We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased”
Review of Backyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Backyard Hotel
Ranked #21 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed in this nice hotel in november this year . I was so pleased to find everything I needed . Perfect location , excellent price / value relation , clean and friendly staff . especially manager Sujan enables every effort to be of support for all needs . Can just recommend this place for any stay in Kathmandu - a home away from home .
Elke from Austria

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank elkeFGraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest from Austria, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
There are newer reviews for Backyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 596 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed again in Backyard hotel and enjoyed the great hospitality from the whole staff as well as from the manager Sujan . The hotel has a great location well within Thamel and all attractiones , restaurants etc. are within walking distance . Clean , good price for the value which is offered we just can reccommend this place for any stay in Kathmandu . Great !!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Bindechr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SujanLamichhane, Owner at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear Christian
Namaste and Greetings from Backyard Hotel.!!!!!

I am really glad to see your review on trip advisor, thank you so much for your valuable time to share your experience with backyard hotel. Of course, we do focus the customer care and also try to present a Nepalese hospitality.
Anyway, thanks for staying with us. Hopefully I will get a chance to help you on coming future. Take care.
Best Regards
Sujan Lamichhane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The staff were very polite and helpful , nice breakfast on the rooftop , rooms spacious and clean comfortable beds , hot showers. , free tea and newspaper ..reasonably priced have stayed here twice and will return ..

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bobbysox66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest from Scotland, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed 3 nights and was not overly pleased with the hotel. Shared bathroom; no hot water; opposite night club; noisy staff; dirty kitchen; meagre breakfast; no lift...saying all this, it is central to Thamel so everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Get a room with en suite.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AstralTraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest from New Zealand, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are really sorry for the inconvenience you had at our hotel. We will make sure this does not happen again in the future. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I had a very pleasant stay at the backyard : it's very good value for money ! the hotel is located in the center of thamel where you can find everything you need for your trek and meet a lot of people. the rooms are very clean and are cleaned every day. the shower is very hot all the day long. there is free wifi and very good complimentary breakfast that you can have on the roof top with nice view ! the staff is very friendly and helpfull especialy the manager dipendra who knows very well the mountains (and all the treks) and the city... he can arrange everything for you ! i highly recommand this hotel !

Room Tip: ask a room at first or fifth floor for top wifi in the room !
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest from India, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We came here without a reservation, just walking around searching for a place to stay that was cheaper than the two hotels we stayed at before. We got a room for 20USD and stayed in total six nights.
The Backyard Hotel was cleaner and more comfortable than the two more expensive hotels in Thamel that we experienced before: the rooms are clean with fairly new furniture and good beds, and even the cheapest ones are pretty comfortable and big. The staff are friendly (very young guys, always with a smile) and helpful with taxis, directions, advice, anything you can think of. The breakfast on the rooftop comes with a beautiful sunrise and is included in the room price. Free luggage storage (stored for more than two weeks, no problems) and free WiFi are also there. What is worth a comment is that until 10 or 11p.m. there's some pretty loud music from the bars around - later than that the music stops and the night is as quite as it could be in Thamel.

Room Tip: Rooms on top may have a sunrise view
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebschaedler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest from Germany, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Good location, comfortable bed, clean helpful staff, good value for low price. BUT Not for those wishing to enjoy a cullinary experience: basic breakfast dirty kitchen. Not for those with impaire mobility. One set of stairs no lift. Had to chase around for airport transfer.

Room Tip: Best room at the top of 90 steps! Probably good practice for the treckers but not for the mobility i...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank AussieJohn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest from UAE, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 207 in Kathmandu
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 207 in Kathmandu
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 207 in Kathmandu
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#24 of 207 in Kathmandu
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Hotel Encounter Nepal
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Address: Chibihal Street | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $18 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backyard Hotel is situated in a bustling tourist area of Thamel in a very convenient location for everything that a tourist might be looking for, the best restaurants, shopping, the best bookshops and the tourist bus stop. This 40 roomed hotel offers excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment where you will find people eager to please you all the time. Mixed dormitory, budget, standard, deluxe and super deluxe rooms are available for booking. Just 5 km away from the TIA, a free airport pickup is provided by the hotel if requested in advance via e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing