We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shechen Guest House
Ranked #172 of 470 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at Shechen guesthouse is mid april for 4 nights. It's a perfect oasis in Boudha, the quietest place I stayed in during my Nepal trip with a beautiful little garden for relaxing and at a reasonable price.A welcome oasis where the garden is carefully pruned and swept everyday and you can enjoy some fresh air even though you are just up the road from the dusty streets of kathmandu city. I paid around 880 rupees which included a simple, tasty breakfast too. The onsite vegetarian restaurant serves delicious food but it is overpriced compared to the excellent food one can get outside the Shechen complex. The room was very clean,simple and cosy with tibetan fabric throws on the beds and the hot water available round the clock. On the second floor there's a small library largely dominated by books about buddhism and tibet but also some fiction too. An added bonus to the peaceful, civilised atmosphere is that there is good security with someone manning the gate all night. It's also really nice that alot of the monks from the monastery next door tend to come to spend time in the garden and at the restaurant so optional interesting conversations about dharma :) One should be prepared however that the peaceful atmosphere is affected during early morning puja, when one can hear the familiar sound of conch shells being blown and mantras being chanted not too far away but in my opinion, this just adds to the atmosphere. Guests are able to go and witness these pujas too which I would recommend.I had lots of help from the friendly reception staff with my onward travel. Local walkable sites of interest include the kopan monastery and the funerary temple complex of nearby Pashupatinath. It is also a mere 5 mins walk or less to the main central stupa. I highly recommend that you stay here, it's a great base for exploring Boudha and the kathmandu valley :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meggly34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 71 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at the Shechan guesthouse whilst staying in Boudha for a night and thought it was exceptional value. My single room cost 881 rps which included a good breakfast, a large room with double bed and reading light, hot water and the added experience of staying within the grounds of a monastry. There is a delightful vegetarian restaurant within the pretty gardens and there is a sense of calm which is very rare in Kathmandu. I liked it so much I tried to extend my staff but unfortunately it was fully booked. Reception staff helped me organise a taxi at a good rate and there is a large roof top with washing lines which is good to dry clothes.

Room Tip: I stayed on a ground floor room looking out on the garden and restaurant. I wear ear plugs when awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeward2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Shechen Guest House is the place to stay in Boudha. Set in the grounds of the Shechen monastery, it has the most beautiful well kept garden with wonderful views of the monastery and stupa from the roof. The staff are wonderful and helpful and Tashi can organise any type of trip you want including flights, bus trips and accommodation anywhere else in Nepal. The rooms are clean and comfortable with attached bathrooms, and the views to the monastery with the sun streaming into the rooms in the morning is breathtaking. The restaurant is excellent and a great place to meet people from around the world, and enjoy breakfast there each morning. Great location, lovely staff, and clean and comfortable. The best place to stay in Bouda.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Bouda. Having looked at 5 other guest houses this is by far the best in the area. Set in the Shechen Monastery compound it is quiet, safe and has a pretty garden. The vegetarian restaurant is very good and the staff are helpful.


When staying in Kathmandu it's helpful to set expectations in context. Be prepared for "load shedding" (when there is no electricity for 12 hours per day), spotty internet connectivity and the reality that you can't always have a hot shower when you want one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gcf36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in this property during the winter months - December-January.

Strengths: the other guests are very nice and it's easy to socialize with other people. Nice garden setting. Good location in the middle of Boudha near all the monasteries.

Weaknesses: most of the staff are not friendly at all. There is a real 'Buddha business' atmosphere instead of the traditional Nepali hospitality. They charge extra for everything except wifi. The staff in the garden cafe in particular are awful. It's not a place to experience Buddhism because there is not much connection to the monastery or its monks. Half of the rooms don't actually have hot water - it's lukewarm - and the rooms are colder than outside!

Room Tip: Avoid eating at their garden cafe. It's hostile and overpriced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Pros: If you plan to spend a day in the Boudhanath area in Kathmandu and don't want to pay more than $20 for accommodation, this is a viable option in terms of price and convenience. When you exit the gates of the guesthouse, there is a back alley path to the left that takes you to Boudhanath within five minutes' walk (ask reception about this). The guesthouse has a well-groomed, peaceful courtyard and a vegetarian café.

Cons: Beware if you're going in winter. The room was run-down and very cold. We were there in late December so naturally it was cold at night, but it was one of those rooms that felt almost colder indoors than outdoors. You can rent a small heater for 150 rupees but it won't help much because (a) it's tiny and weak, (b) there probably won't be power half the night, and (c) the placement of the sockets may be such that you can't place the heater close enough to yourself to make a difference. The service was also cold; reception seemed indifferent about our presence and just barely tolerated our questions.

If you think staying in a guesthouse connected to a monastery might be a "unique Nepali experience" you'll probably be disappointed with this one, unless you commit to a longer stay and actually get involved with the monastery itself in some way. But all in all, if cheap and quiet are what you're looking for this will do the trick.

Room Tip: Another reviewer commented that the café caused a lot of noise for her/his ground floor room. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carryont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

At Shechen Guest House you will find peace, Kathmandu is a very chaotic city and the guest house is a little place where you can find peacefulness. The surroundings are perfect, beautiful garden, monastery, great vegeterian restaurant. For a monastic way of living, this is perfect, the rooms are very simple, no luxury here but you will find the basic and everything is clean. If you wake up early, the monks are chanting at 6am, it is really nice to see the young monks beating drums, blowing horns and reciting their prayers, I was really impress to see that, these young men are really devoted. I like to encourage this place because they are very involved in the community, they house an art school, the Shechen Charitable Clinic and schools that offers free education for children.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SenoraPatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#64 of 210 in Kathmandu
56 reviews
3.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bodhi Guest House
Bodhi Guest House
#18 of 470 in Kathmandu
115 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shechen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shechen Guest House

Address: Boudha, Mahankal, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing