We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Hospitality”
Review of Hotel Family Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Family Home
Ranked #4 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Location and Hospitality”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights in November and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us and we appreciated the smiles and hospitality of all the staff. The owner, Mukti, was especially helpful in arranging a three day walk in the valley with an excellent guide. He was also especially gracious in providing us with upgraded rooms at no extra cost and providing transport in the hotel vehicle at a reasonable cost. We especially enjoyed our talks with Mukti about the challenges and rewards of hotel management in Kathmandu. Mukti, our best wishes for your new endeavour in developing an additional hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Ken
Thank you for your stay at Hotel Family home
We are extremely glad to hear that you thought our Hotel ,staff and management was fantastic, and the hospitality was impressive! We highly appreciate your wonderful and kind comments about each of our associates and the services you experienced while spending 7 days with us. Our associates are very much encouraged by your constant support as always. This will motivate our team to continue striving for standard services and an unforgettable experience to our guests.and it’s been our pleasure to arrange your small hiking trip and we are really glad to hear that trip was great and guide mr Puru was able to give you a good service and once again thanks lot for your thought about our next hotel

We look forward to your visit in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mukti Pandey, Hotel Family Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    87
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
98
108
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed here for five nights from 21st to 26th November.When I arrived and saw the entrance
I was very worried. The reception was stuck between a Pizzeria and a kitchen. I was kindly helped with my luggage and taken to my room on the 3rd floor (by elevator).What a pleasant surprise - I had a huge room with 2 double beds - 2 large windows and a very clean
bathroom with lots of hot water so important after a tiring day of sightseeing.
The TV worked so was able to watch the world news in english. In front of my bedroom there was also a working computer for the guests.
The breakfast, included in the price, was served on the roof top terrace -everything served was freshly cooked.
The staff were incredibly nice and very eager to help.
Being in the Thamel area I thought it would have been noisy, instead I slept well and the bed was comfortable. My room was not on the roadside.
My only complaint was the early morning banging - they were constructing a new building next door. Mr Pandey, the owner, promptly told me it was not his fault. I was also told that on the opposite corner they were about to pull down a row of old houses to build a new modern complex.
I was taken to the airport by their driver early in the morning, which I very much appreciated -
he was a very kind person.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eva m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Eva,
Namaste and warm regards from the Hotel Family Home
It is our pleasure and honor to welcome you at Hotel Family Home. We are delighted to learn that you had an overall great stay with us.

While we are pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay at our home, we regret to learn about the noise in next building with some construction,it was not in my hand to control but they have already finished their work their so no more trouble for the next guest
We look forward to having the opportunity to make amends and hope to welcome you back to the hotel family home soon.

Best Regards,
Mukti Pandey
Hotel Family HOme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night while transiting to Bhutan. Location is perfect, but can be noisy just next to the street, There is also current construction and the banging starts pretty early.

Lobby is a little dark, but staff is good. If you take the family room, be aware that only one room as the heather and aircon.

Breakfast was good, on the rooftop, and the internet was efficient to me

Finally, they take cash only.

Overall, recommended

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfamilynepal, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Guest,
Namaste
We are very glad to learn that your stay at Hotel Family Home gave you the enriching and very detailed experience to share with other travelers. It was my great pleasure to hear that service under my management was good ,About the noise from the street we are sorry it is not in our control but our most windows are sound proof as you know thamel is not that big and most hotels are located in thamel they all suffer the same problem
But good news for your next visit we are starting more 20 new rooms with same name Hotel Family Home anex 2 mints walking distance from our hotel right now, which has prime location and inside from the main street avoid the traffic noise and lot more nicer than this one ,we are trying to start this from the 1st of Janaury 2012,we really look forward to seeing you for your another visit

Thank you for your wonderful review and we do hope you will visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Mukti Pandey
Hotel Family Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We were very pleased with Hotel Family Home. The location seemed really good: close enough to the centre of Thamel without being right in the middle of it. We didn't have any problem with noise.

Best of all were the rooms: yes, they are basic but there are no delusions of grandeur here. If you're in a group or (like us) with kids you effectively have a suite of rooms all in one: we had one for us, one for the kids and one for the luggage. For what you're paying this is very reasonable value.

Service at HFH is also good. Mukti, as a lot of reviewers have commented, is a helpful guy and we would suggest using him to sort our excursions unless you have a recommendation from elsewhere. He made one mistake when arranging our transfer as he couldn't find transport that was both big enough for our luggage and had seatbelts. But, in fairness to him, he was keen to try to correct this. Getting it right obviously matters to him which makes mistakes far more forgivable.

Room Tip: Go high up for better views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey-and-Sprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munapande, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear John,
Namaste and regards from Kathmandu

It is was pleasure and honor to welcome you and your family to Hotel Family Home. We are delighted to learn that you had an overall great stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your kind experience particularly about the hotel service and the staff.

Once again I am really sorry about the transportation arrangement as you know we had been discussing by email and confirm your transport by car to go to chitwan I thought that should be fine because you were two of you and two children but when you were going to start your journey to chitwan I am surprise with your loggage and suitcases all the things can not fit on that small cab which you have odered and I was trying to get the other cab for you but it was impossible in few minits because there was big festival called dashain at the same time so that I was not able to fix you the other cab and you had to drive with small car and I am sure you had lots of trouble driving for 4 hours …really sorry for that and was also your fault that you never mention me about your loggages


We look forward to having the opportunity to make amends and hope to welcome you back to the hotel family home soon.

Best Regards,
Mukti Pandey Hotel Family HOme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My stay here was very enjoyable, the rooms are clean, modern, comfortable (soft pillows!) and the service was very good. The breakfast was also nice. The only drawbck is the noise from the street - bring earplugs if noise keeps you awake. But you're right in the centre of Thamel so that's very convenient. The shower was always hot - 24/7 which was nice for a change from so many cold showers in Nepal. The hotel has free wi fi and a computer for guest use. If I'm in Kathmandu in the future I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizziecobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munapande, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear tygrysek,
Namaste
We are very glad to learn that your stay at Hotel Family Home gave you the enriching and very detailed experience to share with other travelers. It was my great pleasure to hear that service under my management was good ,About the noise from the street we are sorry it is not in our control but our most windows are sound proof as you know thamel is not that big and most hotels are located in thamel they all suffer the same problem
But good news for your next visit we are starting more 20 new rooms with same name Hotel Family Home anex 2 mints walking distance from our hotel right now, which has prime location and inside from the main street avoid the traffic noise and lot more nicer than this one ,we are trying to start this from the 1st of Janaury 2012,we really look forward to seeing you for your another visit

Thank you for your wonderful review and we do hope you will visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Mukti Pandey
Hotel Family Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Family Home whilst working in Kathmandu for three weeks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A cooked breakfast on the roof terrace is included in the price. The hot water was good and Mukti the owner will help you with trekking arrangements. I will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Front rooms have small balcony, back rooms will be quieter in the morning when street shops open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munapande, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Michel
Namaste !!!!
Please accept our sincere appreciation for staying at Hotel Family Home as a part of our family and your frequent feedback contributions on Tripadvisor to the improvement of the hotel and services. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff ,breakfast and tour arrangement

We very much are looking forward to seeing you again in few dasy

Mukti Pandey
Hotel Family Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Can only repeat what other people are saying. Excellent location just on the quiet end of Thamel but only a five minute walk to the main action. Rooms clean and comfortable and a decent freshly cooked breakfast. Mukti the owner is happy to arrange and suggest trips and even offered us a discount on check out when he realised we had been put in the wrong room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swrxp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munapande, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Roger,
Namaste and regards from Kathmandu, we are pleased to read your great reviews here on tripadisor and it was our pleasure to serve you in our hotel during your stay
And yes I really sorry that my staff had misunderstanding about your room booking ,I know you have booked 2 suits but by mistakely they gave you one suite and one deluxe so that we just charge you for one deluxe and one suite I am really sorry for that
Once again thank you soo much for the excellent reviews and thank you very much for being part of our family during your stay with us
Looking forward to seeing you again
Mukti Pandey
Hotel Family Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 203 in Kathmandu
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,214 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#46 of 203 in Kathmandu
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Family Home

Property: Hotel Family Home
Address: Ashok Galli Jytha, Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Family Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Family Home, located in heart of Thamel, is not just a hotel but home to many travelers who come to Nepal to spend their holiday and explore its rich diversity. We treat everyone who comes as a part of our family. We always aim to make anyone (you might be the one) feel like 'at home away from home’. We therefore would like to invite you into a family. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Family Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing