We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tradition(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Mt. Fuji(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Hotel Kumari(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveler rating
432
135
34
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
135
34
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterrooftop restaurantthe hotel staffairport pickupfree wifilocation is greatcomplimentary breakfastcentral thamelno elevatorclean roomseverest base camphotel is locatedgreat hospitalitytucked awaytourist areaside streetdeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 624 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a great place. I stayed here with my friends in my last Kathamndu visit. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were cordial. They served good breakfast also....but i do not remember if it was complimentary.... Definitely recommended guys!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest from Louisiana, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service and we are glad to know that we were able to satisfy you with our property service and hospitality. We will share your review with our staffs as a reward for a good service. Looking forward to see you and your group in future. Thank you again for your recommendation.

Warm Regards,
SUNI;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

You simply can't get any better rooms for the price. Best location with Great atmosphere and super friendly staff member. Will always be my destination during my nest trip to Nepal. Memorial stay, Loved it :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest from Texas, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in making your stay a nice one with and you were satisfied with our property and service. We will try our best in future to provide you even better hospitality and service. Looking forward to your next visit. Thank you for your recommendation.

Kind regards,
SUNIL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at the Backyard hotel for 3 nights after my trekking trip. The location is great, in the heart of Thamel. Staff were friendly and they were very helpful, the hotel also offers free airport pickup and free wifi. Thank you Durga, Sunil and Chandan for your warm hospitality during my stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
6  Thank Pollen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest from Sydney, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. It is great to know that you had a pleasant stay at Backyard. "Friendly staffs' is one of our top qualities which we think is very important for a small hotel like ours. Along with that we like to be professional with our service and property. We are glad you liked all. Hope you will choose this same place to stay on your next visit. Thank you for your recommendation.

Kind regards,
Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Usually hotels are either corporate house run or family owned. The Backyard Hotel in Kathmandu is run by professionals with tourism background and the service level and the hotel’s amenities tell their own story. The rooms have balconies. The hotel offers free airport transfer and free internet access. The location is very central to the city. Being a small hotel with only 15 rooms the service level is bound to be high. The breakfast at the terrace has a nice touch to it. The central location is very handy for seeing all the hot spots and also to do some shopping. The eateries are also spread quite well and you can have any type of cuisine. One trick for the guest is always ask for an upgrade! You never know when your request will be honored. The hotel is just right for a longish stay at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrentTrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest from Latvia, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. Guest satisfaction is the most important thing for us, leaving everything behind, and we are absolutely glad to know we were successful in that. We understand that guests are travelling on fixed budget and sometimes it may be difficult to afford a longer stay on full rates. For that reason we have special discounts on request and for all long stays. We are happy to know your stay with us was a pleasant one. Thank you again for all your descriptions and heavy recommendation.

Kind regards,
Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The staff is the nicest I could imagine! They are like family members and are willing to help and give suggestions whenever needed. The fact that the hotel has an affiliated travel agency can make your stay in Nepal time and cost efficient. The owner Durga knows a lot about Nepal and can make travel plans, arrange cars, and book hotels within minutes, all catering to your own preference. He, as well as all the other staff, treats you like a friend than a customer. Everyone is easy to get along with, and you make friends with them after a couple of minutes' conversation. You do not feel disoriented at all from the time you step out of the Kathmandu airport because not only there is free airport pickup (and even before that, you will be connected with the hotel through Facebook), once you arrive at the hotel, the hotel also makes sure that you won't get lost anywhere in the city or in the country. If you make friends with the staff, you can be guaranteed that you will feel like home at Backyard. The staff really makes an effort to know every person who comes to stay in the hotel. Friendship easily develops during the stay and continues long afterwards.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yuan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Yuan, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad to know that you had a great time at our hotel. We wish each and all of our guests feel the same like you. Anyone can definitely feel like home at our hotel, actually we insist everyone to do so. We wont let you down with our service in any case. Your satisfaction is all that we need. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback.

Kind regards,
Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews