We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Feel safe life and save money&time to stay in hotel family home”” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Family Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Family Home
Ranked #3 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
““Feel safe life and save money&time to stay in hotel family home””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

“Feel safe life and save money&time to stay in hotel family home” : We feel safe life with warm staff, quite environment in the heart of Thamel and clean & new furnished room; We can save money from free transfer, free Wi-FI connection and suitable cost for room; We can save time to let them provide fantastic trip as our request with suitable cost moreover we can see nice view around Kathmandu valley from hotel's roof garden such as monkey temple.

Room Tip: Pls book the room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaya_chinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    84
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
63
92
102
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

The hotel locate in the good location , good accommodation and very clean with valuable price. staff are very friendly and helpful. they helped me to make the perfect trip in Nepal. I felt like at home there.I would stay there again. It's highly recommendable!!

Room Tip: nice location ,nice room ,nice staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Though it is located aThamel,it was clean, safety,and silent.
It was the one of the highest cost performance hotel.

The owener,Mr.Mukti,is very friendly and able to comunicate in Nepali,English and Jananese!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akiyaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltom City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

It is unbelievable. I can not stop to say nice people, accommodation, neat and clean and quite environment. Its all in one that is Hotel Family Home. I had fun staying with them about week. I special thank to Mukti Pandey for everything while we stayed there. If you arrive the Kathmandu airport, Shake your leg to Hotel Family Home to feel as your home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeHaltomCity_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Great place to stay in the heart of Thamel, Mukti and Mami are so welcoming. The rooms are large and comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

This was a perfect little hotel, or maybe more like your own home as the room itself was very big and connected with another room ,I think it is very good accomodation for the small family or a group of few people to take all room on the same flower and connected each other and they have common meeting room in each flower,. For a twin room we paid 30$ and they include the tax and service charge on that price but other hotel we stayed in Nepal they always charge us the additional price on top of the room price which I don like... We had our own bathroom with very hot water for shower they keep asking us if we have problem with hot water ,we had a nice satellite tv,high speed wifi even in the room, and even a private balcony with the good views of valley. I did notice that not all the rooms were as nice as ours, some had no private balcony though but I guess they are budget room, I imagine that you could get these rooms at an even more affordable price. Also, the hotel is really new built and looks very different than any other house in thamel. There was an awesome restaurant with seating outdoors at the roof you can use lift to go on the roof top which is really good, probably the highest roof in thamel area! It was so nice to have little plants around, And on our last day, we had to be at the airport at 6am. I couldn't believe it when the manager of the hotel woke up early to say us good bye and he drive us till the airport himself and ask us to recommend more guest in his hotel..was so impressive we really hope that he will have good business because he work hard and look after his guest very well… ,!we definitely recommend this hotel to all the traveler’s who go to Nepal

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week when we travel to Nepal . Two days before trek and five more day after. Of course we came back from Lukla to this place because we are addict to internet and there is free WI-FI connection over all hotel. We were very much surprised because after coming back in 18 days after trek in Everest we noticed that not only Wi-FI connection is free the Manager of the hotel been very helpful to us again was soo happy to see us there again. About accomodation: this hotel is a nice place to stay in busy ,,it is in center of thamel Kathmandu. Very new ,well decorated big rooms,the best view from the roof ,walking distance to Kathmandu durbar sqare and monkey templeThey have their roof top garden and nice restaurant with good kitchen. Everyboday cares for you to have a nice time there. Also they have free transfer to and from the airport which is also a good deal. When I come back to Nepal, Kathmandu - I will stay in Hotel Family home again because I feel like my home there....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#11 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#6 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Family Home

Property: Hotel Family Home
Address: Ashok Galli Jytha, Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Family Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Family Home, located in heart of Thamel, is not just a hotel but home to many travelers who come to Nepal to spend their holiday and explore its rich diversity. We treat everyone who comes as a part of our family. We always aim to make anyone (you might be the one) feel like 'at home away from home’. We therefore would like to invite you into a family. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Family Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing