We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, great staff! Perfect hotel!”
Review of Backyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Backyard Hotel
Ranked #18 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing value, great staff! Perfect hotel!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Free pickup from the airport. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. Location is one of the best parts as it is in the center of everything! Hotel provides private car for tours around the city with very competitive prices. Really good free breakfast on the rooftop of hotel. Hotel is a great value for the budget traveler!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Rambi, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was great to have you guys at our hotel. We had a great time accommodating you at our hotel and glad you had the same staying here. We expect to see you in future. Have a great time till then. Cheers !!

regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    129
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
33
136
147
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

At first I didn't expect the hotel to be that good. When I reached there I was surprised to see the standard of the hotel. The service they provide is very good. When I was there I didn't feel like I am in Nepal. The experience that I have during the stay at the hotel is unforgettable. I would recommend to any tourists going to Nepal. It's just a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room no 303 would be an excellent choice as it has a comfy big bed, A/C, fridge, balcony and a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Amesh, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It is great to get these compliments of yours. We are glad that we were able to provide you beyond your expectations. We will surely like to see you again in future. Have a great time till then. Thank you.

Kind Regard,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Though Backyard hotel is an international tourist hotel located in the main tourist centre of Nepal...Thamel, and me being the only Nepalese guest staying at the hotel, they gave me no chance to feel like I was a local here and no discrimination( ...which I have experienced in most tourist hotels in Thamel). Exceptionally clean and good rooms and the staffs make you feel like a VIP. Service is totally worth the money they charge.

I love staying in Thamel whenever I come to Kathmandu and I've found the perfect place from now on. Will surely stay here again in my next visit and hope it will be the same. Would like to thank the Backyard staffs for everything....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bivekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Bivek, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. We are very glad to know that you liked our hotel. It was great to accommodate you in our hotel. Definitely, all our guests are the same for us. It doesn't matter which part of the world you are from. Our only target is our customer service and their satisfaction. Hope to see you again in future. Till then have a nice time wherever you are. Thank you.

Kind Regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

O my goodness. I got more than what I expected at this place. Friendly employees, greatest Customer Services. People here are working as a team. The place looks great and clean. Every time I go to Nepal, I never miss that place. Simply Wonderful.

It is the Spot baby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bire Ndra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Bire Ndra P, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. Nice to know that you had a good time staying our hotel. We really like your friendly attitude. I will surely share this with our staffs. Looking forward to see you in future and provide better services. Best of luck.

Kind Regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just checked in and m floored with the attitude, politeness and approach of all the staff of this hotel. Despite me changing the plans and date and duration, they just accommodated to all that I asked for and also upgraded. complimentary airport transfers, breakfast, In the heart of Thamel, yet on a quite lane, big clean room with hot and cold water, A/C, ensuite, you just get the double of what u pay...THese guys they understand your needs....Their Manager Mr. Sunil is very very helpful yet professional.. This is the first time I am writing a review just after check in because this hotel and the staff just made me so bound to do so with their service. I dont care what breakfast they serve me tomorrow, Or if it is hot or cold, but all I care is that these guys make you satisfied and happy right from the doorstep. Thank you guys!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitwikK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Ritwik and Madam, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank your for your wonderful review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have met you guys. We would absolutely try our best in making you stay more pleasant the next time you come here. All the best till then. Cheers !!!

Good Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

It was my first time to Nepal so I wanted something not too expensive and reasonably close to stuff. This property fit the bill.

Durga and his staff were way above and beyond. You see, the power is on a rolling outage that leaves the main power off several times during the day and night. The hotel has a battery unit that keeps a couple of lights on during these outages. My problem is during the night. You see, I sleep with a CPAP machine (a medical device) that needs power to operate. When the power goes off at its scheduled time during the night so does my machine. Now here's the way above and beyond part, Durga made arrangements with his electrician to change the battery power so that it powered up the outlet that my CPAP was plugged in to. What awesome service!!

We also had a little problem when we first arrived. My wife has hip issues and can't climb too many stairs. The hotel had reserved a nice room on the 3rd or 4th floor but we couldn't climb to that one so they graciously gave us a lesser room on the first floor. Unfortunately, it was just above the traffic and the noises from the neighborhood woke us real early.

All-in-all it was a very pleasant hotel with the amenities I expect for Nepal and India.

Great job Durga!

Room Tip: If you can climb the stairs take a top room. The view is great in the early morning and the patio o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Jim, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service.

I have shared your words with all our crews and they really glad. Thank you for your encouragement. We at Backyard are delighted to hear that we once again succeeded in making our guest stay a memorable experience. We will keep thriving. We hope to see you in future.

Best Regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands, uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile


The backyard was much better than the Eco thamel resort next door. The reasons being that Gurda and his team are very friendly and helpful to all their guests. If you needed any advise or help with anything they were there to assist. The rooms are fairly basic but thats what you get in katmandu. It was functional and the breakfast served on the roof terrace was excellent. They provide as much tea and coffee and you can drink 24/7. There is no lift in the hotel and the rooms go right up to the sixth floor. As we were trekking for 10 days we found the excersise did us good. On the Sunday after we arrived Gurda the manager arranged for a driver to take us around the sights of katmandu which worked out better than doing an organised tour. We had our own driver and spent as much time as we liked visiting the temples and shrines. The monkey temple was the best. Would highly recommend the backyard hotel to anyone visiting katmandu. A special thank you to Sagar on reception who was brilliant and spoke very good English. Would not hesitate to stay there again if in Nepal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_fearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Julie and John, Namaste !!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel !!!

Thank you for your review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a wonderful time we had with you guys. I have shared this with all our crews and they are really glad.

We are grateful for your patronage and we appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. We have enjoyed serving you and would love to serve you better again!

Best wishes
Sunil Manandhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
627 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 198 in Kathmandu
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#19 of 198 in Kathmandu
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#9 of 198 in Kathmandu
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Property: Backyard Hotel
Address: Chibihal Street | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backyard Hotel is situated in a bustling tourist area of Thamel in a very convenient location for everything that a tourist might be looking for, the best restaurants, shopping, the best bookshops and the tourist bus stop. This 40 roomed hotel offers excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment where you will find people eager to please you all the time. Mixed dormitory, budget, standard, deluxe and super deluxe rooms are available for booking. Just 5 km away from the TIA, a free airport pickup is provided by the hotel if requested in advance via e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing