We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very very nice hotel”
Review of Backyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Backyard Hotel
Ranked #17 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“very very nice hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

i think this hotel have become one of my fav..and hope whenever if I am gonna get chance to visit kathmandu again, I'll surely stay out there only...I simply loved it there and will always love to be there if it will possible for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devsagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest from Kolkata, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were able to satisfy you in all ways and you had a good time here. Thank you again for your recommendation. We would love to see you in future and accommodate you here and provide even better services.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    129
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
33
136
146
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there one night in Kathmandu when I arrived.
It is located at the middle of Thamel so the location was quiet nice to venture Kathmandu. However the room I stayed in was freezing and had no heater. I was not prepared for this thinking naturally that a heater would be included and barely slept that night bcs of the cold.
But besides this it was okay I guess especially the hotel staff were super nice and helpful. And the taxi tour reserved for Kathmandu thru backyard was highly recommendable ( however if ur going to reserve a taxi tour in pokhara , u should ask several times for a driver who speaks English!!! Our driver in pokhara didn't speak any English which made our tour very difficult) hope my comment help ppl who plan to travel in nepal^^

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank So Hee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest from Hong Kong, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. Hope you had a great time here in Nepal and at Backyard, beside the cold room you had to sleep in for two nights. We are very sorry for what you had to go through at our hotel and we had no idea about your discomfort until today. That is really embarrassing for us. Upgrading your room would be the only option to solve this because the budget rooms have no heaters like the other category rooms, and we have usually done that in the past and mostly a free upgrade.

We are really grateful to get your feedback and attention on our hotel. We will surely take this seriously and find out a way out to solve this problem and not make other future guests face this inconvenience anymore. We promise you to not have this same problem on your next visit. Thanking you again.

Warm Regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a great place. I stayed here with my friends in my last Kathamndu visit. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were cordial. They served good breakfast also....but i do not remember if it was complimentary.... Definitely recommended guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest from Louisiana, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service and we are glad to know that we were able to satisfy you with our property service and hospitality. We will share your review with our staffs as a reward for a good service. Looking forward to see you and your group in future. Thank you again for your recommendation.

Warm Regards,
SUNI;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

You simply can't get any better rooms for the price. Best location with Great atmosphere and super friendly staff member. Will always be my destination during my nest trip to Nepal. Memorial stay, Loved it :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest from Texas, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in making your stay a nice one with and you were satisfied with our property and service. We will try our best in future to provide you even better hospitality and service. Looking forward to your next visit. Thank you for your recommendation.

Kind regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at the Backyard hotel for 3 nights after my trekking trip. The location is great, in the heart of Thamel. Staff were friendly and they were very helpful, the hotel also offers free airport pickup and free wifi. Thank you Durga, Sunil and Chandan for your warm hospitality during my stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Pollen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest from Sydney, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. It is great to know that you had a pleasant stay at Backyard. "Friendly staffs' is one of our top qualities which we think is very important for a small hotel like ours. Along with that we like to be professional with our service and property. We are glad you liked all. Hope you will choose this same place to stay on your next visit. Thank you for your recommendation.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Usually hotels are either corporate house run or family owned. The Backyard Hotel in Kathmandu is run by professionals with tourism background and the service level and the hotel’s amenities tell their own story. The rooms have balconies. The hotel offers free airport transfer and free internet access. The location is very central to the city. Being a small hotel with only 15 rooms the service level is bound to be high. The breakfast at the terrace has a nice touch to it. The central location is very handy for seeing all the hot spots and also to do some shopping. The eateries are also spread quite well and you can have any type of cuisine. One trick for the guest is always ask for an upgrade! You never know when your request will be honored. The hotel is just right for a longish stay at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrentTrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest from Latvia, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. Guest satisfaction is the most important thing for us, leaving everything behind, and we are absolutely glad to know we were successful in that. We understand that guests are travelling on fixed budget and sometimes it may be difficult to afford a longer stay on full rates. For that reason we have special discounts on request and for all long stays. We are happy to know your stay with us was a pleasant one. Thank you again for all your descriptions and heavy recommendation.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The staff is the nicest I could imagine! They are like family members and are willing to help and give suggestions whenever needed. The fact that the hotel has an affiliated travel agency can make your stay in Nepal time and cost efficient. The owner Durga knows a lot about Nepal and can make travel plans, arrange cars, and book hotels within minutes, all catering to your own preference. He, as well as all the other staff, treats you like a friend than a customer. Everyone is easy to get along with, and you make friends with them after a couple of minutes' conversation. You do not feel disoriented at all from the time you step out of the Kathmandu airport because not only there is free airport pickup (and even before that, you will be connected with the hotel through Facebook), once you arrive at the hotel, the hotel also makes sure that you won't get lost anywhere in the city or in the country. If you make friends with the staff, you can be guaranteed that you will feel like home at Backyard. The staff really makes an effort to know every person who comes to stay in the hotel. Friendship easily develops during the stay and continues long afterwards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yuan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Yuan, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad to know that you had a great time at our hotel. We wish each and all of our guests feel the same like you. Anyone can definitely feel like home at our hotel, actually we insist everyone to do so. We wont let you down with our service in any case. Your satisfaction is all that we need. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#23 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#9 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Property: Backyard Hotel
Address: Chibihal Street | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backyard Hotel is situated in a bustling tourist area of Thamel in a very convenient location for everything that a tourist might be looking for, the best restaurants, shopping, the best bookshops and the tourist bus stop. This 40 roomed hotel offers excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment where you will find people eager to please you all the time. Mixed dormitory, budget, standard, deluxe and super deluxe rooms are available for booking. Just 5 km away from the TIA, a free airport pickup is provided by the hotel if requested in advance via e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing