We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
Ranked #25 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I think this hotel would be the best place for budget travellers. I am fully satisfied with the service they provided, and the value. The room is clean and tidy, clean water for hot shower is always available comfy beds, wifi in room. They serve complimentary breakfast at the terrace and also complimentary nepalese tea whenever you want in your room. The friendly staffs at Backyard are the best I have ever seen. They are always there to please you. You can also take travel sevices from the hotel's travel desk very easily. Sunil and Chandan are always there to assist you with this. Alltogether, Backyard can definately be your best base camp in nepal to explore this beautiful country with wonderful people. Would love to come back again in few years. Farewell guys. Thanks to Durga, Amit, Sagar, Ramesh, sushil..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJBrownj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Mr. Brown, Namaste!! Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were able to make your stay a nice one at our hotel. We had a great time too with you. You did become a part of our hotel during your short stay which we wont forget. We will see you again soon as you promised. Best wishes from all Backyard crews. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 617 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is a great budget place to stay and the staff and owners truly want your stay to be the best experience it can be. Hospitality is quite evident and yet not intrusive. Everyone who works here is warm and friendly and look out for your interest while staying in Nepal. Hearty breakfasts are served on the rooftop. Tea and coffee are available throughout and great discussions can be had in the front sofas. Internet is available too. Attached to the hotel is the Black Diamond group which will easily suit your needs to the local city with a driver, guide service to the national parks, and service to sites outside the city such as Pokhara or Lumbini.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Laura, Namaste!! Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. We had a great time serving and accommodating you at our hotel, and we are glad that you had a great time too. It's great to know that you liked our travel services too. We will try our best to do even better in future. Hope to see you in future. All the best. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A good hotel with good services. Clean room, convenient traffic, delicious breakfast, and good help on journey planning. Their staff are very nice to guests, and gave us many help and good services on planning visit to Pokhara and Lumbini.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinCaoxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Kevin, Namaste! Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that you liked our hotel and the services. Definitely, your compliments will be a delight to all our staffs and motivate them to work even harder and efficiently. I have shared this with all our staffs and they are extremely happy to know. We look forward to see you in future and provide you even better services. All the best. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in Backyard Hotel for three days and I must say that it is the best hotel in whole Thamel area. It is next to endless number of restaurants and you could not ask for more what you pay. The owner of the hotel is very friendly and try to help in your trip. I must say, a great hotel with great room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anurag s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Anurag, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It is great to see your compliments even after a year. We have not forgotten you and the nice time we had serving you at our small hotel. We had a lovely time with you and we are glad that you felt the same. Hope you are doing great there. Would definitely love to see you again in future at Backyard. Take care till then.

Regards,
SUNIL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Free pickup from the airport. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. Location is one of the best parts as it is in the center of everything! Hotel provides private car for tours around the city with very competitive prices. Really good free breakfast on the rooftop of hotel. Hotel is a great value for the budget traveler!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rambi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Rambi, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was great to have you guys at our hotel. We had a great time accommodating you at our hotel and glad you had the same staying here. We expect to see you in future. Have a great time till then. Cheers !!

regards,
SUNIL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

At first I didn't expect the hotel to be that good. When I reached there I was surprised to see the standard of the hotel. The service they provide is very good. When I was there I didn't feel like I am in Nepal. The experience that I have during the stay at the hotel is unforgettable. I would recommend to any tourists going to Nepal. It's just a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room no 303 would be an excellent choice as it has a comfy big bed, A/C, fridge, balcony and a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Amesh, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It is great to get these compliments of yours. We are glad that we were able to provide you beyond your expectations. We will surely like to see you again in future. Have a great time till then. Thank you.

Kind Regard,
SUNIL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Though Backyard hotel is an international tourist hotel located in the main tourist centre of Nepal...Thamel, and me being the only Nepalese guest staying at the hotel, they gave me no chance to feel like I was a local here and no discrimination( ...which I have experienced in most tourist hotels in Thamel). Exceptionally clean and good rooms and the staffs make you feel like a VIP. Service is totally worth the money they charge.

I love staying in Thamel whenever I come to Kathmandu and I've found the perfect place from now on. Will surely stay here again in my next visit and hope it will be the same. Would like to thank the Backyard staffs for everything....

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bivekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at OYO 115 Hotel Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Bivek, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. We are very glad to know that you liked our hotel. It was great to accommodate you in our hotel. Definitely, all our guests are the same for us. It doesn't matter which part of the world you are from. Our only target is our customer service and their satisfaction. Hope to see you again in future. Till then have a nice time wherever you are. Thank you.

Kind Regards,
SUNIL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
574 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Hotel Encounter Nepal
#29 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#16 of 210 in Kathmandu
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OYO 115 Hotel Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OYO 115 Hotel Backyard

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Backyard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $18 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — OYO 115 Hotel Backyard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backyard Hotel is situated in a bustling tourist area of Thamel in a very convenient location for everything that a tourist might be looking for, the best restaurants, shopping, the best bookshops and the tourist bus stop. This 40 roomed hotel offers excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment where you will find people eager to please you all the time. Mixed dormitory, budget, standard, deluxe and super deluxe rooms are available for booking. Just 5 km away from the TIA, a free airport pickup is provided by the hotel if requested in advance via e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your OYO 115 Hotel Backyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing