We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and very pleasant stay”
Review of Bag Packer's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bag Packer's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Bag Packer's is located in the quieter part of Thamel and yet just 100 m walk to the pubs and entertainment! The Staff are very nice and always willing to help you. The room's are quite well lit, clean and comfortable.
We stayed there for 3 days before and after our trekking and we felt it was a very warm and homely place to stay.
For the budget, this place has everything and nothing much to complain about.

Room Tip: Corner room facing the street are bright and have a good view of thamel street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashok A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Bag Packer's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

Bag Packer's Lodge is a great place to stay in Thamel while visiting Kathmandu. The rooms are very clean, the staff are friendly and welcoming, and the location is very central. Also, the rooftop cafe does a nice, inexpensive breakfast. This is probably the best 'bang for your buck' you can find in Thamel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMatergia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have been traveling to Nepal for many years and have stayed at quite a few different hotels and lodges, but for the past 4 years I have been staying at the newly renovated Bag Packers Lodge twice each year. Not only is this hotel extremely clean and the hot water super hot but the friendly service creates an atmosphere of home from home. This hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu surrounded by great restaurants and shops with everything at your finger tips. I can’t think of a better place to stay.

Anne and Hilton

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stay at Bagpacker's Lodge (located in Thamel opposite Shai River Rafting) every time we visit Kathmandu. It is a really great little guesthouse with very friendly staff, super clean rooms and a nice little rooftop terrace. It's located just out of the centre of Thamel, so it is not too noisy and the rooms are simple but very nicely furnished. We stay in an ensuite room with a tv, but i think there are also cheaper rooms with common baths. All in all the best budget accommodation we have found in Thamel (and we have been regularly travelling there for the last 16 years!) Well done to the Bagpacker Team - a great place to stay

Room Tip: If you want the quietest rooms ask for one at the back of the building - no view from the window but...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RapidrunnerNepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Bag Packer's Lodge has good hospitality. Its owner is always there, taxi calling, information around there...very good!
Room is also clean, shower is much hot.
I was satisfied with this gesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momonouti222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is the fourth hotel I've stayed at in KTM. Though the first two were ok and the third alright, the next time I return to KTM, which happens to be Monday AND every subsequent future visit to KTM (as I'm teaching English in a village in Nepal) I will stay at Bag Packer's Lodge.

So here so here are the reasons:
1) It's clean. Does this mean it compares to a 5-star hotel...no...but the public areas, rooms, and bathrooms are VERY clean/
2) It has hot water 24-7. In KTM--especially during the winter--there is a great deal of "load-setting", where power is cut excessively to lessen the otherwise over-consumption of the KTM Valley.
3) It has FREE wi-fi 24-7. Many of the hotels that claim they have wi-fi do not have their router on their generator...so during the winter, your other hotel might not provide you wi-fi for 16 of the 24 hours in a day.
4) Price. Two twin beds with the public bathroom is Rs 500. You might find cheaper...feel free to take them up on it, but when you realise you made a mistake...go to Bag Packer's Lodge and beg them for a room.
5) Same-day laundry service available at Rs 50 per kg.

Room Tip: B-4 is next to the office and has the best wi-fi reception possible. Rooms on the west side are nex...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I visit Nepal every year, sometimes a couple of times, and always return to Bag Packers Lodge as our base. It is in a prime spot in Thamel for accessing tourist locations, buses, taxis etc to areas further away and also a short walk from local colour and less touristy areas in Kathmandu.

Krishna and his team present a good mix of professionalism and genuine friendliness. They all put themselves out to make sure guests are comfortable and have everything they need, from airport collections to room service. The roof restaurant is a great place to view busy vibrant Thamel and beyond to the mountains of the valley rim. The in-house staff offer a full menu and a willingness to cook or bring in other dishes that you may want to try.

The rooms are simple, clean and some have tv. Wi-fi is available 24hr, there are en suite rooms or shared bathrooms available, as well as a choice of busy street front rooms full of atmosphere and life, and tranquil rooms at the back overlooking quiet shops and houses.

Krishna and the team offer everything that a quality backpacker hotel does; wi-fi, room service, laundry, assistance booking trips or excursions, room service, 24hr reception and concierge, rooms for all budgets and lengths of stay. But, what makes it special is their willingness to go the extra mile. They have helped us to organise and accommodate our own trip customers (see 'Pure Land Expeditions' and 'Elements'), changing dates and rooms at very short notice, saving rooms for returns and then storing luggage (and canoes!) during our times on the rivers. They arrange bus tickets, transfers and money changing for their guests and will bend over backwards to find you anything you might need during your stay.

I have stayed in some of the best suites in 5 star hotels across the globe, and while Bag Packer's is not a top end chocolates on the pillow resort, it is still my favourite hotel anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are definitely quieter but the front rooms are great for sitting and watching busy...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreaElements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 207 in Kathmandu
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#12 of 207 in Kathmandu
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bag Packer's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bag Packer's Lodge

Address: 29 Chaksibari Marg | Center Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bag Packer's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nameste!! Bag packer's Lodge is centrally located in the heart of thamel, kathmandu's main tourist area. we are surrounded by shops, good restaurant & great entertainment all within walking distance from our hotel. taxi and car facilities are available should you want to venture further a field. travel & trekking agent are easily accessible. This is typical budget type hotel in thamel. We are proud to be honour, cheap and clean hotel with friendly atmosphere in kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Bag Packer's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing