We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but quiet and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kathmandu Friendly Home
Ranked #95 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location but quiet and very friendly staff”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Millenium Guesthouse and thougt it was very quiet at night being that close to all the shops and restaurants. Staff was very friendly, the guesthouse is very good value for money being in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno_auf_Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    34
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
25
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

It was great memorable moment while I was in Kathmandu for few weeks.Staffs are very friendly and served food was so delicious.I will strongly suggest to people to stay here and it is heart of Kathmandu.I felt like a quiet home when I was there.Thanks for your hard work folks !!
Gita Regmi,United States of America.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

i was stay in Grand Millennium G.H about week, thats so nice everyone,specially the Sajan, Im so glad to know u, help me a lot, even so hard , still found the way to solved ,its worth to trust the people, so nice guy ,thank u for everything , im really so appreciate. hope to visit soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Dirty, scampy, nasty dark little place. No budget comfort in Thamel really but my new hotel was a palace in comparison.

Arrived after long flight just at about 6pm. Dark lobby, horrible little clueless scamps on reception who have absolutely no wish to make the guest happy but whose sickly little sugary smiles feigns some sort of twisted version of customer service. You just want to cut their tongues out and lock them all (the rest of them) in a closet.

Bed was awful, room was miserable, dark, cobwebby, bit smelly, but overall, just a cold, unloved, unkempt feel to it. Tried other room, same thing.

Stay at the Florid, bit more expensive but worth it. Room 301.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajendra K, Manager at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Helco,

We apologize that you had a worse experience in our Guest House. We are caring our services that you mentioned on your review.

Thanks
Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three days after a month travelling around Nepal, and I felt like arriving home. It's a very clean and beatiful place. In this guest house you can enjoy a really nice shower with hot water, good beds and really good connexion of free wifi. The room has nice furniture, two mirrors and a big balcony. The staff is really friendly and kind. They help you in all you can need to go around the city. You can book for a taxi, a trekking, a trip,...They have a lot of diferent services. You can also enjoy really good typical food because they cook there and they are excellent cookers. Walking around Thamel it will take you only a few minutes from this guest house. It's really near of monkey temple too. I'm sure you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carme1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I found a really quiet stay 2 minutes from Thamel in Kathmandu. There are different rooms to different costs. All rooms have attached bathrooms with warm showers, TV and balconies. The Personal is very friendly and nowadays you also find a cafe- and snackbar. I have been there many times and I could leave my package, when I went to trek. I recommend this hotel and you will find different rooms from luxury to normal, really good standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranunkel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Best of Kathmandu”Millennium is a great place!!! All the staff and Sajan Paudel are great people !! Miss time in Nepal a lot... In the heart of Thamel and still a quite nice place to hang out in the terrace....

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uttam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#117 of 202 in Kathmandu
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Api
Hotel Api
#103 of 202 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#94 of 202 in Kathmandu
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#85 of 202 in Kathmandu
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.6 mi away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#137 of 202 in Kathmandu
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Friendly Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Friendly Home

Property: Kathmandu Friendly Home
Address: Paknajol Kathmandu | Paknajol-16, Kathmandu G.P.O. 5045, Nepal (Formerly Grand Millennium Guest House)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kathmandu Friendly Home 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) is a clever idea to those who loves noise free place to stay. Our property is just located 25 minute drive from Trivuban International Airport and 10 minutes from new bus park which is very convenient location for everyone. Our hotel is a good place for budget level travelers however we are committed to provide our services as good as some star hotels facilities. Basically we offer six stories building roof top sitting and view from where you can see of Kathmandu Valley and the pride of Nepal the Monkey Temple (Swayambhunath) in a stone through distance. More over from top of the hotel you can see beautiful some part of Langtang Mountain. Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) have 24 hour hot and cold running shower and quite good lighting back up. We offer free WiFi service with high speed broadband and also those who don't have any personal electronics gadget we offer them with free Internet and computing facility at our travel desk. We are very serious for security of our valuable client and their belongings we never let trespassers and strangers inter into the hotel. We are very pleased to inform you that no our guest has lost anything in our hotel till date. We also have free safe deposit locker and free baggage storage system. We also offer you certified doctors on a call as per your requirement. Also we have Kathmandu Friendly Garden Restaurant with a tranquil ambiance. We provide those people who are interested volunteering. And the hotel donate certain percent of benefit to the orphanage home as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kathmandu Friendly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing