We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my Kathmandu home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kathmandu Friendly Home
Ranked #110 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed here, before and prior to my trek into the Himalayas.
It is situated about a 5 minute walk from Thamel, and is much quitter.
The staff were great, and became friends in the time I was there. Always up for a laugh and a chat. The rooms very tidy, clean and cosy. As part of the room rate , breakfast was provided. They were always looking at ways of improving the guesthouse too. While there, they opened a nice restaurant, with a very nice garden setting. Always a peaceful way to start the day, with a tea, with the morning sun trickling through the trees. They were happy to store stuff there, while trekking, and it was always safe.
Also a good place for meeting other travellers.
If you are looking for a budget prices guesthouse in a relatively quiet area close to Thamel, with great staff ,where you can feel relaxed go here :)

Room Tip: try for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajendra K, Front Office Manager at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Alpeace,
Greetings to you from Grand Millennium Guest House, Kathmandu!
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your fabulous review in tripadvisor with regard your recent stay with us. We are too delighted. We consistently strive to ensure that the best is being extended to our guests. Truly appreciate your kind patronage and look forward to your return visit in the not too far future you back to Grand Millennium Guest House.

Gajendra Lohorung
Grand Millennium Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 133 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

It is a great place to enjoy a time with your family and even with your friends.The views from the rooftop is just amazing. We can also have typical Nepali food and a lot more. The facilities of rooms are also just awesome with reasonable price

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazna131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajendra K, Owner at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Sazana,

Thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your comments following your recent stay at Grand Millennium Guest House. We would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for your constructive feedback. We truly appreciate your kind patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Millennium Guest House in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Rajendra Kunwar
Grand Millennium Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a fantastic time in Nepal and having a great hotel helps a great deal. It is located in paknajol, thamel. It consists of great surrounding with very kind and friendly staffs. Its price are also reasonable as well as affordable. Rooms had attached bathroom with 24 hours hot water supply. it has a rooftop from where we can see a beautiful scenery of kathmandu valley.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smriti43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajendra K, General Manager at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear D SHy-L'nt Bish

Thank you for your review of Grand Millennium Guest House.

We are glad you enjoyed and the view Kathmandu Valley by roof top. We would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for your constructive feedback. We truly appreciate your kind patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Millennium Guest House in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rajendra Kunwar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

So, I've long since been thinking to open a Trip Advisor account but never got around to it - the sheer brutal ignorance, rudeness and blind disgracefulness of this place (especially the manager - the short tubby guy) made me take the step. He was without doubt the single worst manager I have ever come across in any hospitality business.

We have been in Kathmandu for 2 weeks now with this being my 2nd visit here. After staying at other hotels in the past we had fallen sick for this stint and decided to spend a few extra dollars getting a room with AC to help us sleep/recover. We went and checked out the room and because we were feeling terrible - said that we would stay the night. We went downstairs very shortly after arriving to check the power outage schedule and I figured out that it has no power for over 60% of the time - and almost every night that is between 2pm-9pm. The other 40% of this is mostly made up from 9pm-3am.

So we were sitting in the room - which by the way was horribly overpriced, grotty, dangerous (they had 1 socket in the SUPERIOR room, and that had frayed wires coming out of the holes) and the beds were harder than a rock. Unfortunately after just 1 hour, of which we were barely in the room, we took a turn for the worse and we needed medical treatment - good ol' hospital visit it was! We went downstairs immediately, room untouched, and explained to them the situation - all the while feeling absolutely terrible. The guy at front desk was clueless and didn't know what to do, fair game, so he called his manager.

This is when the hotel was at its worst. The manager is an unbearable man and should be avoided like the plague - I hope he reads this and looks at himself. Stupid man.

He instantly got passive aggressive, and then actually aggressive. He demanded we pay in full for 1 hour in the room WHICH HAD NO POWER, still, all the while needing to go to the hospital. After much turmoil he tutted and said that we give him 1000 Rps, still, 70% of the price. When I point blank refused he walked around the counter and stood between us and the door and got yet more aggressive towards me. I am not paying 1000 Rps for a terrible room with no power, for 1 hour, when it is because of an unfortunate hospital visit.

Feeling worse and worse I pulled out 500, told him that he took it or left it. He took it.

I'm sorry if you had to read this, but honestly, avoid this place like the plague. It is run by a total... idiot... and the room is so far below average it is ridiculous. So far the best place that we have stayed (for the exact same price, great staff, and better location/room) is Trekkers Home.

Dont bother with Grand Millennium, the absolute dive of a place, go elsewhere and do yourself a favor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajendra K, General Manager at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grand Millennium Guest House, Kathmandu!

As we pride ourselves in exceeding our guests' expectations, we were both surprised and disappointed to find that you were not satisfied with your recent two hour stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that occurred.
On a separate note, we are pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out Hotel rules and regulation.
Guest’s feedback like yours is always very important for us to improve our offerings and we would like to correspond with you to understand a little bit more in detail. Appreciate if you can please guide us with your contact details. You may reach us at "millennium@mail.com.np"

We truly hope you will give us a chance to re-instill your confidence in our property and will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Rajendra Kunwar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very cheap hotel, even for Kathmandu. It's located on a quiet street, but within walking distance of Thamel district. At night is very quiet here. In the rooms there is only the bare essentials - beds and nightstands. Rooms are with shower, but during our visit there was no hot water. Electricity is regularly turn off. Breakfast must be ordered in advance, hot drinking water too. We bought food at the shop nearby (there is also toilet paper, mobile communication cards and other necessary things). Very helpful staff. Ideal place if you need to spend 1-2 nights before trekking or climbing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataliya_Revina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a fantastic time in Nepal and having a great hotel helps a great deal. Grand Millenium Guest House is very close is Thamel- the tourist hot spot, literally about a 1 minute walk! The price was very reasonable, we paid about £6.60 (UK Currency) per night for our double room in April 2014. We stayed a total of 10 nights. The hotel is nice and clean with a newly opened garden and kitchen which I would certainly rate10/10. The garden is well maintained, every morning whilst having my breakfast (included in the price) I used to watch the staff water the grass and plants, and sweep the floor. The garden also has a hammock which is relaxing. There is hot water, we had an ensuit bathroom which does make life a lot nicer. The room was spacious with a TV, however because we had so much planned we didn't get a chance to watch or test the tv. There is a roof top garden, which believe me, will give you an absolutely amazing view of the sunset over Swayambhunath temple a.k.a The monkey temple. Some reviews confuse the temple with Pashupatinath temple- it is not, however both temples are worth visiting atleast once.

Considering the hotel was about £6.60 per night, don't expect a 5 star hotel. If your looking for a decent, fairly basic place to stay, this ticks all the boxes. Kathmandu has power outages everyday for about 12 hours or so, due to Government "Load Shedding". The hotel has a generator when power outages occur. When the generator is being used the ceiling fan in the hotel room won't work nor can you charge up your gadgets- I'm not sure if this is the same for every hotel in Kathmandu. We just made sure that we took every opportunity to charge our gadgets when there wasn't power outages. The hotel broadband which was surprising better than what I expected it might be will still work even during power outages.

Top Tip: the only thing I really noticed was that bottled water from the hotel costs 35 rupees, however you can get bottled water from the shop literally next to the hotel for 20 rupees- saying this I don't know any hotel which doesn't over charge for bottled water.

Another top tip, the taxi fare from the airport to the hotel should be 600 rupees. If your in the mood, keep haggling until you get it down. I found the haggling and banter with the taxi drivers great fun. If your not in the mood to haggle then you can expect to pay around 800 rupees for the trip.

Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel if your looking for somewhere decent, cheap and cheerful- as mentioned before this is far from a 5 star Ritz hotel if your looking for some serious luxury. When I'm back in Kathmandu, I will certainly be using this hotel/ guest house again.

NH & DJ, April 2014, from London, UK

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NH-DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had a lovely stay in Grand Millennium G.H Mr. Rajendra Owner and the staff of the Hotel was very friendly and Helpful. I stayed here for five nights and found the hotel was amazing.
The hotel is located Out from the Busy street so you can expect peaceful environment.
Room was quite spacious with wonderful view with very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room with Balcony are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#102 of 210 in Kathmandu
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#50 of 210 in Kathmandu
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Gallery Nepal
Hotel Gallery Nepal
#77 of 210 in Kathmandu
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandala Suite
Mandala Suite
#184 of 210 in Kathmandu
2 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#141 of 210 in Kathmandu
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Friendly Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Friendly Home

Address: Paknajol Kathmandu | Paknajol-16, Kathmandu G.P.O. 5045, Nepal (Formerly Grand Millennium Guest House)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kathmandu Friendly Home 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) is a clever idea to those who loves noise free place to stay. Our property is just located 25 minute drive from Trivuban International Airport and 10 minutes from new bus park which is very convenient location for everyone. Our hotel is a good place for budget level travelers however we are committed to provide our services as good as some star hotels facilities. Basically we offer six stories building roof top sitting and view from where you can see of Kathmandu Valley and the pride of Nepal the Monkey Temple (Swayambhunath) in a stone through distance. More over from top of the hotel you can see beautiful some part of Langtang Mountain. Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) have 24 hour hot and cold running shower and quite good lighting back up. We offer free WiFi service with high speed broadband and also those who don't have any personal electronics gadget we offer them with free Internet and computing facility at our travel desk. We are very serious for security of our valuable client and their belongings we never let trespassers and strangers inter into the hotel. We are very pleased to inform you that no our guest has lost anything in our hotel till date. We also have free safe deposit locker and free baggage storage system. We also offer you certified doctors on a call as per your requirement. Also we have Kathmandu Friendly Garden Restaurant with a tranquil ambiance. We provide those people who are interested volunteering. And the hotel donate certain percent of benefit to the orphanage home as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kathmandu Friendly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing