We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm location outside of the city centre”
Review of Tings Lounge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tings Lounge Hotel
Ranked #24 of 438 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Calm location outside of the city centre”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in Tings on our first night in Kathmandu, and found it a very calm welcome to the city. Our room was clean, airy, and relaxed. Additionally the snacks and drinks which we ordered were very tasty and fresh. The hotel has a small garden where you can have a nice breakfast and play with the kitten. The staff were also very helpful to us when we asked for trip advice.

Tings is definitely one of the more expensive options for this category of this type that we found in Nepal, but good if you want one day of peace before or after your flight. There is a walk to the city centre, but only of approx 10 minutes.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CatherineOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    42
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
96
53
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'll start with the good:

Most of the staff was really nice.
Breakfast and food in general were great. Loved the salads.
The decor in the public areas were cool. Really liked it.

The bad:

We arrived at the hotel at about midnight after 24 hours of travel. We did not have hot water, so we were forced to take a cold shower. This was fixed hte very next day, but it was not a warm welcome - pun intended.
We had the Golden Room. Apparently it's right next to the office and kitchen. They would have done us a huge favor if they'd informed us beforehand of this little fact. I would never have made a reservation. We were woken at about 06:30 to the sounds of chopping and other kitchen activities. I told one of the staff about this later, and he apologized, but the very same thing happened the very next morning. At night, the staff were pretty noisy in the kitchen. I had to go out in my PJs and ask them to be quiet so that I could sleep.

There I basic things I need when I'm in a hotel: a clean, spacious room, hot water, and quiet for a good night rest. Ting's did not fulfill the basics.

I have no idea how it's the number 1 B&B in Kathmandu. I don't understand how other guests did not say anything about this room in Tripadvisor and I'm extremely disappointed that I was not informed beforehand that this was the only room available (I made the reservation about 2-3 months in advance).

I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Golden Room, unless you don't mind the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jehonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tingstrup, Owner at Tings Lounge Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Regarding hot water
We normally have 24 hr hot water without using a generator. We have a system with a combined solar and electrical water heater.

However

IF all guests take showers during the same hours, and IF that happens after sunset and IF that happens during load shedding (when there is NO electricity) our hot water tanks sometimes run our of water. In these occasions we have extra back-up from a generator.
IF that situation occurs late in the evening after our guests have gone to bed we have a dilemma: Shall we start up the generator and wake up everybody or shall we wait until the next day knowing that guests who might need a shower after midnight have no hot water?


Regarding the Golden Room
This is what we write on the description of the room on our website/TingsBlog DOT COM

NB:
The room is next to the kitchen… so it’s a bit noisy in the mornings which is OK for most travelers who get up early – but a bit annoying for travelers who like to get up late…


/Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is great for the weary traveller in Kathmandu who are willing to pay more for
1.nice, homely decorated room and environment
2. A hot shower that works (not always so in Nepal)
3. Good breakfast (the honey concoction is amazing) and not the Nepalese western version :)
4. Friendly staff and owner

What you won't get:
1) no pick up service. So make sure you get a written direction and a number for the taxi driver to call because address don't work in Nepal.
2) tour selling services ;)

Basically I enjoyed my stay tremendously especially when you spent 3 weeks in tea lodges accommdatiom. it was a nice break from it.l

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellipses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ting's Tea Lounge Hotel/ guesthouse is an oasis of comparative peace. This place of calm is set about 100m down a quiet side street in the upmarket district of Lazimpat amongst nice 3+ storied middle class houses and apartments. The Danish couple, Thomas and Annette, who own this Bed & Breakfast, have created nice cozy and bright rooms, most with private bathrooms, as well as many, many welcoming, colourful, cushioned ooks and terraces for relaxing- there are more than 6 sun-dappled couch areas inside, three hammock areas, two sunny terraces, areas with deck-chairs and outside lounges, two blue-tiled outdoor areas with comfortable lounging chairs, cushions and rugs for chilly evenings, and a few secret table areas for writing, chatting and eating. Blissfully, Wifi is available in all the rooms and relaxation areas. The rooms vary from tight and bathroomless but bright rooms to semi-studios. I spent 2 nights in the Top Lounge, an huge airy room with sitting area and private balcony complete with hammock. I spent another two nights in the Sunny Lounge on the first floor- the room was smaller but had a floor seating nook next to the windows that allowed sun to flood in from late morning for the remainder of the day. The beds are comfortable and the doonas cozy. The drawbacks of the rooms on the first floor are the occassional noise- the noise and smells from the kitchen travels to the rooms at the back (Sunny Lounge and Sunny Corner), while the chatter of guests sitting at the central table in the foyer and on the wide chill-out terrace can be heard in most of these rooms. My preference for quiet and privacy would be the White Lounge, Top Lounge or Corner Suite in the main house, and the East or West Gallery rooms located in a separate building. The bathrooms are modern, clean and have hot water constantly. The kitchen offers a simple but tasty world fusion menu, with the food prepared lovingly by the attentive, helpful and friendly staff- all young, all keen, all from difficult circumstances. The tea is of connoisseur standard- white, red, green, black, herbal, blends, some even with alcoholc tinges- all prepared to exacting standards. A tea-lovers heaven. The place is abuzz with travellers of all ages and nationalities. The B&B is surrounded by a garden of flowers, palm trees and fruit trees, which add to the oasis-like ambience in a dusty city with few trees. The staff helped me find ATMs, restauarants and places to buy what I needed. I take my hat off to the creativity, thought and love that has been put into creating a special place for relaxing, working, chilling, exploring, as well as supporting local people, local art and music, and local projects. Check-out the website at www.tingsblog.com .

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank KIMBERLEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here(two couples) for two nights. The staff were friendly but didn't really go out of their way, the rooms were adequate and clean, but, the water system in both the rooms we had was very poor. Showers ran cold then too hot, it was impossible to get it right, and in my opinion showers are second only to beds when rating accommodation.
The location was good and relatively quiet although this also means a bit of a hike for restaurants.
All in all an ok experience but not up to the rating on TA!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benny001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tingstrup, Owner at Tings Lounge Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
What a pity that we didn't hear about your water problems - usually a water problem is caused by a handle in a wrong position and takes 2 sec. to solve.
Likewise we would have loved to recommend some of the very good restaurants nearby - some of the best in town are within 2-5 minutes walk from Tings.
We love to talk with our guests, give recommendations etc - when the guests are open for it. Most guests love to talk and interact, but some prefer to be 'left alone' and find their own ways and own places. For us it's a very delicate balance to give the right amount of attention to each guest. Sorry we didn't get it right this time.
Tings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Tings hotel is a very nice and quiet place in a very noisy city. When you arrive, you feel like you escape Katmandou. The garden and the terrasse are very nice. You can have a piece of cake and a cup of tea enjoying the sun (We recommend the banana cake and the herbal tea). The homemade bread is wonderful as well.
The whole staff is extremely nice and helpful. Then answered all our questions and solve our all issues. They also gave us precious advices.
The place is very neat and decorated with taste. Bathrooms are very nice with real hot water (which is not always the case in Katmandou).
We also had dinner at Tings. Food is good and it is a nice place to relax after a long day in the city.
The place is so nice that we came back our last afternoon just to have a tea and a piece of homemade cake in the garden while waiting for our flight.

Room Tip: Rooms in the second building are next to the street (a little noise - very quiet compared to the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Started trip in Nepal here, calm, clean and green oasis in ktm. Away from thamel main tourist district 15 min walk. The staff employed are so efficient and demonstrate good hospitality skills, owners nice but a bit auspicious not super warm. Breakfast was amazing as is the food in general, Only issues are 2 rooms downstairs are somewhat noisy in morning and dogs are noisy at night but expected, the bed was a bit of a lumpy futon. It's a little average fr the extra price asked compared to some other similar options. All in all though id go back for the serenity, food and quality staff members

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cascade Pvt. Ltd.
Hotel Cascade Pvt. Ltd.
#144 of 201 in Kathmandu
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gangjong
Hotel Gangjong
#159 of 201 in Kathmandu
47 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tibet
Hotel Tibet
#39 of 201 in Kathmandu
450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#111 of 201 in Kathmandu
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tings Lounge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tings Lounge Hotel

Property: Tings Lounge Hotel
Address: 322 Nursaru Galli, House | Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tings Lounge Hotel is neither a backpacker’s hangout nor an ordinary business hotel, but something in between where the convenience of a business hotel goes hand in hand with the relaxed and comfortable ambiance of what the few luxury backpacker place you’ll find around the world. We have 10 rooms of different sizes - 4 in the newly built front house and 6 in the cozy funky-like main house from the 70s. All rooms have private bathrooms – but for the two backpacker rooms the bathrooms are not attached. And a small 2-room flat for long term stays can also be arranged. All rooms have stylish interior design: International simplicity with a Nepali/Asian touch. On the first floor in the main house the residents can relax in the large living room as well as on the huge outdoor terrace. The garden with all its flowers, cozy corners, hammocks and terraces will be for all guests. We serve breakfast and if he has the time and feels like it Thomas will make dinner for our hotel guest. If he doesn’t don’t panic! There are plenty of good restaurants and eateries nearby. Or if you prefer to eat on the premises we will of course organize take away. If you feel like cooking feel free to use our kitchen. There is of course free Wi-Fi, and we can provide photocopies, scans, projector, meeting facilities etc. So if you are on business and need a place for your meeting, and find the business hotels too big and too formal, Tings is definitely an option. If you after reading this still can’t imagine Tings – a journey through places that have inspired over the years might help. Anyway, come by and have a look for yourself. It’s open and the menu is delicious with reasonable prices. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing