We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Hotel in the world”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shechen Guest House
Ranked #174 of 469 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2011

i was fooled with the review i read at trip advisor about this hotel (see below or above). I expected to arrive to a beautiful , yet simple place..... but the least i expected was it to have a garden full of rats, a bed full of bedmites, walls that are peeling off from the humidity, dust and insects swirming the rooms floor.... i was in a shock! i cant even start to explain how the toilet was, it was a disaster... i dont understand how anyone can stay at such a place and how the government is allowing tourists to even go there... it was honestly the worse hotel/guest house in the world! very disapointed

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarsoora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 71 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2010

I was lucky to find a room at Shechen guesthouse because generally it is always booked out - and for good reasons! the rooms are simple but large and clean. they all have a view on the beautiful and peaceful garden. the beds are really very good and clean, so you can enjoy a very comfortable sleep. the service is ultrafriendly and the vegetarian cafe' is a delight. there is also free wifi or otherwise computers for (reasonably fast) internet connection. the room price is very good for Kathmandu and the Boudha stupa is only 5 walking minutes away. the vicinity of the monastery and the spiritual atmosphere rounds up the picture. all in all, a wonderful place to stay and an oasis of peace in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladybackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Loren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: plutôt en étage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigiaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Ineke-Gerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
Thank SanSanLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Orlane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
56 reviews
3.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bodhi Guest House
Bodhi Guest House
#18 of 469 in Kathmandu
115 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shechen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shechen Guest House

Address: Boudha, Mahankal, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing