We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monkey temple”

Swayambhunath Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Kathmandu Darbar Square and Swayambhunath Temple
Ranked #3 of 174 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Monkey temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The views are quite nice, and one of our group saw a monkey dive into a pool of water. The walk up the stairs is quite long, a lot of people beg at the bottom of the stairs which is a bit intimidating and one of our friends got hustled out of Rs1000 when we were at the top. Just keep your wits about you when you visit here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,431
    1,218
    261
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Watch out for the Monkeys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

In the inimitable buddhist fashion all life is respected. So, the monkeys are given free run of the place. They are crafty little blighters though. We saw one steal a Snickers from a girl's bag, and then unwrap it and eat it. This is when you know we have dented nature :(

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Funky-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
“great view and love the monkey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

we visited monkey temple , its too good , we was their on night , for katmandu valley view , its just wonderful and beautiful view .when our guide explain its histry ad about eyes of Buddha , its to important and feeling lucky to be there .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Excellent Visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Start your visit by trying to toss a coin into a jar in a fountain (hard to do!) then visit the temples above. The nickname "Monkey Temple" is well chosen - monkeys everywhere! Don't get too close while trying to take a picture; they'll grab your camera.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I like to go here sometimes when i am upset. Gives me a lot of peace. Something about this place that can not be explained.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NatShrestha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swayambhunath Temple also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Swayambhunath Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing