anyone (you might be the one) feel like 'at home away from home’. We therefore would like to invite you into a family. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Family Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing