We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this place”

Swayambhunath Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Kathmandu Darbar Square and Swayambhunath Temple
Ranked #3 of 175 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

You must visit the two stuppas. I love this one, with trees all around and the monkeys! Really special! And an amazing view from kathmandu?, you can go by walk also

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,445
    1,226
    262
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I walked from my hotel Shakti and it took me about 45 - 1 hr after getting lost.
Entry fee is paid when you are almost at the top.
Monkeys everywhere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosieJones_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
215 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Hardly worth seeing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

In years gone past I am sure that this temple would have been well worth seeing, but it is now very run down, dirty, and absolutely full of souvenir shops and touts trying to get you to pay them to be your guide (beware, most of them know little about the history or the construction of the temple). The only redeeming feature, is that on a clear day, you will get a great view of the Kathmandu city and valley.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lots of steps, few monkeys”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

At least part of the reason we visited was to see the monkeys, but there were only 2 or 3 there when we visited. Even without the monkeys, it's a wonderful place to visit with fantastic views of Kathmandu. There are many steps to climb to get to the top, so it's not for the frail.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nj_traveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“hand in pocket again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

over -view of KTM & central holy site for locals - Monkeys are a side issue but bit diasppointed in the stalls on site.
like most tourist sites we visited in KTM- free for locals but not so for tourists!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank twiceshyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swayambhunath Temple also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Swayambhunath Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing