We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food, reasonable price, great atmosphere”

Gaia Restaurant & Coffee Shop
Ranked #13 of 715 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe, International, European, Asian, Nepali, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Gaia Restaurant & Coffee Shop is specialized in Eurasian cuisine. We offer various breakfast sets and a large choice for your lunch or dinner. Besides that, we offer fresh, organic coffee and various teas, salads and cakes. Inside & outside dining In the sun, in the shadow or inside. Alone, as a couple or with a group. We provide you plenty of seating options, both in- and outside. Various daily newspapers At Gaia you can catch up with the daily news from Nepal and the world. Next to a number of Nepali newspapers we offer three English dailies: The Kathmandu Post, The Himalayan Times and Republica. The Kathmandu Post The Himalayan Times Republica Free Wi-fi Check your e-mail, update your blog and keep track of your Facebook and other social media with our free wi-fi. Ask our staff for the password.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent food, reasonable price, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I won't say any of the food i have tried here will knock your socks off, but they are decent and I like that the main Almost always comes with a side salad or a generous serving of vegetables. Prices are really reasonable, and service and atmosphere are both great.

If I can only have one meal in Thamel this would probably not be my top choice but if you are around the area and have a few days in Thamel I dont think you will be disappointed dining here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZGL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    345
    69
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gaia Restaurant Kathmandu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I researched for a restaurant with good reviews from the comfort of my home before embarking on our first trip to Nepal. Gaia Restaurant filled the bill so we collected directions and our map and headed out in the Thamel to find ourselves a comfortable, reliable place to eat. We found it with no trouble and were delighted with the whole experience. The food was plentifull and tasty. Very reasonably priced. We found sitting in the courtyard surrounded by trees to be a relaxing experience that we repeated several times during our stay. The staff was friendly and even though it was busy they were efficient and prompt. The only downside to each visit was that we had to ask for our bill but that really was minor. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for value and convenience and good food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hothiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was by far the best meal in Kathmandu, there was five of us all had different dishes each dish was delicious. We even had Apple pie for dessert. The menu is so varied you cannot help finding something you will like. Service is so friendly and the cost was so..... Good

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheil16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Welcome back"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Tasty and hygenic food for multinational tastes. Friendly efficient service and owners who are both attentive and pitch in in all ways - including being a message service for those of us who find Gaia a global meeting place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoriMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good deal for your money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Gaia restaurant was very cheap. My husband and I both got the American breakfasts, which consisted of 2 eggs, brown toast with butter and jam, seasoned potatoes, bacon and coffee or tea. I got the coffee and my husband got the mint tea. The food was all good...I liked the brown bread quite a bit...it was dense and really filling compared to a lot of the other bread that was light and airy. The coffee is REAL coffee..not instant Nescafé! Hooray!

The restaurant is a little tricky to find as it's off the main road...look for the GAIA sign. The courtyard was nice, especially after shopping and walking around all day. The service was great. One thing we noticed about Kathmandu is how long food takes to come out, but it was actually really quick here. We did notice that the table next to us, which arrived after us, got their coffee and tea from our waiter before we did, but what can you do?

Overall, I wouldn't say this food or restaurant setting was spectacular, but breakfast and coffee for 2 for $6.50 USD is pretty nice, and for that price I would definitely go back.

P.S. - The mint lemonade was great. Sort of felt like we were drinking mojitos for breakfast! :-)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaia Restaurant & Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Gaia Restaurant & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing