We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel”
Review of Backyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Backyard Hotel
Ranked #17 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A great budget hotel! Clean, hot water, great location in Thamel. Hospitality is a priority for the manager and staff. Pretty rooftop patio. The electricity is hit and miss, but it's like that throughout Kathmandu. Highly recommended. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in satisfying you in all ways and you had a good time here. We would love to do the same always. I have shared this review with all our staffs and they are really pleased to know this. You compliments are definitely going to motivate us to work harder and also help other guests like you to make the correct choice for the correct place for a nice time in Kathmandu. Looking forward to see you again. Till then have a great time there. All the best. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    129
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
33
136
146
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

You can certainly find a cheaper budget hotel in Kathmandu, but if you're looking for a clean hotel with piping hot water and great location, then this is it. We did have a few hick-ups,
like the TV never worked, most of the outlets didn't work, and the overpriced travel-agency next to the lobby harassed us every time we entered or exited the hotel. It was also quite noisy at night due to a bar next door, so I slept with ear plugs. But the room was good and clean, and the breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristiDNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in satisfying you in all ways and you had a good time here. We would love to do the same always. I have shared this review with all our staffs and they are really pleased to know this. You compliments are definitely going to motivate us to work harder and also help other guests like you to make the correct choice for the correct place for a nice time in Kathmandu. Looking forward to see you again. Till then have a great time there. All the best. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent the first night at backyard before our "Nepal adventure", and also stayed there after we finished most of our trip and got back to Kathmandu. It was our first time to Nepal. There was strike that day, but we were not affected by it at all, because the warm and thoughtful hotel staff Sagar was waiting for us right in front the arrival area even thought we were almost 2 hours late than they expected. Our room was very clean with a little balcony. The hot shower was great! Wifi was stable . Breakfast was simple but healthy. The owner Durga and the manger Chandan helped us arranging our trip, so we could sit back and relax. Durga called us while we were traveling to other cities to make sure we were safe and satisfied with the arrangement. He makes us feel like we have a family in Kathmandu who is always care and concern. All the staffs were really friendly and helpful. We loved their service. The experience stayed in Backyard Hotel made our Nepal trip very warm and memorable. Thank you all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happy4echo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in satisfying you in all ways and you had a good time here. We would love to do the same always. I have shared this review with all our staffs and they are really pleased to know this. You compliments are definitely going to motivate us to work harder and also help other guests like you to make the correct choice for the correct place for a nice time in Kathmandu. Looking forward to see you again. Till then have a great time there. All the best. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was at Nepal for business trip. First week, we stayed at backyard hotel. Hotel is in the middle of Thamel, close to key-points, shops, taxi, markets, restaurants, bars and massage centers )) we had called otel on-time so they picked us up from airport and provided us a nice trip from airport to hotel within an air-conditioned car. Rooms are quite nice and relax, also service to room is good.

Second and third weeks we went to other cities, Hetauda and Pokhara for business. Backyard Hotel owner Durga Lal provided us all neccesary things that we need; rental car&jeep, plane tickets, hotel in other cities. I was aware that he was helping others like helping us. Two girls were asking for Nepali tatoo and Durga dropped them of to tatoo center.

Prices were good enough but the best thing was hospitality. In general, Nepali people are nice and hospitable but Durga Lal is the most. He dropped us off to airport himself by his own car. And he waited us to get in plane and fly without any problem.

I had lived in Kathmandu for 15 months but i didnt know Durga Lal and Backyard Hotel before. I wish i had met before and i could stay at his hotel. But i have more trips to Nepal in future. I will keep in touch with him and i will do business with them.

Thanks to the Backyard Hotel guys for the nice days at Nepal,
Ferdi Bulbul

Room Tip: Room at the roof has good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdi_Bulbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in satisfying you in all ways and you had a good time here. We would love to do the same always. I have shared this review with all our staffs and they are really pleased to know this. You compliments are definitely going to motivate us to work harder and also help other guests like you to make the correct choice for the correct place for a nice time in Kathmandu. Looking forward to see you again. Till then have a great time there. All the best. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Backyard Hotel is extremely good value for money- clean rooms, clean bathrooms,hot water, air-conditioning, free wi-fi in rooms and common areas, amazing hearty breakfast ( included) on the rooftop terrace. The staff could not do enough to make your stay memorable. Sunil the hotel's Manager and Durga the hotel's Director treat you more like family than a guest of the hotel. Durga made arrangements for us for flights to Everest, car hire, sightseeing, airport pick up and drop-off etc.He made the sightseeing planning of Kathmandu and the surrounding areas very easy to manage. The guests are international and we enjoyed chatting every morning over breakfast with the many guest of the hotel - a Doctor from Ohio, a Dentist from Israel, a Nurse from Germany, and of course great chats with Durga. I would recommend the Backyard Hotel to anyone looking for a reasonable priced hotel that is clean, friendly and in a great location. Sheila, Toronto Canada

Room Tip: The lower priced rooms do not have bathrooms in the room it is outside the rooms, and if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in satisfying you in all ways and you had a good time here. We would love to do the same always. I have shared this review with all our staffs and they are really pleased to know this. You compliments are definitely going to motivate us to work harder and also help other guests like you to make the correct choice for the correct place for a nice time in Kathmandu. Looking forward to see you again. Till then have a great time there. All the best. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eningen unter Achalm, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

nice rooms, friendly staff and reliable power backup. Really enjoyed the talks with the owner who was giving us great advice in what to see and do and who was always very kind (just like the rest of the staff). the place is (as the Name suggests) in a backyard, so it is quieter than the places along the roadside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziel-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in satisfying you in all ways and you had a good time here. We would love to do the same always. I have shared this review with all our staffs and they are really pleased to know this. You compliments are definitely going to motivate us to work harder and also help other guests like you to make the correct choice for the correct place for a nice time in Kathmandu. Looking forward to see you again. Till then have a great time there. All the best. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I really loved staying at Backyard Hotel. It's in a great location but tucked away so it has a sense of privacy. The staff is what makes the Hotel too. They treat you like family and always have a smile on their face. The breakfast on the rooftop terrace is wonderful. I have a great memories from the my stay there and thanks to all the staff. Make sure you meet Sagar ..he is too cute ! :))

Room Tip: Room 101 is Great if you don't like a lot of steps...but will be a bit noisier since you are 1 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in satisfying you in all ways and you had a good time here. We would love to do the same always. I have shared this review with all our staffs and they are really pleased to know this. You compliments are definitely going to motivate us to work harder and also help other guests like you to make the correct choice for the correct place for a nice time in Kathmandu. Looking forward to see you again. Till then have a great time there. All the best. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#23 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#9 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Property: Backyard Hotel
Address: Chibihal Street | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backyard Hotel is situated in a bustling tourist area of Thamel in a very convenient location for everything that a tourist might be looking for, the best restaurants, shopping, the best bookshops and the tourist bus stop. This 40 roomed hotel offers excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment where you will find people eager to please you all the time. Mixed dormitory, budget, standard, deluxe and super deluxe rooms are available for booking. Just 5 km away from the TIA, a free airport pickup is provided by the hotel if requested in advance via e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing