We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Premium

Hotel Premium
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Premium
Ranked #137 of 452 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here on three different occasions in two different rooms and found each stay excellent. The beds are comfortable, the rooms clean and tidy (though the floors could be washed perhaps a little more often) nicely presented shower rooms and the staff were really friendly and helpful. All in all I think it is excellent value for money. Ask for a back bedroom if you want a bit more quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wild_mountain_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Premium
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

First of all the service is very nice here. During my 4 month stay in Nepal I also tried other Hotels - cheaper and more expensive ones. At Hotel Premium the managers and employees try to satisfy you and react on complaints you may have.

For the standards in Nepal this Hotel is a very good one. It is pretty clean, has 24h hot shower and of course WiFi. The beds are as usual in Nepal rather hard but still comfortable.

I prefer to have a room in the 5th or 6th floor to have a nice view over Kathmandu. This building is one of the highest in the surrounding, thus the upper floors and the rooftop are great!

The hotel is located in Thamel - close to bars and clubs in the area, but you won't hear any noises from there.

I will definitely choose this hotel again when I go to Kathmandu.

Room Tip: 5th-6th floor for a good view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himalayanrejoice, Owner at Hotel Premium, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Marco
Namaste and warm greetings from Hotel Premium

thank you for your kind words. Regarding the tall building definitely we can see 360 degree view from Rooftop and as you mention already your best room is Room no 603 where is from you can see very nice mountain view of Langtang trekking region.

Umesh Subedi
Hotel Premium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and it was fine. Friendly staff, cheap price, bathroom had lukewarm water, restaurant for breakfast, tv with fuzzy reception. I stayed on level two and wifi didn't work on that floor.

Room Tip: Level two Rooms don't have wifi
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeward2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himalayanrejoice, Owner at Hotel Premium, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Clare

warm greetings from hotel Premium
Thank you for your comment which makes us to give the better service for upcoming guest . regarding the hot water we have two boiler tank on the rooftop and when one tank is finished we do on next one. Hopefully next time we will provide you better service than that.
Umesh
Hotel Premium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was my second stay at Hotel Premium. The first time was 18 months ago when they were upgrading the rooms, which has been completed.
The employees are very friendly and helpfull.
The matrasses are comfortable.
The wifi speed is very decent.
The TV works and has English news channels and movie channels.
When taking a shower in the late afternoon/ early evening, you'll get a very hot showe,.big bonus ;)
During the power cuts the wifi will keep on working and you'll have some light in your room.
The rooms closer to the backside of the building are a bit quieter from average street noise.
If they have the powercut in the morning, they sometimes run out of water, because it needs to be pumped of to the rooftop tanks. Better to fill the bucket for some back up water.
Bring your own toiletpaper. (Which is common for this price range accommodation)


In general it's a nice and quiet place to stay and really good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstherHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

stayed here for a volunteer induction and some weekends afterwards as this is where the other volunteers stayed. The staff are great. They couldn't be better. The wifi is great. The view from the rooftop is spectacular. I was in a number of different rooms and other than two, the numbers of which I don't recall, they were terrible. Most rooms had at least one or more things wrong with them. If you don't mind no hot water, blood and other stains on the dirty bedspreads, stains on the sheets, paint peeling off the walls, crud on the bathroom fixtures, mold, dirty towels, beds that are a bit hard (maybe better than some other budget hotels), toilets that don't flush etc., then you'll be fine. Me personally, I don't need luxury but I do need clean. For a couple of dollars more, try Sacred Valley Inn, winner of best budget hotel for 2012. Their beds are also a bit on the hard side, but they are really clean, something Premium is not. I put this review up here so people will know what they're getting into, and so, hopefully, the owners of Premium will do what they need to do to make this the place that I know it can be.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1travlgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I've stayed here with my (Nepali) husband so many times and it's, by FAR, the best budget choice in this price range (double for about 8 dollars) - ask for the rooms on the sunny side in the winter as it gets chilly. The internet is best on floors 2, 4 and 5.
Forget the food, it's not great (and very limited) but the breakfast is ok - but still it's much better to go out to Pumpernickle or another nice coffee place, of which there are now many in Thamel.

The staff are pretty congenial and helpful, especially Razu, one of the managers, ask for him and tell him Julie and Krishna sent you! He is very professional and kind, as is the other manager.....

You have to ask for a second towel, but they will give it with a smile.

Housekeeping leaves a bit to be desired (and buy your own toilet paper, they charge too much for it) but even if a little dusty, the rooms are cheerful and the sheets are clean (comforters could use a good wash, tho).

One more VERY important thing - the beds and pillow are QUITE comfortable - Nepal is famous for HARD beds and Thamel hotels are famous for hard, crummy pillows - but the Premium's are good on both counts. No small thing in Nepal! Sweet dreams.

Again, for what you pay here, and compared to the others I've seen, I would recommend this place for travelers wanting a very cheap and cheerful hotel in Thamel (Paknajol area)

Namaste

Room Tip: Ask for the sunny side.......our favorite was #403, sunny with good internet! Also #401 is good, an...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vermillion787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I traveled Nepal for 2 months. During my time, I found myself in Thamel (Kathmandu's entertainment/shopping/foreigner hub) every weekend. I loved giving them patronage because I developed a relationship with the staff members. Once, I got the unlucky case of Traveler's Diarrhea, but the staff took care of me. They transported me to the hospital, gave me soup, liquids, checked up on me often. It's a smaller hotel, so giving you fine attention is what makes this place cozy. Thus, the staff and hotel is a special to me. They're helpful and make it worth staying.

If you want good internet connection, make sure to ask for the bottom most floors or the 5th floor (top floor). There's also perfect internet connection on the roof top, which has an amazing view of the city. The food's really good here and cheaper than tourist-ridden Thamel prices. If you really want a comfty stay, make sure to ask for a room with hot water and with a TV that works (some rooms don't have it or you have to get lucky). Laundry service is cheap, but takes a day to do. Overall, you can't beat the price, especially if you're sharing the room. So if you're asking if I recommend the hotel, my answer is yes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvvargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,231 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#48 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 207 in Kathmandu
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Premium

Address: Paknajol Chowk | Thamel, Kathmandu 4246, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 452 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $13 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing