We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and ambience”

Flavor's Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #146 of 732 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good food and ambience”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went to Flavors on recommendation of my hotel. It was an easy ten minute walk down, and the square around the stupa was somewhat dark and very quiet compared to the daytime activities. The restaurant is set up rather galley-like, a long narrow space with tables on either side, and a stairway leading to another dining area. The menu had quite a variety of dishes from various international cuisines.

My meal was good and designed to warm me up; I ordered a very spicy Thai soup and Nepalese curry, and washed it down with a decent glass of white wine. The service was quite efficient, especially for Nepal. For “dessert” I ordered a cup of hot chocolate, but it had the flavor and thin consistency of Swiss Miss mixed with water (and no marshmallows).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank azbuceadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great food, service, great view, lovely space and socially responsible business”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Service and food was great so we kept coming back here during our stay in Bodnath. Great view of stupa from the roof top. And very good coffe !!
Socially responsible business employing nepaleese deaf and disabled.
Reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikimarkusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good pastries but very average dal bhat”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice ambience, the ground floor has a very retro feel with the black & while floor tiles. The pastries and coffee are good but was disappointed with the dal bhat. Very average and nothing to shout about - i think their Western dishes would have been a better choice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Purplefrog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were impressed by the food and the service. Definitely a place to eat at when you are in that area of town. We would go back any time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ELHP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“loved it!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

although i am an asia lover and love anything i eat in all its countries, for the first time in my life, i've had trouble eating in nepal... fortunately, there was Flavors! finally a variety of foods that actually tasted what they were supposed to! the restaurant in itself is nice and welcoming, vaguely resembling a french bistro, and the friendly service also made a nice change from other nepalese restaurants. the staff includes a deaf-mute and two little people, a much appreciated open-minded attitude giving the overall ambiance a wonderful vibe. thanks again to all of you :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 100n_micoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavor's Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Flavor's Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing