We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shechen Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$140
$123
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
$159
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
$121
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
$108
$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$22
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
$285
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$135
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
26
25
13
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
25
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshechen monasterypeaceful placeexcellent vegetarianbeautiful garden restaurantbring earplugshot waterguesthousetashiwifi
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 73 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Pros: If you plan to spend a day in the Boudhanath area in Kathmandu and don't want to pay more than $20 for accommodation, this is a viable option in terms of price and convenience. When you exit the gates of the guesthouse, there is a back alley path to the left that takes you to Boudhanath within five minutes' walk (ask reception about this). The guesthouse has a well-groomed, peaceful courtyard and a vegetarian café.

Cons: Beware if you're going in winter. The room was run-down and very cold. We were there in late December so naturally it was cold at night, but it was one of those rooms that felt almost colder indoors than outdoors. You can rent a small heater for 150 rupees but it won't help much because (a) it's tiny and weak, (b) there probably won't be power half the night, and (c) the placement of the sockets may be such that you can't place the heater close enough to yourself to make a difference. The service was also cold; reception seemed indifferent about our presence and just barely tolerated our questions.

If you think staying in a guesthouse connected to a monastery might be a "unique Nepali experience" you'll probably be disappointed with this one, unless you commit to a longer stay and actually get involved with the monastery itself in some way. But all in all, if cheap and quiet are what you're looking for this will do the trick.

Room Tip: Another reviewer commented that the café caused a lot of noise for her/his ground floor room. We were in an upstairs room and it was very quiet (aside from dogs barking but I don't blame the guesthouse for that).
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carryont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

At Shechen Guest House you will find peace, Kathmandu is a very chaotic city and the guest house is a little place where you can find peacefulness. The surroundings are perfect, beautiful garden, monastery, great vegeterian restaurant. For a monastic way of living, this is perfect, the rooms are very simple, no luxury here but you will find the basic and everything is clean. If you wake up early, the monks are chanting at 6am, it is really nice to see the young monks beating drums, blowing horns and reciting their prayers, I was really impress to see that, these young men are really devoted. I like to encourage this place because they are very involved in the community, they house an art school, the Shechen Charitable Clinic and schools that offers free education for children.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SenoraPatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in June. There was only one room available (ground floor) which was close to the restaurant so the sound of the staffs working in the kitchen would wake me up at 6 a.m. However, I believe that other rooms upstairs and far from the restaurant are relatively quiet. It was hot and the fan did not work so I barely slept for two nights. The garden is beautiful and quiet, exactly what I needed to do some serious reading. After a walk outside Boudha, this place feels like a safe haven.

Room Tip: Definitely a room upstairs.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent 5 nights at Shechen Guest House and thoroughly enjoyed it. The garden is stunning and, after the chaos of Kathmandu, it is relatively peaceful. Yes, dogs do bark at night, but that's Nepal! The rooms are spacious, light and clean. A courtyard cafe serves lovely, though a little pricey, nosh in a beautiful, serene location. Staying in the grounds of a monastery felt like a quite a privilege, especially when listening to morning pujas and chanting monks. If you're staying in Boudha, I'd definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ToriviaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I look at other reviews about peaceful garden setting and yet the dogs are constantly barking and the chanting starts very early if your not one to get out of bed at 6:00am. Very rustic, old -basic. Two beds though, towels rough but you have your own bathroom and shower (not separate). Some plug outlets not working. Free wi-fi down in beautifully maintained courtyard garden and restaurant. Breakfast good, though limited choice. At the price $15.00 a night, they recommend to make reservations ahead. Area not safe to go out after 8:00, unless accompanied.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonewashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews