We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Tings Lounge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tings Lounge Hotel
Ranked #22 of 440 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

On our visit to Nepal, we stayed at Tings three separate times. This is an excellent place with air / garden common spaces, in a quiet neighbor hood, and excellent breakfasts with the best coffee we had in Nepal!

Would recommend to anyone with a travel gene that doesn't expect luxury accommodations.

Room Tip: We stayed in on the second floor of the main building in three rooms (Sunny Corner, Sunny Lounge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bholzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    42
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
96
53
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This time we opted for the sunny backpacker room in the main building- a great choice.
Like last year this was a short stay pre- trek and, again, proved perfect.
The room I really liked- as stated, it's a sunny one. Bright decor, fresh white walls, comfortable beds and lots of natural light from 2 large windows. Good wifi reception.
Well situated near the guest kitchen with the bathroom just across the hall. I liked being in the main house mainly because of the proximity to kitchen and dining areas. If you want more privacy the other wing would be ideal.
Staff go above and beyond and are happy! They also have great personalities. Thomas and Annette were there and were also helpful and very welcoming. They run a great place. I like the feeling here.
Communal areas are nicely furnished and create an atmosphere where you can lounge around and meet travellers from all corners of the globe. On both occasions now we have met really good people and enjoyed a lot of interesting conversation.
Food is exceptional, breakfasts are really fresh and my mouth is watering thinking about the dinner menu.
As I said in the title - very much looking forward to a 3 rd visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice guest house in the public areas ...the lounge and porches and balconies are lovely...the staff is very nice and try very hard to please you...the breakfast is wonderful with homemade bread and some days hot bagels...lunches and dinners were also delicious......
The location is just outside of Thamel...an easy walk...the main road is under construction so I wouldn't' walk it at night.... the rooms and bathrooms are very basic...a few pictures on the walls and a couple of hooks sure would help....some rooms in the main house have small private porches...the neighbors are loud but quiet down at night...not the dogs...if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs..overall a nice place ...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Tings lodge is a short easy walk (10) mins from the main touristy area. We (2 young females) found it a safe walk at night. It's a lovely little place to hide from the craziness of Kathmandu.
We had the cupboard room, it was perfectly sufficient for backpackers. Peaceful atmosphere, lovely decorated, plenty of sitting areas inside and out. Staff really helpful. Breakfast is basic but has nice touches like fresh baked bread. Would definitely recommend to anyone. 

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_katy_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

All of the staff here are fantastic - it was quite cold during our stay and they were always willing to drag the propane tank heaters upstairs for me in the evenings. The breakfast is great and the masala omelettes are tasty. There's a great patio to sit outside in the evenings and beautiful art on the walls that you can purchase. It's situated a 10-min walk from Thamel, which is the tourist centre where all the shops are, so the hotel is nice and quiet. We walked back in the dark and had no problems. The owners were often around at breakfast for a chat and let me borrow their laptop charger too. Really great stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed for only a couple of nights late August '12 at Ting's/KTM but it was a pretty memorable stay. We and our ten year old -- a very seasoned traveler even at that young age, rates Ting's highly for their great hosts Annette and Thomas, their staff (bumped into BJ most whilst there) and even Ting's lovely cats!

As the hosts laid out clearly on their hotel blog, Ting's not pretending to be anything but a comfortable place to stay and we got that. To us what stood out was Ting's a great anchor (comfort, security and reliable first-hand information, not only on KTM but Beijing art scene etc etc) of a place especially travelling with children and/or to more exotic places like KTM. And soon at Yangon, we will look to be staying at their similar Ting's Yangon...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMT6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The first immediate reaction to Tings was "CUTE", more so cos we were 3 girls on trip. The location is great, as its in a midst of the city. Hosts are nice people, a total help on the cab bookings, arranging for pick ups etc.

This has so many cuddly lil places for you to sip a cup of tea, get lost in a book, or a chat. The interiors are very well done. We were also offered room heaters in the rooms and sitting areas, esp cos we visited in the winters.

Though the view is not that great, as this place is surrounded by residential houses on all sides, but its has a lot of quiet and peace.

Very helpful hosts, the food is good if you like continental food (mostly European), do give their bakes a try. They were yummy. I would not rate the breakfast as great, as I have had better.

You definitely need to keep a note of the electricity, as most of the time they are without power, and you cant even use a hairdryer on the back up power.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room in case you are more that 2 in a room. Also they charge differently for the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iyeraarthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#61 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tings Lounge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tings Lounge Hotel

Property: Tings Lounge Hotel
Address: 322 Nursaru Galli, House | Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tings Lounge Hotel is neither a backpacker’s hangout nor an ordinary business hotel, but something in between where the convenience of a business hotel goes hand in hand with the relaxed and comfortable ambiance of what the few luxury backpacker place you’ll find around the world. We have 10 rooms of different sizes - 4 in the newly built front house and 6 in the cozy funky-like main house from the 70s. All rooms have private bathrooms – but for the two backpacker rooms the bathrooms are not attached. And a small 2-room flat for long term stays can also be arranged. All rooms have stylish interior design: International simplicity with a Nepali/Asian touch. On the first floor in the main house the residents can relax in the large living room as well as on the huge outdoor terrace. The garden with all its flowers, cozy corners, hammocks and terraces will be for all guests. We serve breakfast and if he has the time and feels like it Thomas will make dinner for our hotel guest. If he doesn’t don’t panic! There are plenty of good restaurants and eateries nearby. Or if you prefer to eat on the premises we will of course organize take away. If you feel like cooking feel free to use our kitchen. There is of course free Wi-Fi, and we can provide photocopies, scans, projector, meeting facilities etc. So if you are on business and need a place for your meeting, and find the business hotels too big and too formal, Tings is definitely an option. If you after reading this still can’t imagine Tings – a journey through places that have inspired over the years might help. Anyway, come by and have a look for yourself. It’s open and the menu is delicious with reasonable prices. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing