We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel in Thamel”
Review of Hotel Family Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Family Home
Ranked #6 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Pokhara
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in Thamel”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Family Home for a long stint, and it was wonderful.

I have visited Nepal four times now, and have stayed in six hotels in the Thamel area, as well as seen rooms in many others. Based on this, I am certain that Hotel Family Home offers the best tourist experience in terms of value, cleanliness, helpful and friendly staff - not to mention great views of the city from both the rooftop and from the front rooms, which all have balconies.

Rooms are spacious and extremely well-maintained, and furnished with tables, wardrobes and comfortable divan beds. The bathrooms are similarly spotless, with powerful showers that provide hot water 24/7 through a powerful filtration system that remedies Kathmandu's notorious water problems - be ware, many of the inferior hotels and guest houses in Thamel do not have this facility!

To round things off nicely, there is an Italian restaurant, Alchemy, on the ground floor of the building. The restaurant is independent of the hotel, but its friendly staff will gladly deliver food to your room on those lazy evenings, and the pizzas are easily as good as those offered by the more-famous Roadhouse Cafe and Fire & Ice Restaurant - well worth a try!

Can't recommend highly enough. A haven of quality in Thamel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cranalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munapande, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Dear Colin,
Thank you so much for the nice review ,it was our pleasure to look after you and your stay with us ..we know we still have to improve many things to make your stay with us more comfortable,
and we are keep trying to give better hospitality for our clients,
we really believe on our guest satisfaction to run our business well ,
we are looking forward to see you again for you another visit in August ,enjoy your trip to countryside for your volunteer work with your girlfriend

Mukti Pandey
Hotel Family Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    86
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
68
98
107
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I have stayed in at least 8 hotels in Thamel and Family Home has definitely been the best! Spacious rooms, free wifi in the room, 24 hr hot water and clean toliets; to be honest, there is nothing more you can ask for in a hotel situated in the heart of Thamel. Not to mention the staff at Family Home have been extremely helpful whether it is in providing advise for trips or arranging transport, they have definitely made my stay in Nepal a thoroughly enjoyable one.

So if you are looking for a place with nice amenities and situated in the heart of Thamel and you are willing to pay abit more, Family Home is definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munapande, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Chen ,
Thank you so much for your review,we are very much happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us ,we looking forward to seeing you again ,and trying to give you something extra for the next ..
Mukti Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chitwan National Park, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We were really happy with our stay in this hotel. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are spacious, the water is hot and generator power ensures,you can always turn on a light during a power cut we were able to use the wifi during the power cut also,connection was very good even in the room, they have free computer for the guest who does’nt have the pc to use on the 3rd floor. Views from the roof were really great. we were able to see even the White Mountains while we were having the breakfast in the morning on the roof, I really like the roof top garden ..
Breakfast so good with fruits and juice,manager mukti look after himself if we enjoyed our breakfast or not which was very impressive and finally when we were leaving the to the airport he gave us the Buddhist shals called Khada for our safe journey back home ,we really felt sad to leave family home at the end as we have been so much familiar with everyone there ,lots of thanks for mukti for looking after us and our trip in Nepal we will be missing you so much

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krisbakdhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Found this place on Tripadvisor. It is clean and quiet and located away from the bustle but close enough so you can take advantage of the services in Thamel. Owner and emplyees are very friendly and prices are reasonable. Also, they have 24-hour hot water and pressure in the shower. Free wifi and internet on premises. Would really recommend staying there as it is a lot nicer than similarly priced guesthouses in KTM (I stayed at Tibet Guest House, International Guest House, Red Planet Hotel and Encounter Nepal Hotel in the past).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank usagerdumonde77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mukti_11, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Hello there,
Thank you soo much for your review ,i remember you but i am sorry i can not remember your name ,we have been talking couple of time at the reception and you had the french action ...i am very much happy that you enjoyed your stay with us ..you were just for 2 nights i recon..
looking forward to seeing you again
thank you soo much for the nice comment
Mukti Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We loved it so much we returned after travelling around Nepal. Mukti the owner is so helpful and will do anything to help you to enjoy your stay. He collected us from the airport and on our return he met us from the bus station. The hotel is in Thamel which is a great spot with lots going on. Mukti will help you organise any trips you want to do and all the hotels he recommended were lovely. We had 3 teenagers with us who all loved it and we felt confident to let them have time to wander by themselves. We had fantastic rooms which were adjoining and our own little lounge room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nancedelilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munapande, Manager at Hotel Family Home, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Samantha,
Thank you very much for your nice review ,it was my pleasure to look after you and your familys when you were staying with us ,i really look forward to seing you again at my family home..
Mukti Pandey
Manager
Hotel Family Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

“Feel safe life and save money&time to stay in hotel family home” : We feel safe life with warm staff, quite environment in the heart of Thamel and clean & new furnished room; We can save money from free transfer, free Wi-FI connection and suitable cost for room; We can save time to let them provide fantastic trip as our request with suitable cost moreover we can see nice view around Kathmandu valley from hotel's roof garden such as monkey temple.

Room Tip: Pls book the room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaya_chinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The hotel locate in the good location , good accommodation and very clean with valuable price. staff are very friendly and helpful. they helped me to make the perfect trip in Nepal. I felt like at home there.I would stay there again. It's highly recommendable!!

Room Tip: nice location ,nice room ,nice staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 201 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 201 in Kathmandu
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 201 in Kathmandu
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kathmandu
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 201 in Kathmandu
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Family Home

Property: Hotel Family Home
Address: Ashok Galli Jytha, Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Family Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Family Home, located in heart of Thamel, is not just a hotel but home to many travelers who come to Nepal to spend their holiday and explore its rich diversity. We treat everyone who comes as a part of our family. We always aim to make anyone (you might be the one) feel like 'at home away from home’. We therefore would like to invite you into a family. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Family Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing