We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM and Very Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kathmandu Friendly Home
Ranked #110 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in the hotel/hostel for 4 nights. Of all the places i've stayed in, this hotel had the most friendly and welcoming staff. While other hotels in tourist places, try to earn commission on the bookings for the travel services, these guys were offering discounts. The manager Rajendra Kumar and Shalik Ram were especially helpful, and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.
They accepted us inside the hotel at 12.00 in the midnight, when the other hotels were even refusing to open their shutters
The location is very good, and despite being near a busy street, u can hardly hear any traffic noise in the hotel. Whereas, the Int Guest house located opposite to the hotel has bad noise problem, as well as problem with their ventilation.
The view from the rooftop restaurant offers a spectacular view of the KTM valley.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godspeed4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 131 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is situated Short walk from the heart of Thamel, features comfortable rooms that are perfect for budget travelers with basic amenities including air conditioning, television etc... staffs are smart and helpful..... that all i could ask for Thank you millennium

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are perfect..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I would say that i and my boyfriend had a superb weekend in millennium hotel located in the heart of Thamel city.We were enjoyed by the every staff and the owner of the hotel as they were frank,understanding and helpful.The best thing about this hotel is that it is abit in inner side as we were free from the crowd and got a chance to have wonderful time.yaa i had visited Nepal before too but i really enjoyed this time and hope to come in future too and of course millenium hotel will be our staying hotel if everything go well in coming time.the plus point of this well equipped hotel is the cleanliness and superb service and i promise i wont forget my staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0cci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the grand Millennium a few nights in June and July 2013. I can say that it was really good times and if one day I can visit Nepal again, I will stay in this guesthouse for sure.
It's quiet and peacefull located in a side street of thamel.
They have a rooftop and the staff members are joyful and here to help you, juste ask and they will do everything they can to help.
many thanks from Switzerland to all staff members and Badri. I hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisedelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was there from late july to late august.The price was very good. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Located close to many major access points.
I would highly recommend this hotel for travellers going to thamel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intothewild1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's a amazing experience to stay in a place you can call home.. the hospitality and the warm welcoming ways makes you feel happie. The view you get to see makes you feel alive..food is awsum the cooks got a magical hand. Service you can have in a jiffie.. many amazing people you can trust fully. Rooms available won't disaapoint you. View from the top is awsum heavenly you feel when you get the morning breeze.every little thing is gonna satisfy every need you feel is fullfilled all kind of services you want is given what else does you want to have yes it is a home away from home.. lovely environment that can hold you for days and more worth you invest. Happiness loaded memories loaded love and care loaded all thanks to Mr.Rajendra Kunwar the owner of the hotel and all his wonderful staff members lots of love and thank you for making my trip fruitful..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitasu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel manager and staff were very friendly & hospitable, especially the hotel manager who was very patient. He helped us plan our trips & arranged everything for us at a very reasonable cost. Excellent service, really impressive!
Which makes a very personal & memorable experience.. Rooms were very clean
We ended our trip in Nepal perfectly, thanks to hotel friends & all their friendly staff! I'll really miss you guys...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrefinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#48 of 207 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandala Suite
Mandala Suite
#184 of 207 in Kathmandu
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#106 of 207 in Kathmandu
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gallery Nepal
Hotel Gallery Nepal
#75 of 207 in Kathmandu
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#116 of 207 in Kathmandu
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Friendly Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Friendly Home

Address: Paknajol Kathmandu | Paknajol-16, Kathmandu G.P.O. 5045, Nepal (Formerly Grand Millennium Guest House)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kathmandu Friendly Home 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) is a clever idea to those who loves noise free place to stay. Our property is just located 25 minute drive from Trivuban International Airport and 10 minutes from new bus park which is very convenient location for everyone. Our hotel is a good place for budget level travelers however we are committed to provide our services as good as some star hotels facilities. Basically we offer six stories building roof top sitting and view from where you can see of Kathmandu Valley and the pride of Nepal the Monkey Temple (Swayambhunath) in a stone through distance. More over from top of the hotel you can see beautiful some part of Langtang Mountain. Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) have 24 hour hot and cold running shower and quite good lighting back up. We offer free WiFi service with high speed broadband and also those who don't have any personal electronics gadget we offer them with free Internet and computing facility at our travel desk. We are very serious for security of our valuable client and their belongings we never let trespassers and strangers inter into the hotel. We are very pleased to inform you that no our guest has lost anything in our hotel till date. We also have free safe deposit locker and free baggage storage system. We also offer you certified doctors on a call as per your requirement. Also we have Kathmandu Friendly Garden Restaurant with a tranquil ambiance. We provide those people who are interested volunteering. And the hotel donate certain percent of benefit to the orphanage home as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kathmandu Friendly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing