We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of Kathmandu”
Review of Travellers Inn

Travellers Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travellers Inn
Ranked #149 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed March 22, 2011

One of the best hotels in Kathmandu. It's situated in heart of Thamel, at a walking distance from Narayanhiti Palace and Garden of Dreams. Since there was no in-house restaurant, the owner was kind enough to arrange whatever we wanted within no time. Internet & Tea/Coffee were free. Rooms were clean, well carpeted and it is rare for a budget hotel to have bathtubs. Amazingly friendly staff. They will guide you the best and not like others, who try to take maximum out of your pocket.
Hotel has its own caravan and can arrange best site-seeing and camping solutions. The best part was that the owner is a part of an organization, which helps poor kids in villages. They take people for trekking to those remote places. So with them, you get to see the rare and hidden Nepal.
Rooms are small, but give you more than what a budget hotel can give.
In short, this is a hidden gem and you must stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikramjitSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathmandulTrekking, Owner at Travellers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Thank you Sir!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed here on arriving in Kathmandu and on leaving and came back early so that we could stay somewhere clean. Clean tidy rooms, great location for shopping and 5 minutes walk from the tourist bus depot. Very helpful staff, who organised our bus to Pokhara and taxi etc when needed. . Easy to get to from airport and taxis always around.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilSue27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Travellers Inn was such a great find! The rooms are spotless and cozy.... DUVETS!! The staff are so friendly we even booked a trek with them, and we had looked around a lot and these guys definately had the best options at the most reasonable prices.
We even returned to Travellers Inn when returning to Kathmandu 3 weeks later, everyone remembered us and treated us like family.

It's in a quiet location but still in the heart of the buzzing Thamel.

Dont think about going anywhere else this is by far the nicest place I've stayed in on my whole trip so far and I've been on the road for a while now.

I can wait to return again! Enjoy Nepal!
Never
End
Peace
And
Love

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heleena-Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I stayed at the Travellers Inn on two different occasions in December 2010. Only positive things to say about both experiences. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are friendly, and the rates are very affordable.
The location is the best part; Travellers Inn is in the heart of Kathmandu's touristy area. Great food and shopping at your doorstep. Also plenty of taxis and microbuses available close by to get you anywhere you want to go.
Would definitely recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

If you are traveling to Kathmandu during the Winter Season, DO NOT stay at this Inn!!! I visited their website and also read the reviews from Trip Advisor but apparently no one stayed at this Inn during the Winter. First of all, no of heating was available for the rooms. If you like your rooms at a chilly 62 degrees Farenheit or 17 degrees Celsius, then this is the perfect place for you. Secondly, there were only 3 outlets in my room of which only 1 worked. Not to mention that the electricity in the Thamel District gets shut off at 8:00 p.m. The staff didn't really speak or understand English. Thirdly, the noise was unbearable from the neighborhood dogs. They just wouldn't shut-up. I couldn't get any sleep at all. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0518present
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I was actually pleasantly surprised when I found an affordable room that was clean and tidy being right in the centre of a crowded, busy city as Thamel. As it is tucked away there was no noise and I could catch up on some really good sleep, which is a task in itself in Kathmandu.
The beds were clean and comfortable and the toilet facilites were perfect.
The service was great, and the staff were always helpful which is an added bonus.
The location is perfect and I truly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollertre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This hotel really has the prefect location, right in the heart of Thamel but off on a street with almost no traffic which means its quiet. The rooms are new, clean, and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kx_driscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#43 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 207 in Kathmandu
701 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 207 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Inn

Address: Z street. Thamel,, Kathmandu 25580, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers inn is located at the Heart of Thamel- Hub of tourist area, Famed shopping center, major Banks, Restaurant & Bars and a Taxi stands.All the rooms at Travellers Inn are deluxe with modern amenities like satellite Television, Wi- Fi Internet, Room to Room Telephone facility, Tiled attached bathrooms with hot and cold shower round the clock, wall to wall carpeting, Most of the rooms have its own private balcony. Each of our cozy rooms are furnished attractively in individual from Single, Double & triple with en suite bathrooms for your comfort. To summarize, almost all the necessities of a Hotel rooms are available in our rooms. Everything you need is found here - trekking equipment rentals, bicycle rentals, arrangements for treks, rafting, wildlife tours and sightseeing tours. Aside from its convenience, visitors have a chance to meet Nepalese as well as people from every part of the world.From our roof top garden you can enjoy the enchanting scenery of Kathmandu valley along with scenery of the Himalayas in the Back.Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventure, - Just ask!We are sure that your stay at Travellers Inn will be an experience of a lifetime. We are proud that many guest return to us to enjoy more of our traditional hospitality in our ideal, eco friendly environmental and 24 hours service with a smile.The management and staff wish to thank you for choosing Travellers Inn and we hope you have a very comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing