We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a breakfast.”
Review of Chikusa Cafe

Chikusa Cafe
Ranked #5 of 20 Coffee & Tea in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place for a breakfast.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nice place for a breakfast.
Good coffee and pancakes (grilled cheese sandwich – not so much).
Bathroom could be cleaner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank BOPOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    38
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy little coffeeshop with good Nepali coffee”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Since Cafe Chikusa is ranked so highly, and by coincidence just by the hotel I'm in, I thought I would hunt it down. It wasn't difficult to find, and it doesn't disappoint.

The first thing you notice when you step in is the lovely smells of fried omelette and coffee intermingling. The set up is charmingly simple with a counter and a couple of tables where they can squeeze them. Sitting at the counter gives you a great view of the work behind, orchestrated like an old coffee house with aluminum kettles and pots, and old school sandwich presses on the stove.

I had the breakfast set which comes with coffee, thick toast, an omelette and a sausage link. The omelette and toast were pretty tasty, the sausage nothing to crow about, but the coffee was excellent - thick, black, very similar to Kopi-O in Singapore.

I'm having an enjoyable and lazy breakfast here watching customers - both tourists and locals - stream in and out. It's a great place to look out for if you're in the area. I'll be back again before I leave!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best coffe in Nepal (and the world?)”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Been looking for a good cup of coffee since we arrived in nepal. And sure, the organic coffee served everywhere is better than nescafe. But not by far. So when I ordered the coffee here my expectations were low. But was I wrong.. their coffee... THEIR COFFEE.... It's in class with the better coffee we have in sweden. And that is GOOD! Strong, tasty and not very watery. Also, you get skimmed warm milk of good quality if you want. For coffeelovers - go here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unfortunately didn't meet expectations”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visited in April 2013. After reading a wealth of positive reviews about this place, was keen to visit to see for myself. Unfortunately left a little disappointed and won't be returning. This place is by no means bad, it's just probably not worth going out of your way for, as I did. Had the Chikusa Set Breakfast (210rs) and Ice Lemon Tea (90rs).

The breakfast was a couple of eggs, some toast (thick - probably the meal's highlight) and a sorry little lukewarm 'sausage' with coffee. Reviewers have been raving about the coffee here and I suppose it's all relative - probably very good for Nepal, but doesn't hold a candle to anything you'd get in a city of similar size in the western world. You'd need to really be hanging for coffee to seek this place out over a myriad of other places in the immediate vicinity. All that being said, for 210rs you can't really expect much more. The Ice Lemon Tea was reasonable, but not worth writing home about. All in all a very middle of the road experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thisisseriousmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great little place for coffee”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I learned about this place from Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint. The coffee and tea are fantastic. I had the crepe both times I was there and it was really good. Fair price too. Nice little joint for a good cup of coffee!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiaOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chikusa Cafe also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu Valley, Bagmati Zone
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Chikusa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing