We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“swayambunath temple is in nice place...”

Swayambhunath Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Kathmandu Darbar Square and Swayambhunath Temple
Ranked #3 of 174 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Karwar, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“swayambunath temple is in nice place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

visited this trmple in oct-2013 , this temple contains good numbers of tourists, i appreciate this site. because in all directions we can view kathmandu city. very nice place, i like principles of budha, who is a peace lover. we sat there more than ahour, lot of monkeys are there. so dont use any type of foods in the premise. monkeys may attack ...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mohang23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,431
    1,218
    261
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

It's in a walking distance from Thamel but the way was a bit confusing, it might be my fault though. There's a high steep stair to the temple but it's worth climbing since you can get a really good view of Kathmandu from up there, and the temple itself was also interesting.

There're lots of monkeys and I found that they're cute, compared to monkeys in Indonesia, and didn't feel like they'll bite me like my friend said at all. Anyway, being careful is better than being careless.

The sellers along the way up to the temple might annoy you sometime, but if you just said "No, thank you.", they'd understand you easily.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SiawjernHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Monkey Temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Well worth climbing all those stairs! Beware of the monkeys though, they can be aggressive. impressive view of Katmandu from the top. One of my favourite places to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwattsvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great view with lots of moneys and birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

lots of steps, monkeys, and birds while climbing up. but the view is really nice, and the temples are worth visiting as well. go by another way to exit, you will past by a wishing pond. if you throw your money where its suppose to land, your wish will come true. I heard the locals explaining to other people. why not?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaylin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maona, null, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always packed. But a fun, quick trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The "Monkey Temple" is filled with tourists and quite a few people hassling you to hire them as a guide or sell you things, but its still worth the trip. Its definitely filled with monkeys and the temple itself is quite pretty. There is a small fee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swayambhunath Temple also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Swayambhunath Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing