We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Longish Affordable Stay”
Review of Backyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Backyard Hotel
Ranked #18 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For a Longish Affordable Stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Usually hotels are either corporate house run or family owned. The Backyard Hotel in Kathmandu is run by professionals with tourism background and the service level and the hotel’s amenities tell their own story. The rooms have balconies. The hotel offers free airport transfer and free internet access. The location is very central to the city. Being a small hotel with only 15 rooms the service level is bound to be high. The breakfast at the terrace has a nice touch to it. The central location is very handy for seeing all the hot spots and also to do some shopping. The eateries are also spread quite well and you can have any type of cuisine. One trick for the guest is always ask for an upgrade! You never know when your request will be honored. The hotel is just right for a longish stay at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrentTrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest from Latvia, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. Guest satisfaction is the most important thing for us, leaving everything behind, and we are absolutely glad to know we were successful in that. We understand that guests are travelling on fixed budget and sometimes it may be difficult to afford a longer stay on full rates. For that reason we have special discounts on request and for all long stays. We are happy to know your stay with us was a pleasant one. Thank you again for all your descriptions and heavy recommendation.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    130
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
35
136
149
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The staff is the nicest I could imagine! They are like family members and are willing to help and give suggestions whenever needed. The fact that the hotel has an affiliated travel agency can make your stay in Nepal time and cost efficient. The owner Durga knows a lot about Nepal and can make travel plans, arrange cars, and book hotels within minutes, all catering to your own preference. He, as well as all the other staff, treats you like a friend than a customer. Everyone is easy to get along with, and you make friends with them after a couple of minutes' conversation. You do not feel disoriented at all from the time you step out of the Kathmandu airport because not only there is free airport pickup (and even before that, you will be connected with the hotel through Facebook), once you arrive at the hotel, the hotel also makes sure that you won't get lost anywhere in the city or in the country. If you make friends with the staff, you can be guaranteed that you will feel like home at Backyard. The staff really makes an effort to know every person who comes to stay in the hotel. Friendship easily develops during the stay and continues long afterwards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yuan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Yuan, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad to know that you had a great time at our hotel. We wish each and all of our guests feel the same like you. Anyone can definitely feel like home at our hotel, actually we insist everyone to do so. We wont let you down with our service in any case. Your satisfaction is all that we need. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I found the staff here to be very friendly and helpful. The room was good for the price and location, even if that is somewhat overpriced for what you get. I turned up early evening in high season from a long haul flight. I had considered booking a hotel before I arrived but found that the tripadvisor reviews were unreliable and frankly suspect. A tip for other travellers - don't give the same weight to a reviewer with a single review, who lives locally and in this case poor English.

Room Tip: Don't use rook 501. the door frame leave a gap around the door that allows the door to be 's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest from Leicester, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were able to satisfy you in all ways and you had a good time here. Thank you again for your recommendation. We would love to see you in future and accommodate you here and provide even better services.

Besides that, I totally agree with you tip about the same weight to a reviewer with a single review, who lives locally and in this case poor English. We have had a few incidents when our competitors have tried to drag us backwards by the fake reviews. We request all to not believe in those fake reviews written locally and with bad English. We have a few of those, all rated terrible. Thank you for your tips.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed here for several nights when I visited Nepal recently. For starters, its in a great location on a quiet street just behind the main drag of thamel so its relatively quiet. The staff are really nice, helpful, chilled out and genuine. The rooms are clean and modern looking with good comfortable beds. Wifi actually works and shower is hot. Honestly a great place to stay and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarrod125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest from Melbourne, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were able to satisfy you in all ways and you had a good time here. Thank you again for your recommendation. We would love to see you in future and accommodate you here and provide even better services.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great Location, Excellent Service, and Amazing Staff!
Spent one week at Backyard Hotel in August and had a wonderful time! Very attentive staff from pick-up to drop-off and comfortable rooms! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_Jachowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest from Abu Dhabi, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were able to satisfy you in all ways and you had a good time here. Thank you again for your recommendation. We would love to see you in future and accommodate you here and provide even better services.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed in Backyard hotel on and off for my 6 week visit to Nepal. After staying in a variety of rooms, I can say that I have no problem with any of them, all were clean, spacious and had copious amounts of hot water. Breakfast on the rooftop was always a nice way to start the day. The location is also very convenient, walking distance to everything in Thamel and a quick ride to the airport. The best thing about this hotel however is the amazing friendly staff who make you feel like you are at home, they are all very helpful and will assist you with whatever you need wether it be connecting to the free wifi or finding information about tourist attractions or shops.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: level three has the least wifi accessibility
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were able to satisfy you in all ways and you had a good time here. Thank you again for your recommendation. We would love to see you in future and accommodate you here and provide even better services.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at Backyard hotel for 4 nights while waiting for my flight back home. The location is great, walking distance to everything in Thamel. The room was clean, the breakfast was great and the water was hot whenever I needed it. The staff were great as well, very friendly people with whom I enjoyed to talk and ask things about the country and the city. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftn1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Ferlipe, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for your time to write this wonderful review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was great to be at your service. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Hope your recommendation is going help other people to choose the correct correctly and also help to motivate to work harder to provide top class service. Thank you again. Have a great time there till we see you again. All the best.

Kind regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 201 in Kathmandu
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 201 in Kathmandu
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 201 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#8 of 201 in Kathmandu
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 201 in Kathmandu
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Property: Backyard Hotel
Address: Chibihal Street | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backyard Hotel is situated in a bustling tourist area of Thamel in a very convenient location for everything that a tourist might be looking for, the best restaurants, shopping, the best bookshops and the tourist bus stop. This 40 roomed hotel offers excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment where you will find people eager to please you all the time. Mixed dormitory, budget, standard, deluxe and super deluxe rooms are available for booking. Just 5 km away from the TIA, a free airport pickup is provided by the hotel if requested in advance via e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing