We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming and quiet retreat, but near the heart of Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kathmandu Friendly Home
Ranked #110 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I booked a room here via agoda.com without knowing anything about the hotel. I must say that I was very pleased with what I got. The accomodation is good for Kathmandu and kept clean. The staff are very friendly and I even stop off to chat with them now, whilst I am living in my own private appartment.

As for the location it could not be better, the neighbourhood is quiet and trouble free, whilst you are just a 2 minute walk from the hectic centre of Thamel, Kathmandu's only place for nightlife (or western food if thats your thing). I would advise this hotel to anyone.

Roddy.

Room Tip: If possible then pre-book using Agoda, I beleive that they give out their best rooms to travellers t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roddy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have spend 12 days at Millenium GH last April. It was a perfect stay there. The rooms are very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, near the busy Thamel but in a very quiet area. Definitely I'll return there the next time I go to Kathmandu. Charlie.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieKrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

the grand millennium guest house is perfectly located in a peaceful surrounding, it has excellent accomodation and service facilities.the rooms are spacious, neat and clean.the staff very courteous and helpful. above all the food was great.!! we had a pleasant time visiting the areas in and around kathmandu in the vehicles provided by the guest house itself.:)))) a perfect place to stay and holiday!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarda_roka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

HI friends
i hav been theair in kathmandu nepal in the month of apiral 2012 for 7 days.nepal is a very good country to treavel and in nepal there is a very nice place to stay at katmandu Thamel that is GRANT MILLENNIUM GUEST HOUSE .
i fell pleasuse or very homely to stay in that because it is a very peaceful neat & clean place to rooms are fully exosted with full sun raise.The staff of that guest house is also coperative and every tim ready to surve survices.Same time it is located a very picefull and near to all big markets of Kathmandu.
Thanks
Roop singh
JAipur
Rajasthan
India

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoopSingh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

It is a nice, clean, quiet guesthouse in the centre of kathmandu. with very friendly and helpful staff, especially Sajan did his best to make it a pleasant stay!
The room was clean, with hot water. Only the beds were Nepali style...hard

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maaikemaaike981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Thank Allah for getting the Hotel (Grand Millennium Guest House Private Limited) in Kathmandu NEPAL. I HASHMI MOHAMMED ARZOO having some Business in Gujarat - INDIA. i was visited at Kathmandu for Business purpose and was stayed in Grand Millennium Guest House. The Owner of this Guest house - Mr. Rajendra Kumar (Managing Director) and Mr. Prem Thapa (Marketing Manager) are very nice men, they are providing good service with all respect and they are treating like real family members, I am so happy from Owners and all staff members of this Grand Millennium Guest House Private Limited in Kathmandu.

As per my thought the behaviour should be main important for services. and they have proved by services, Now i would like to go again in this Guest house. and i will try to stay always in this Guest house - when will visit in Kathmandu NEPAL.

Now i can say - to visit (at Grand Millenium Guest House - Kathmandu) and will get all services what you needed for enjoyments.

Thanks again,

HASHMI MOHAMMED ARZOO
Proprietor of M/s IIE international
Ankleshwar-393002, Gujarat, INDIA.

Room Tip: As per my thought the behaviour should be main important for services. and they have proved by servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HASHMI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE! This is one of the worst places we have stayed at? Ever. The location is the ONLY good point as it is a short walk from the heart of Thamel.

This is a dated, tired guesthouse run by untrustworthy staff.

Although the rooms are large, the beds are harder than a trekking lodge's, satellite TV hardly works (if your room has a TV at all), we were blatantly ripped off by the staff who then lied about it to our faces when their creative accounting was questioned (including being charged for the 'free' airport pickup), the showers run cold after about 5 mins and the bathrooms are not clean. Don't believe their website's list of facilities or services, and the photos are mutton dressed up as lamb.

We also asked the staff to arrange bus tickets for us, which they did do at short notice. However, they then tried to charge us DOUBLE the ticket price and add on a service charge for arranging the tickets.

A 10% charge for 'service' and 13% tax may be added to your bill if you question it as an explanation for 'additional charges'.

We lost too much money here and do not tolerate being lied to by any hospitality staff, so moved to another guesthouse.

Again, in case you missed it, DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderlustkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beebal, Manager at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feed back. I am not sure whether you stayed at my hotel or not or you are one of our competitor. But your feed back helps us to improve our services in future.

Thank you again.
Raj
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#102 of 210 in Kathmandu
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#50 of 210 in Kathmandu
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Gallery Nepal
Hotel Gallery Nepal
#77 of 210 in Kathmandu
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandala Suite
Mandala Suite
#184 of 210 in Kathmandu
2 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#141 of 210 in Kathmandu
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Friendly Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Friendly Home

Address: Paknajol Kathmandu | Paknajol-16, Kathmandu G.P.O. 5045, Nepal (Formerly Grand Millennium Guest House)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kathmandu Friendly Home 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) is a clever idea to those who loves noise free place to stay. Our property is just located 25 minute drive from Trivuban International Airport and 10 minutes from new bus park which is very convenient location for everyone. Our hotel is a good place for budget level travelers however we are committed to provide our services as good as some star hotels facilities. Basically we offer six stories building roof top sitting and view from where you can see of Kathmandu Valley and the pride of Nepal the Monkey Temple (Swayambhunath) in a stone through distance. More over from top of the hotel you can see beautiful some part of Langtang Mountain. Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) have 24 hour hot and cold running shower and quite good lighting back up. We offer free WiFi service with high speed broadband and also those who don't have any personal electronics gadget we offer them with free Internet and computing facility at our travel desk. We are very serious for security of our valuable client and their belongings we never let trespassers and strangers inter into the hotel. We are very pleased to inform you that no our guest has lost anything in our hotel till date. We also have free safe deposit locker and free baggage storage system. We also offer you certified doctors on a call as per your requirement. Also we have Kathmandu Friendly Garden Restaurant with a tranquil ambiance. We provide those people who are interested volunteering. And the hotel donate certain percent of benefit to the orphanage home as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kathmandu Friendly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing